We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing resort !!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #3 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing resort !!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We went on 1/28/12 for 8 days , that was not enough ! From the villa to the staff and of course the food ! Wow I have been all over the world and the cuisine in this resort was amazing , we did in villa BBQ we had Henry ! Hats of to him he prepared an amazing birthday dinner for me and my boyfriend .. It was perfect ! My favorite that I ate everyday for lunch was the soft shell crab tacos wow wow my mouth is watering right now , that was at the pool on the beach ,,, all of the staff was fabulous every need was met and more , my drink was never empty and anything I needed was already there , I give it 7 stars , everyone if you love luxury and service this resort is a must go even for a weekend , they did not leave anything out . I can go on and on like the breakfast wow they had everything whatever your heart desired the breakfast staff was the best funny funny !! We did some excursions Betty was great we booked a great deep sea fishing tour our own boat she did a great job!
We will be returning soon it's our home away from home O and must go to spa to the rainforest walk!!!!!!!!! O and ask for there special drink I had about 25 cups for the 8 days lol!!!!! I hope everyone go and enjoys like we did !!! Thanks banyan tree it was amazing !!!

Room Tip: The courtyard villa is perfect for 2 people , you can't go wrong with 3,600 square feet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdiamonds12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear rdiamonds12

I thank you very much for taking the time to write about your good experience you had here in our hotel.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments regarding the food, the associates and the villas.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Mayakoba soon for another retreat.

Warm Regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,569
    204
    78
    26
    14
See reviews for
410
1,121
21
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

villas are spacious and the outdoor areas are completely enclosed and private. outdoor palapas for reading in the shade and beautiful private pool as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear keithjl

It is nice for us to read that you had a good time and that you found our facilities, pleasant. That is what the designer of Banyan Tree Mayakoba looked for.

Wishing to welcome you soon.

With best regards,
Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

At the time I played the PGA tournament was the next week; the condition of the course was 'incredible'; worth every cent of the $270.00. There is a cave in the middle of the first fairway at about 285 yds that you have to see to believe.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KipWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear KipWilson

Thank you for staying at Banyan Tree Mayakoba. We appreciate your notes you have posted on this website.

We will be glad to have you back a t this Sanctuary of the Senses.

Remaining at your entire disposal,

Best wishes

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I could not have asked for a more perfect, romantic, amazing proposal! As soon as we arrived at the resort I felt as if I was back in Asia. The staff was incredibly friendly and always greeting you with a smile! I have been to many high-end hotels/resorts and this hotel has exceeded my expectations.
Stayed in a Courtyard Pool Villa... all I can say is AMAZING! There are no words to describe this villa.
I was looking to plan the most romantic proposal for my fiancé and Michelle the Concierge made it happen. It was a great 3 hr treatment; 1-hr couples massage (one of the best massages I’ve had), foot scrub, salt scrub and endless treatments at their rainforest spa... We ended up in the indoor Jacuzzi with dimmed lights, candles and our song playing in the background, a beautiful wax bowl floated onto of the water with candles and the ring on a bed or red roses inside the bowl made its way to girlfriend she was in complete shock! I cannot describe the dream we were in!
You must visit this resort to really understand. The only negative is that the website doesn’t give it the justice it deserves!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear YoCBoC

It is a wonderful note the one you just shared at the Trip Advisor. I am so happy to read that our staff (especially Michelle) has been of help while planning your proposal. Thank you for providing the detailed description of this magical event to other readers.

Looking forward to welcome you back again,

Best Wishes.

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

One of our favourite places in the world to visit. The resort is spectacular and the staff is amazing. We booked for 10 days, and began by renting a car in cancun, which i'd recommend and arrived for our second visit. Could somehow be better than the first visit, the accommodations are great, beds are very comfortable, super clean and each villa has it's own mini pool.

As always, the breakfast buffet is the best, we'd usually have a 2 hour leisurely breakfast trying various things and reading the paper. After we'd head for the beach / pool which is a ways away from the lobby, but great for us as we would usually walk for some exercise. You can also take a golf cart or the small lagoon boat, which is also great.

The restaurants are spectacular, the food and drinks aren't inexpensive but everything is top notch, everything is fresh and very good. eg, no bottled drinks like lemonade, always fresh.

The spa is amazing, I'd certainly recommend the classic thai massage. My friends had mixed reivews on the rain shower, although I didn't try it.

Definitely the best part is the staff, incredibly helpful. There are so many people that make you feel welcome it's hard to leave.

Looking forward to returning again!

Patrick

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McMurrich77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear McMurrich77

On behalf of the Banyan Tree Mayakoba family, I thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments about your stay with us on this Webpage. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed it and that our staff has pampered you and your family-

I appreciate your positive notes about the hotel, and I was very happy to read that you liked the villa, the pool, and other facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our Sanctuary of the Senses

Best Regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice president
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I rarely write these, but in this case I feel compelled. This trip was a gift to myself (accompanied by my wife) for my 40th birthday. It would have been difficult to find a better place on earth this close to NYC.

Everything positive you read below/above is true. This is an incredibly unique/gorgeous property. The grounds/food/staff are absolutely first rate and it always feels like you have the place to yourself. My wife described the entire property as 'spa-like.' I went without my kids. From a couples perspective -- if you want a serene, beach-y, five-star which is relatively easily accessed from the East Coast of the U.S. with minimal to zero headache, then this is your place.

The pictures do not lie. The property is incredibly unique, gorgeous and immaculate. The staff and food are first rate. We never felt a need to leave the property and we are not homebodies by any stretch of the imagination (will travel for a researched/recommended meal etc). I was told the place was fairly well booked and yet we always felt secluded. If you want pampered relaxation, then search no further.

I will add one last thought -- my wife and I are almost always outwardly affable (but we are incredibly demanding quietly in our own thoughts). Not once in my thoughts was I thinking anything short of something along the lines of 'this place is first rate' (and I have stayed in five stars around the world).

Room Tip: I would doubt there is a bad room. I obtained a fantastic deal on a travel website and was given a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FieldingYost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear FieldYost

Thank you for choosing our Hotel to celebrate your 40th birthday and it is great to read that you have had an absolute satisfying experience.

We do thank you for you kind notes regarding our food, associates, installations and other services. We feel proud to know that we have exceeded your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

Warmest Regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

My reviews are normally longer than this. We went there for our honeymeen August 2011. There is nothing to say about the Banyan Tree Mayakoba except, well, I am in awe. I never thought a place that incredible existed. Perfect staff. Perfect everything. I had tears in my eyes when I left for the first time in my life.

Room Tip: Get a spa suite on the river for maximum privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DERONSARAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear DERONSARAH

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and for your high commendation on our service. Comments like this help to keep our associates’ motivation.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan the Tree Mayakoba soon.

Sincerely

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Área General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,473 reviews
1.0 km away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#14 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
10.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,569 reviews
7.2 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing