We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
398
77
18
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
77
18
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubimprevist restaurantfull kitchenrooftop deckthe penthouseliving roomboth bedroomssecond bedroomlocation was perfectwater coolerfishing boatsbreakfast includedrestaurants and shoppingthe ground floorno elevatorwe loved our stayfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 503 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Just got back from our vacation to Playa Del Carmen yesterday and I had to immediately sit down and write a review of Maya Villa. We were there for 4 nights and the property completely exceeded our expectations. We stayed in room 408 (a 3br/3ba with a rooftop deck overlooking the ocean). Despite the fact that Maya Villa is a block away from the beach, we had great views of the beach and the ocean. A small sampling of what we liked best about Maya Villa:

Cleanliness- the place was new and modern, great design, and spic and span. The cleaning service comes every day and does a great job.

Location- we were worried we were going to be too far from the beach, but it turned out our location was perfect. It is an extremely short (90 second) walk down to the beach, and you are right around the corner from 5th avenue. It really was the best of both worlds. By the way, I had read one review mentioning construction and/or 5th avenue noise, we didn't hear any noise at all.

Staff- they were quick, friendly, efficient, and responsive. The front desk is always manned, and there was a security officer out front every night all night.

Pool and hot tub- we all loved the pool at the Maya Villa, very unique.

Rooftop- probably our favorite part of the actual place. Had a wonderful view, an awesome lounge area, and a grill that we fired up a few times.

Beach and Indigo Landing- the beach is right in front of El Taj (which also looks like an awesome place), and we had a great time there. Very nice attendants, comfy chairs, good services, 90 seconds away from the Maya Villa. Couldn't be beat. Yes there are some boats on the beach or in the water, but they are small fishing boats and frankly added to the vibe. We had no problem swimming in the ocean just by walking a hundred yards down the beach.

Finally, I know this is long, but we went during a unlucky timeframe and had two straight days of torrential rain. Yeah, our trip surely would have been better if we had more sun, but it was the Maya Villa that saved our vacation. We had space to relax, the pool and hot tub to sit in during rain, and it was so close to 5th avenue we were able to stroll during periods of light rain up and down doing some shopping and bar hopping. We loved this place and are already planning on coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maverickdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We LOVED Maya Villa! We had Condo #406 which was a 2 BR 2 BA penthouse with roof top hot tub and palapa. This place was pristine clean and the all the staff were VERY friendly and helpful! There was always a guard posted out front 24/7. This place is a BEAUTIFUL oasis and not to be missed!

Indigo Beach club was AWESOME too! The staff there was GREAT and worked VERY hard to make sure everyone was happy! They brought umbrellas and set up and were very quick to do ANYTHING you asked with no problems! I was SUPER impressed with the service there!

CONS: The rooftop hot tubs are NOT connected to your room and as a previous poster stated..we were NOT told this so we could not enjoy it near as much as we would have liked because we were not comfortable leaving our 9 YO alone in the room. The window in our sons room did not lock and I reported this but nothing was ever done. There was no TV in one of the BR as was stated on the listing and there was no ironing board.

All in all a GREAT stay and we will defnitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We extended our stay because the folks at condo hotel properties are so nice and playa is an awesome place. We also stayed at their other property El Taj oceanfront but they were sold out for the extra days. We stayed two nights in Maya Villa and highly recommend Maya Villa if you like a small quaint luxury hotel. They have 4 properties but this one in particular is the most unique and very private and quiet. The condos are lavishly decorated with amazing details. The best part it includes their own beach club which is a short block away and fitness club. The pool at Mayavilla is the most unique pool we ever saw...it's more like a river pool that is shaped like a gecko. Fifth ave and all the clubs are just one block away and yet it is sooooo quiet inside this oasis. we highly recommend this place

Room Tip: Duplex penthouses are awesome
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waytogo400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The condo is well designed and very comfortable. Service has been slow although the manager was attentive and did address the issue of construction noise which is significant and right next door. You are also in the middle of night life city. Although the condo room we stayed in was out of ear shot of the very loud and annoying music of the night life scene, the other condo hotels in the same chain cannot make that claim. When you pay 350 us dollars per night and breakfast and internet are not included it would be nice if service was attentive. It is not. We are staying here now and are still waiting to get someone to help us figure out the dvd system after one hour. Two calls later and they are still not here. It is somewhat frustrating considering there are other places in this area that include all meals and good service for less. Think hard before you put down your money. The condos are nice but most apt do not have ocean views. The service is less than good, the manager was a nice person and concerned but all in all not very good value. If you are here with friends and family I would have a bit of a different perspective and this would be very good for something like that. It is not for couples looking for a romantic spot.

Room Tip: ask for the penthouse
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hoopsover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We were originally located at Villa Sacbe, but the construction noise next door was unbearable. The staff were incredibly understanding and upgraded us to a two bedroom apartment at Villa Maya. It was perfect. A great location, small enough so we felt secluded (not fighting crowds) and it had all the amenities we could have wanted. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid Sacbe until construction is finished
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilyPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews