We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$438
US$416
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$540
US$508
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$617/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$400
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$432
US$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$359
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$725
US$518
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$329
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$221
US$179
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$140
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,050
US$741
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,949)
Filter reviews
4,949 results
Traveller rating
3,227
857
463
175
227
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,227
857
463
175
227
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mooneden poolfoam partyprivilege loungepez velapiano barprivilege restaurantla locandadaisy buildingprivilege guestsmike's coffeeteen clubthe ice cream shopbeach poolprivilege beachbeautiful resortthe mexican restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 4,949 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to Riviera Maya, and our most disappointing stay.

Be cautions with the food/drinks. My husband and I both ended our trip sick. The cleaning of the glasses is usually just a rinse. They will serve drinks in your own cups that could at least be rinsed with bottled water in the room.

Our biggest issue was the lack of service. The resort is huge and appears to be understaffed. We have truly been “wowed” with customer service at other resorts. For example, at the other resorts, we were greeted upon arrival with a drink. Here, guests are greeted with a complicated check in process and a time share sales pitch. The bottom line is that for what you pay for here, there are much better resorts!

Pros:
-comfortable beds and pillows
-variety of activities (casino, pools, bowling alley, spa, gym, piano bar, live music, shows)
-Deli station at the lunch buffet
-we were “upgraded” to a pool view room
-the resort itself is beautiful
-Mike’s Coffee Shop- best service and coffee on the resort

Cons:
-at check in, they said we would have our luggage delivered to our room in “10 minutes tops,” but it arrived 45 minutes later
-we left a tip for housekeeping on the first day. We came back from the beach and the tip was gone, but the room wasn’t cleaned. The housekeeping staff came back when they saw us.
-shower leaks badly and into the rest of the bathroom
-musty smell in room despite using “Rid Damp” in the room (clothes have musty smell)
-the noise is definitely an issue in the rooms (loud groups coming in at all hours of the night, “adults” playing Marco Polo in the hallways at 1:30 am)
-pool/beach chairs were difficult to get
(Guests started saving chairs as early as 6 am. Sometimes multiple chairs were saved with only one towel meaning chairs were also being saved in other places.)
-our towels and bags were moved from our beach chairs when we left for lunch (not sure who or why considering other chairs were left unattended for hours)
-difficult to get reservation for Japanese restaurant (They begin accepting reservations at 11:30, but the line starts forming much earlier and seating is extremely limited. I arrived at 11:15, and didn’t find out until 12:05 that there were no reservations left).
-lengthy wait at the Steakhouse with inaccurate wait time (Hostess said 45 minutes or less. I went back after and hour and miraculously the table was ready).
-Mexican restaurant was was a disappointment
-same food in the lunch buffet daily
-shows (The fire show is outside and the space doesn’t accommodate the crowd. The Karaoke show was painful to watch.)
-one day the pool bar “ran out of water”
-long wait for drinks from the buffet (Sometimes we didn’t even see a waiter or waitress until we were almost finished with our meal.)
-the beach is rocky and full of seaweed
-wash cloths had to be requested from housekeeping


Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Great resort. It is actually as beautiful as the cover picture. Be warned--it is huge.

It is, overall, very well maintained. The grounds and beach are immaculate. The food is pretty good and there is a wide variety of choices. The staff was very pleasant. There is so much to do! We loved the "Grease" stage show. The bowling alley was fun--I wish it was open in the morning. The pools are gorgeous, although a bit crowded. The ocean and beach were not pristine, but not for lack of trying by the staff to rake and clean up the seaweed. The pools did get crowded, and the lounge chairs all get saved bright and early. Bar service was sometimes slow, but the drinks were good.
The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The smell of mildew was pretty overpowering, but I take that as the price we pay for the gorgeous ocean view!

Room for improvement: More waitstaff would've been nice. They all seemed very busy and rushed (but pleasant). The activities should be better advertised. We had no idea of the hours of certain activities (bowling), or the existence of the shows or special dinners. I wish daily agendas with the available activities had been posted, or even put under the doors at night.

Maintenance was not responsive (or perhaps just understaffed). We had two separate maintenance issues in the room that weren't resolved until we'd called four times and visited the lobby twice. Sitting around the room waiting for hours waiting was extremely frustrating (although when they finally showed up, they were pleasant and determined to fix the problems).

The tram that drove people around the resort were often crowded and full. We just walked, but it was a lot walking some days.

Overall, despite the problems, it was a nice resort.

Room Tip: Eden is great because it's close to the beach and two pools, but it's a hike to most of the restaurants.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank TVroxDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Our first trip to this resort, but not our first trip to Mexico. We are not exceptionally critical and can have a wonderful time anywhere. There is nothing wrong with this resort, but there is nothing special either.

Our biggest complaint would be the poor level of cleanliness and upkeep. It is modern and I believe fairly new (2 or 3 years old), but you can tell it is a little worse for wear/tired. The pools were not cleaned regularly. Leaves, garbage and things floating in the pool. We were there for 9 days and not once saw anybody scrubbing the pool, or filtering it. This was evident by the grunge build up in corners where people don't walk and by witnessing the same leaves and garbage in the pool every day.

Buffet tables were wiped with a disposable paper towel between sittings. Leather benches had old food stains, sunscreen stains so were clearly not wiped regularly.

Our room was cleaned daily and despite daily tips, new soap was not always provided, food stain on leather couch was not wiped. Despite being out of the room by 9:00 a.m. each day, was not cleaned until 3:00 or later. We ended up just asking for fresh towels on our last day as they interrupted us in the late afternoon asking to clean the room.

I agree that service was slow at the resort due to low staffing levels. Witnessed a family get up to leave at the a la carte because they had waited too long to be served.

Do not think the tiles in the hallways were mopped regularly. Somebody had a cut or bloody nose and blood droplets ran up the stairs and down the hall. These remained on the tiles from the 4th day and for the duration of our trip.

Food was average. Not bad, but nothing to look forward to other than serve your hunger. There is enough selection you can find something that agrees with you and stick with that. Enjoyed the fresh pasta bar and omelette stations.

Very nice gym which we used frequently. Full in the mornings but dead in the afternoons if you are able to go then.

The staff were friendly and hard working.

Very much a family oriented resort. We didn't bring the kids this time, but if you are wanting a kid free vacation, this is not the resort for you, even if you are staying in the adults only section.

The beach was fine. Lots of seaweed. Too rough to enjoy staying in the water when we were there. Be prepared to get hassled for a massage or scuba trip or photos. Annoying.

Overall, we had a good time but we can enjoy ourselves anywhere. Nice resort but not one I would return to due to the issues I have stated related to cleanliness. I would not say don't stay here, but if you are looking for high standards, the pictures are a bit deceiving and you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank acemireau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Incredible service and amazing food. Our 2nd time here and can’t wait to book again. This place is fantastic!!!! You are met with friendly staff every second of the trip. Everything is kept very clean and folks are so welcoming. Each day there is more to do and fun activities for the kids.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank GavinLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Gerente at Ocean Riviera Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Dear Gavin,

We truly appreciate that you took the time to write this review about our Resort Ocean Riviera Paradise. Thank you so much for all the kind words about our services. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again and serve you as you deserve..!!.

Kind regards, The Ocean Riviera Paradise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Ocean Riviera Paradise is a great family resort, clean, excellent staff, and delicious food! The Daisy staff is great with our kids and have fun activities planned. We enjoyed a beautiful view of the ocean at the seafood restaurant. We highly recommend this resort!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Gerente at Ocean Riviera Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Dear Megan,

We truly appreciate that you took the time to write this review about our Resort Ocean Riviera Paradise. Thank you so much for all the kind words about our services. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again and serve you as you deserve..!!.

Kind regards, The Ocean Riviera Paradise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews