We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
145
23
4
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
23
4
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel rooftop pool tequila tasting catch restaurant sister property boom boom boom panoramic corner suite advise on places to visit hand written card walking distance to all restaurants hotel carmen deep soaking tub peaceful location rooms are nicely appointed great weekend private access large suites
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 184 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is the sister property of the Thompson in Playa Del Carmen and is a few blocks away. It is on the beach but has a very short section of beach. Only a few rooms have a true ocean view. The rooms are large and extremely nice. The service is like a 5-star hotel with twice a day room cleaning and turn down service at night. You get to use the pool at both resorts and they function like one hotel. The rooftop pool at the main resort is amazing and the pool at The Beach House is very nice. One odd thing is that we didn’t see any other people at the resort and the pool was empty every day. No explanation but not a problem for us. The Beach House is right off of 5th Street and you are in the thick of things without a lot of noise which I see in reviews of the main hotel.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank BradAWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

We came to the Thompson Beach House two weeks ago. We had previously stayed at the Thompson Cape in Cabo and loved it. We were looking to get away and have a nice and relaxing time at a five-star resort with an ocean view.

We arrived to the hotel at 7 pm and were shown to our room. Our room was adorable, ocean view, and very clean. I noticed off the bat that it was super quiet and there did not appear to be any other guests at the hotel. We ate dinner and went to sleep. We were woken up at 1 am by the sound of jack hammering outside our window. There was construction being done on the street from 1 am - 6 am. We were never notified of the construction and it was beyond loud.

The next morning when I went down to the front desk to complain, the person said that they had offered their guests the opportunity to stay at the other Thompson property two blocks away -- but the person on the night shift neglected to give us that option. The stay was close to $500 a night -- how ridiculous? We asked to speak to a manager and were given the run around about when he would be on the property and that he would call us when he arrived, we are still waiting for that call!

They offered us a room at the other location which would be "much quieter." We went to the other property and enjoyed ourselves at the pool. That first night, the music playing across the street went until 5 am, it was pounding and so loud our bed was shaking. The room, although nice, smelled like mildew and the hot water took ten minutes to heat up. We were told that our room was on "the quiet side" of the hotel and that we should not hear any noise!!! We stayed there for two more nights, because we had already paid and kept hearing that the next night "would not be like the night before." Shame on us.

Again, we asked to speak to a manager and never received a call. They were always very flighty about where and when that person would be on property.

We ended up leaving and stayed at another location for our last two nights - AND WE LOVED that location and hotel!

The food at both Thompson locations was great and the staff was very nice. However, we felt very misled and for the amount of money we paid, it was unacceptable. We were so disappointed as all we wanted to do was enjoy our stay and relax.

Room Tip: Ask if there will be construction. For the other location-unless you are on spring break & enjoy not sleeping, go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank IT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Gerente at Thompson Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear IT R,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Thompson Beach House. We are so sorry to hear you had such a disappointing experience with us. We strive to provide each of our guests with genuine and personalized service so I deeply apologize that you encountered these issues. I personally can say that this is a very unusual occurrence for us here at Thompson Beach House and not something that we ever want to happen to our guests. Regarding the works happening on the street it was out of control but we do apologize for the inconvenient too. I would like the opportunity to resolve this with you and hopefully leave you with a better memory and outlook on Thompson Beach House than you left with, as we truly never want to see guests leave dissatisfied​ with their experience here. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me at ccarreon@thompsonhotels.com so we can discuss further.

Sincerely,
Carlos Carreon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

We just left yesterday and we already want to be back. The staff was so helpful and nice. So much was included in our stay (daily tequila tastings, museum and aquarium passes, facials). And the room...was amazing. Waking up every morning to the sounds and sights of the ocean. Such a relaxing way to spend the trip. 5 stars!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing week at the Thompson Playa Del Carmen. Everything was top notch; food, service, and overall hospitailiy was incredible . Specifically, Sinai was extremely helpful. Our experience wouldn't have been the same without her and the overall Thompson experience. I will definitely come back and stay here

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank davidantech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

I stayed with my sisters at The Thompson Beach House and could not be more satisfied! The room is excellent with an amazing view of the pool, beach and ocean. The beds are so comfy we slept great! And Carlos and the rest of the staff were so helpful and kind. This was our second stay here and we will be going back for a third!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jenileejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Gerente at Thompson Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Jenileejack,

Thank you so much for such a thoughtful review of your stay with us at Thompson Beach House. We are truly thrilled you appreciated our rooms, the views and those beds are the best. We pride ourselves in providing memorable experiences to each of our guests in a fun and genuine environment. We love when guests such as yourself stay with us for the second time and you are looking forward for the third one. We are also so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the wonderful attentive and welcoming service provided to you by our excellent staff here at Thompson Beach House and thank you for highlighting me, it was a pleasure for me to spend sometime with you and your sisters at our weekly cocktail. We look forward to welcoming you back during the colder season @ Ohio and hopefully Playa will be a lot more sunny for you next time!

Sincerely,
Carlos Carreon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews