We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So”

Santa Pizza Playa del Carmen
Ranked #348 of 1,502 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: US$0 - US$2
Description: At Santa Pizza you'll find gourmet food at affordable prices, including fresh ingredients with excellent fusions. Our goal is providing food experience for you and your loved ones, at a unique location.
Restaurant details
Description: At Santa Pizza you'll find gourmet food at affordable prices, including fresh ingredients with excellent fusions. Our goal is providing food experience for you and your loved ones, at a unique location.
Reviewed January 13, 2018

We got a pepperoni and a Hawaiian to go. It is a wood fired oven but the pizza was very average. It was slightly under cooked and not much flavor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clearwater007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gian Carlo C, Propietario at Santa Pizza Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Hello! We are sorry for the inconvenience, we will talk to our chef's and we will make sure this don't happen again. If you give us a 2nd chance we will make our best to satisfy and exceed all of your expectations.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

We have been mislead from all good reviews and also we tought was inexpensive from trip advisor indication.

We are not Turist but locals.

Strange thing is that was empty at 9pm during high season... I was expecting packed since all good reviews.

First of all I want to mention that the service is good.

The problem is the pizza dough and prices.

Margherita pizza 139 pesos??? Come on, You can get a really good Italian Margherita pizza in any Playa restaurants 5th Avenida or 10th avenida for 90/100 pesos Max 110pesos.

The dough was so so so hard that after 5 minutes that the pizza was served and got colder was almost impossible to eat.
Both pizzas were also overcooked which makes the

When we sat down they brought some white bread sliced pizza, and I realized from it that the dough was terrible, from my point of view the dough it was not done in time or wrong receipt since it was clear that it did not rise at all a good and easy digest pizza need to rise slowly for 24/48 hours.

Also tomato in the Margarita pizza was not properly condimented missing oregano salt and pepper and some olive oil.

4 cheese pizza was completely missing the gorgonzola cheese

At the end 2 beers 2 really basic pizzas 350pesos... + tips we are talking about more than 20 dollars which for Playa is too much.
If the pizzas were good I have no problem to pay that, but like this is not acceptable.

There are many other Italian pizzeria that have great pizza very similar to what you can find in italy and reasonable prices.

Unfortunately we will not come back again, very sorry.

2  Thank Pollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gian Carlo C, Propietario at Santa Pizza Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Hello Pollett, I am really sad to read your opinion, I'm sorry you had a bad experience with us. We have been struggling with many issues but I can promise we have made all the needed corrections to give our customers a great experience, we hope you can give us a 2nd opportunity to show you how we really work.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience.

Regards,
All of our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

Amazing place with great music, the service was excellent and the food unforgettable. We had a couple of cold beers and two pizzas, the fresh pizza was definitely the favorite for us. We will be back for sure, keep it up guys.

We payed a total of $500 Mexican pesos for 4, pretty cheap right? Thursday's happy hour all day long beer for $15 each, great deal!

Thank nicomaruri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gian Carlo C, Propietario at Santa Pizza Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thanks Nico for your great opinion, we will keep working hard to give you only the best.

See you soon!

Regards,
Gian Carlo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend their original fig pizza. Great atmosphere to grab some drinks and kickback. Owner is always supervising service.

Thank eduardo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gian Carlo C, Propietario at Santa Pizza Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear Eduardo, thanks for your great opinion. I will be waiting for you to come back and treat you even better than last time.

Regards,
Gian Carlo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

Went there last night with my wife. Gail had their meat calzone, which could have fed us both, and I had the meat empanada, which was stuffed with tasty ground beef, egg, and mushrooms. They were both delicious and so large we took half of each back home to have for lunch the next day. The service was excellent. A must when you want some Italian food in Playa del Carmen.

Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gian Carlo C, Propietario at Santa Pizza Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear Chuck, we are really glad you had a wonderful experience with us.

We hope to see you guys soon back with us and we will keep improving our food and service.

Regards,
Gian Carlo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Pizza Playa del Carmen also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Santa Pizza Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing