We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
402
77
18
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
77
18
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub imprevist restaurant full kitchen rooftop deck the penthouse living room both bedrooms second bedroom location was perfect water cooler fishing boats breakfast included restaurants and shopping the ground floor no elevator we loved our stay family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 507 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Staying at Maya Villa was like discovering a hidden gem surrounded by tropical greenery, glistening gecko pools and water fountains. The spacious condo that the four of us shared had a large living room, private bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen and our own private terrace, located right next to an outdoor Jacuzzi. While it was our first time staying at a condo-style hotel, we are now wondering why would anyone even want to stay at one small hotel room, if you can get your whole condo suite for the same price, with excellent hotel services, including daily maid, 24-hour security, concierge and parking. There is a Spa on the ground floor, and a top-notch sports club across the street, which we had a complimentary access to. Beautiful white sand beach and Beach Club are two steps away, and 5th Avenue with all the entertainment and restaurants is right next to it. You cannot find a better deal in Playa del Carmen than Maya Villa, especially if you are traveling with a group of friends or a family.

Room Tip: tip the service, they are so appreciative
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This was our 6th trip to Playa and by far the best The employees looked after us like
we were there children. Everyone was polite and very attentive to any of our needs,
The addition of the Indigo Beach Club perfected our stay with Condo Hotels. We were in Maya Villa which is only a 2 minute walk to Indigo. The beach and the accomodations at Indigo arer superb. The Italian run restaurant was wonderful and we enjoyed daily meals there with fabulous service from the staff. We wanted to adopt some of them.
We have have been world travelers for quite a few years and can honestly say that this was one of our most memorable vacations.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graybonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I went to Playa del Carmen with my girlfriend to spend some incredible and romantic time with her, we stayed at Condo Hotel Maya Villa and the hotel exceeded our expectations. We stayed in condo 405 and could not be better. The rooms, the living room, kitchen, bathrooms, everything was excellent. The service also has been the best, from the maids to the concierge and reception, the receptionist Flor Diaz has been incredible and has done much easier and friendly our stay. I recommend it fully, we are planning to return again this year, everything was amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaronHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Our family recently rented a penthouse unit at Maya Villa (unit 413). The furniture is nice yet the penthouse layout is not safe for young children and the pool is not really usable, especially for children due to its depth. Our main issue is that the unit is vertical with three floors and one side is an interior large winging exposed staircase. We raised our concerns to building management and they recommended that we hold our children in our arms all week to prevent them from falling three flights of stairs while inside the unit. We elected to not stay in the unit and moved out to a house instead.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BevoDenver_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2011

My husband, 18 month old daughter and I stayed at The Maya Villa the last week of February. We were in unit 406 - a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath penthouse with private rooftop deck that included a jacuzzi, gas grill, fridge and outdoor living room. It was lovely.

Pros:
- Beautiful, first class accomodations - stainless steel appliances, marble floors, bathrooms, vessel sinks, nice sheets, nice crib for the baby, excellent cleaning service
- Rooftop deck - My husband and I could put the baby down for a nap and then grab the baby monitor and head upstairs to grill and hang out. I could tan while my husband napped. It was great.
- Location, location, location - 1 block from 5th avenue where all the hustle and bustle is and 1 block from the beach. It was so quiet but still in the middle of everything.
- Great service - the concierge offers DVDs you can borrow (including Elmo!), was always very attentive to any of our requests
- Private Beach Club about 20 - 30 minutes away - as a perk of staying there you have access to Al Cielo Beach Club which is located down a dirt road in Xphu-Ha. This is absolutely one of the most amazing beaches I have ever seen. You have to make a reservation through the concierge because there are only about 8 palapas. It is a $20USD cab ride each way but completely worth it. It is really breathtaking. We ate at the restaurant there and had our most amazing meal of the trip - the seafood paella. It only costs $100 Pesos to rent a palapa (about $8USD). Highly recommend you do this while you are there.

Cons:
- The El Taj beach is not that nice. While we never had a problem finding chairs, the beach directly in front of El Taj has fishing boats in it and is dirty with gasoline. You have to walk down the beach to be in clean water.
- Our remote didn't work and they couldn't fix it, but did offer us 3 free days of wifi in our condo so we were happy. The wifi is $10USD/ day but with it you also have unlimited free international calls.
- Stairs - We were in the penthouse units which was the 3rd floor but keep in mind there is not an elevator. There r only 17 units in the whole property which is awesome. The bellboys take your luggage up and we were fine with it - but if you have trouble walking up the stairs, this could be an issue.

Overall we really had an amazing time. My husband and I have been all over the world together and never to the same place twice but we have already talked about going back. Our vacation was really the best one we have had as a family yet!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews