We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second time not charm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #3 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
new york
1 review
“second time not charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

this was our second time we stayed, there were so many issues the first time that we were comped two nights for a return visit. And while things were better this time, based on the cost of the hotel you would expect things to be perfect and they weren't. Hot tub in our villa did not work properly and was not fixed after we mentioned it. Fuse blew for our outside lights and while this was fixed we didn't know why they didn't catch it before we checked in. The worst problem was our car for trip back to airport wasn't booked despite confirmation that we needed it on checkin. All things a bit small, but again, for the price of the hotel we expected everything to be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank sss35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

We want to thank you for writing about the experience you had during your second visit. It is lamentable to read that the service provided were less than perfect this time.

Your feedback is noted and the details you pointed have been fixed and the main area has been double checked to make sure everything work properly.

Please accept our apologies for the mishaps encountered.

With best regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    204
    78
    26
    14
See reviews for
410
1,119
21
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Very little to say other than this is a wonderful hotel. My husband and I found nothing to complain or criticize. The staff was amazing. The spa was like no other I have experienced. Really can't say enough and will definitely be back to mayakoba or another property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank sdj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear viajero de Banyantree.com

It has been nice to note that you and your husband were amazed during your stay and that you had the time to be pampered at our Banyan Tree Mayakoba Spa.

Thank you for writing these kind notes on the Trip advisor website.

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Friendliness of the staff, beautiful site, well located, everything is perfect. To try absolutely. Good value for money. Just the front office staff has to be more friendly, but all the rest of the staff is perfect, always trying to find the best solution to please you, prompt to satisfy your desires. A wonderful spa. A perfect place to be!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear versailles

I wish to thank you for giving us your impressions about your recent stay. Your nice comments about the staff in general and their service make our associates feel grateful, we appreciate that you took some time to place them on this webpage. We have also noted your comments on the attitude of the staff at the front office and have taken the necessary correction of the situation.

Please feel free to contact us again when you are ready for a bit more pampering.

Kindest regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel was excellent and the staff was surperb. Food was excellent and we had a great week.
The only improvement would be the menu at the main dining room. It was way too exotic and had few choices for the average guest looking for a great piece of fish or beef.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Norman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear BanyanTree.com traveler

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Comments like yours that show that you have enjoyed your stay and are well appreciated by our staff.

We sincerely hope we will be able to be at your service again.

With best Regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed here with my husband and two teenagers. All of us loved the resort and would have no hesitation in coming back. We stayed in a 3 bed 'townhouse' which gave all of us some space to lounge around, watch TV or swim in the pool. The villa was well equipped and luxurious. There is free WiFi throughout the resort. Each bedroom had its own bathroom, with the master bedroom fitted out with a bath overlooking the jungle. Great showers too. Every day, housekeeping filled the fridge with a fresh tropical juice and replenished the incense sticks and candles (much to my teenagers joy).

All the resort restaurants were excellent. Food was top notch - from the breakfast buffet to their fine dining offer. Staff were friendly and efficient, seemingly never tiring of whizzing guests round the (large) resort in buggys. The beach staff deserve a special mention. Mineral water was free. Superb spa. Highly recommend booking in for a massage, one of the best I have had. There is a boat that takes guests to the beach (rather than by buggy) which takes about 5 mins. It is a tranquil and relaxing little trip and a great way to see the local flora and fauna (including baby crocs and turtles). Beautiful Caribbean beach of course. One of Mexico's top-rated golf courses is also here.

My only slightly picky comment is that you could forget that you were in Mexico. This resort is very Asian in style and design which is understandable knowing who the hotel operators are. If you're looking for a more authentic Mexican environment, you may feel short-changed. But, if you are looking for a beautiful, well-run resort, with good food, welcoming and efficient staff and a great beach location and are not too worried about not experiencing the 'real' Mexico, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear HHFoodie

Thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Mayakoba for your family vacation. We are happy to hear that our service as well as the hotel amenities had satisfied your needs and tastes.

You have been very nice in writing your nice comments on this site. We do appreciate you taking the time to do it and are more than willing to welcome you and your family soon again.

We look forward to your return to Banyan tree Mayakoba and I wish you all the best.

Best Wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I got back from a wonderful stay at Banyan Tree Mayakoba. We have mostly excellent things to say about the hotel.
The check in process is very smooth and the hotel made every attempt to accommodate us even though we arrived before check-in time. The villa (we stayed in the Garden Villa) was decorated very well and you can’t beat having your own pool and courtyard. Yes the pool is not heated, but it is nice to cool yourself down if you choose to hang out in the sun in your courtyard. Housekeeping (twice a day) was excellent and the hotel offered free bottled water which was replenished often. We had no issues with mosquitoes although ants popped up every now and then. I wouldn’t keep any food or drinks out. I would highly suggest getting a room closer to the lobby. You could always rent bikes to head to the beach but it’s nice to be able to walk to breakfast, the lobby, reception, the spa, or the two dinner restaurants without having to call a buggy (the golf cart service). We rented bikes (highly recommend) so that we didn’t have to rely on the buggy to get to the beach. The bike ride is about 5 minutes.
Breakfast Buffet at Oriente was the nicest breakfast buffet I have ever seen. Lunch at Sands beach club was pretty good. The service at the beach club was okay. Getting set up with a couple chairs and an umbrella was easy at both the beach and pool but drink/food service seemed better at the pool then at the beach. We had dinner at Saffron and Tamarind and they were both very good. The atmosphere at Saffron was better as it was over the water. I would make reservations with the concierge desk beforehand as there are not that many tables at either restaurant (Tamarind a lot less). I saw a few couples get turned away because they had no reservations. Needless to say they were not happy.
The massages at the spa were excellent… so good that we went back for seconds later in the trip. Obviously they are quite pricey, but it really seems like the masseuses know what they are doing. The gym was large enough. It had a couple of cardio machines, weight machines, and a small amount of free weights.
On the negative side, I wasn’t impressed with the beach itself. It wasn’t very big, the sand a little rocky, and the water wasn’t as clear and calm as some other beaches in the Caribbean. Buggy service can be a little slow (which is why I would suggest renting bikes). For some reason, a decent amount of families were there which surprises me because having pools in each villa doesn’t seem like the safest room to have when coming along with young children. Also, having to transport young children to the beach from your villa seems like a huge pain.
However, the positives very much outweighed the small negatives. As long as you know what you are coming here for (the great service, and not a beachfront hotel), you will enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Get a room by the lobby. One less buggy trip you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear cheb1978

Thank you for coming to Banyan Tree Mayakoba and, moreover, to write your feedback that is going to be certainly very useful to other Trip Advisor’ users.

All your comments are shared with all the associates so everybody of us note the details pointed out in this review. Once again I thank you for spending the time to write this review.

With very best regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was the second time we had booked through Kuoni & this was the second time they had failed to book our private transfers despite my instigating before departure that this time the car really was confirmed. I will not be using Kuoni again.

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Spa Pool Villa and complimentary 60 min massage. I was laughed at when I asked they staff why...but then we found out exactly why...

For 4 days of our 8 day holiday, a wedding celebration of 300 guests from New York heavily dominated ALL public areas to the point where we felt we had been put 'on the back burner' And had to just accept that the party would be taking priority.

We were advised by staff to eat an evening meal in Tamarind so booked this upon their recommendation. Regrettably, the wedding party decided to overflow into this beautiful, tranquil restaurant with their drinking. As such, my small group of 4 failed to have any kind of conversation due to noise levels. The entire meal was a catalogue of errors. Bread came, then 20 minutes later, the oils and vinegars to be eaten with it arrived. I was asked what I wanted to drink and then my other 3 companions were given the same without being asked about their requests. Drinking glasses holding sparkling water which needed topping up then had still water added to them.....we waited over an hour and a half for food which was then sent back.

Breakfast was NOT in the Oriente whilst the 4 day party was taking place. Non-wedding guests were re-located to allow the wedding party priority. The staff did their best but it did get to the point where I didn't even bother asking for any more coffee or juice because I knew it wouldn't arrive.

One guest from the wedding party did come into 'our' breakfast area with his phone on loudspeaker and shouting across the restaurant to yet another voice. Erick & his team did politely remind him that there were other guests trying to enjoy what the BT promotes (tranquility) and asked him to move on. This was hugely appreciated by us as it meant we could now have at least one meal without being violated.

BT states it's an 'ecosystem of carefully maintained mangroves and freshwater lagoons - home to a myriad of indigenous species of fish and birds...living freely in their natural environment'......the wedding party were warned by staff that they could not whizz jet skis through the mangrove river yet the party ignored this order and as such yet another area of peace was ruined for those who had paid a premium for the BT experience.

BT states of its golf course that 'it's one of the most famous in Mexico and weaves through 3 distinct ecosystems'.....well yes but you can't use it when multiple wedding marquees are erected on the course.

Fireworks went off unexpectedly behind the villa of a family with a very young child and as a result the parents then had to deal with the consequences. A note from staff explaining what would be happening would have been appreciated as a gesture.

The atmosphere and attitude of staff completely changed once the large party had left. It was noticeable and remarkable how we then were made to feel welcome and wanted.

I have been put off visiting another BT as this visit totally contradicted their entire ethos of zen-like calm and tranquility.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paulswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear paulswife

I feel sorry to read you did not enjoy the atmosphere of the hotel during your last stay and we are sorry if you have been disturbed. Please accept my sincere apologies. Thank you for mentioning our efforts were noticed and our performance improving during the last part of your stay.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience during your stay at Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

Remaining at your entire disposal,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,467 reviews
1.0 km away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
10.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,563 reviews
7.2 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing