We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Playa del carmen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GG Fitfth Av. Ristorante - CLOSED

GG Fitfth Av. Ristorante
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Playa del carmen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We went here twice during our 6 night stay in Playa del Carmen it was that good! Went the second time for my partners birthday and they bought out a lovely "happy birthday" dessert for us. Can not fault a thing - from the service, bread, wine and of course the amazing food.....

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilbee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    27
    17
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcoming and fun place to have dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Food was exceptional and reasonable. They sat 7 of us at a great family table. You could spend just a little (The salmon carpaccio was wonderful!) or a lot. Everyone was pleasant and service was great. Good wines.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CAH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Italian Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We've now been to this restaurant twice, and will be going back again. A lovely al fresco dining experience. The outdoor seating is neat and attractive, and lets you watch the passers-by.
The meal was superb. Our first meal, my wife had spaghetti bolognese, which is hard to mess up. But I had the Sorrentina gnocchi. Now, I've eaten gnocchi in dozens of Italian restauarnts, and they usually lay like lead in your stomach.These were the lightest, most flavorful gnocchi I've ever eaten! Cudos to the chef!
The second time we went with guests staying with us, and another great meal! I can't remember what my wife or friends had, as I was too busy enjoying my dish. The tagliatelle with seared tuna and black squid ink was incredible!
My brother and sister-in-law are coming this Friday, and we are taking them here for their first Playa dinner. I heartily recommend this place to everyone!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Italian restaurant in playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We ate here twice during our trip. We also had them deliver too. The food was excellent and we highly recommend the fresh pasta and pizza. The fish was super too!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had in Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stumbled upon Gigi's because it was near our resort. After having several mediocre meals along 5th Ave, we were very surprised to find this restaurant so delicious. I had the spinach cannelloni and my partner had the mushroom risotto. It was all very well cooked and presented and tasty! Nadia, the owner, was going from table welcoming everyone! It appeared that this place is a magnet for well to do Italians. However, it is not very expensive. Our two meals, appetizer, two large glasses of wine and a coca light came to 590 pesos. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbyjello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GG Fitfth Av. Ristorante also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing