We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Almost perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hideaway Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #25 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kinnelon, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just returned from our 3rd visit to the RH and we WILL be returning again. This resort really knows how to take care of hard working vacationers looking to relax. You want for nothing. The food while not spectacular is every bit of excellent; all the meals are finely prepared, with plenty of choices and without limitation.
The staff at the RH is dedicated to making sure your vacation goes seamlessly. The service is excellent and everyone is very attentive. We want to give a special shout out to Roger – our concierge, for not only remembering us but for remembering where we like to eat. Our reservations were made before we checked in. Also, to Veronica – the Hostess at Spices, there is no brighter smile to greet us in the morning. To Ismeal our waiter at The Grill, he couldn’t have been more attentive and kind. To Enrique – at the pool, it was his 3rd day on the job and he fit right in. We wish him nothing but great success in this new endeavor. All the staff work incredibly hard and the management needs to get credit for attending to every little detail. It amazes us every time we go that people who can afford this type of resort cannot find it in their heart to tip these hard working people. We see several people do it but most people don’t. It’s pretty sad.

Our one small pet peeve keeping the RH inches from perfection is their sub-par gym. They were redoing the facility when we there, so there’s hope. Come on guys, you’re so great at everything, get a few more elliptical machines in there.

All in all a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yooosara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear yooosara,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, excellent food and attentive staff.

I already forwarded your comments to Veronica, Ismael, and Enrique. Thank you for recognizing them. They love to spoil our dear guests.

Also, you will be pleased to hear that we have now finished renovating our spa and gym area. The newly renovated spa consists of seven treatment rooms, (two of which are designed for couples massages) and two stations in our beauty salon for manicures/pedicures/hair styling featuring Redken products.

We are looking forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,795
    657
    200
    90
    43
See reviews for
304
2,446
64
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just came home this morning from a 10 day family vacation from the Royal Hideaway. This was our first time there and it was the best family vacation ever. The staff treated us so well and were very attentive to all of our needs. We were truly treated like royalty. My favourite part was the pool side staff who were always there to make sure we were doing alright and if there was anything they could do for us. Enrique, Jessie, and Chris especially were very sweet and friendly. Roger, our concierge, was extremely helpful and made sure that we had all of our dinner reservations in order and also assisted us extremely well with a late check-out. The restaurant staff always remembered our names and some of them even remembered what our favourite drinks were! The cleanliness of our rooms was impecable and it always felt nice to return to a clean room and in the evenings our bed was turned down every night. The evening entertainment at Bar Allegria was very relaxing and comforting. We will definitely be returning to the RH just knowing that we will be guaranteed a great holiday experience! I miss everyone from there already!

Room Tip: We stayed right next to the pool and Spices restaurant and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Corinne S,

We are thrilled by your comments. Thank you so much!

It is great that you had a wonderful vacation with us. I will share your comments with the hotel staff but especially with Enrique, Jessie, Chris and Roger. They really love to treat everybody like royalty.

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel, grounds & staff were first class. Food was also well presented in beautiful surroundings although a hungry individual could find some portions small (especially Tuna Steak). Very relaxing, clean and the attentive staff made you feel very welcome. I spent many years in the hospitality business and the staff were among the best I have seen.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for an Ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin123400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Marin123400,

Greetings from the Royal Hideaway!

Thank you for your post. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our grounds, delicious food and attentive staff. I will share your comment regarding portion size to our Executive Chef so that he can review. Keep in mind that this is an all-inclusive resort, though, so you can order as many dishes as you wish.

We hope to be able to welcome you back with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

MUST VISIT THIS PLACE!!! AMAZING!!! BEAUTIFUL!! BIG BEACH!! GREAT STAFF!! GREAT FOOD!! GREAT SERVICE!! BEAUTIFUL ROOMS!! SO MUCH TO DO!!

My family and I just got back from spending the most relaxing and exciting week of our lives here at the Royal Hideaway resort. Words cannot even describe how amazing the services here are. ALL of the staff/workers are absolutely wonderful and will always be there for your every need. They are so wonderful and greatful and they all seem to love their jobs so that made our trip so excellent. Everyday we are greeted by our last name Mrs and Mr. Salamone and the staff is always smiling, curtious, helpful, caring, and deffinitly on top of their game. I was never unsatified at any of the restaurants, i loved them all, especially the Italian restaurant!!
The beach is femominal!! So gorgeous, not crowded, relaxing, full time service to get you your chairs, towels, drinks, canopeys, etc. Crystal blue/green water a few steps away from the bar/pool/restaurant/bathrooms. Everything is so convenient and lovely. We made friends with all of the staff: Hiiiii LAURA, CHRIS, CARLOS, guy from the bronx (very awesome dude!), JOSE, JESUS, REYEZ, and the rest of the crew, all of you were so wonderful!!! Thank you for a great memorable vacation!! Hope to come back soon!!

WATER AEROBICS!!
A special shout out to the water aerobics coaches I went to: Chris and Carlos!! what a great workout!!! Happy and upbeat professionals!! FUN FUN FUNN!!! Its a must do when you are here!! The water aerobics is everyday at 12 noon for a half hour. It is so refreshing and the instructors make it sooo much fun!!

Room Tip: the villas are very nice! a beautiful room with a king size bed and a HUGE bathroom and walk in clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hair08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Hair08,

Thank you so very much for your comments. It is encouraging for us to receive such wonderful feedback. Also, we are so glad that our attentive staff gave you the service that you deserved.
I will definitely share your comments with Laura, Chris, Carlos, Jose, Jesus and Reyes. Thank you for recognizing them.

You are right, water gymnastics is definitely one of many highlights here at the Royal Hideaway Playacar!

We are looking forward to having you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I went to the Royal Hideaway the week before Christmas for 5 nights. This was by far one of the most relaxing vacations I have ever been on. I was very leery of the all inclusive food, but they have wonderful restaurants instead of a large buffet and the food was really good. The staff was probably the best part, we felt very taken care of with the personal attention by Laura and Christian at the poolside restaurant. They were really helpful providing recommendations on side trips and how to get around town. I was able to find an out of the way authentic pottery place and found some lovely pieces to take home that could not be found in the touristy shopping spots. The beach was clean and peaceful and for us it was really nice that there weren't small children, it was very romantic. We are looking forward to our next visit and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear MiaP,

Greetings from the Royal Hideaway!

We are overwhelmed by your nice comments! It is great that you had a relaxing vacation with us and enjoyed e everything the resort has to offer. Laura and Christian are glad that you mentioned them, and we are lucky to have them on our staff to take care of our dear guests.

Thank you so much for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I just returned from a 7 night stay at RH and we had a wonderful trip! The beautiful beach and pool area were what really sold this resort for me. This area was immaculate and it seemed as though people were always working, literally from sunrise to sunset people were raking the beach, setting up lounge, chairs etc. The employees were constantly working behind the scenes. Our room was nice, but some things could use a bit of sprucing up (ex. wallpaper in the bathroom looked aged). Because of the set up of the buildings, rooms are all off of little courtyards, noise definitely carried. If you are a light sleeper I recommend earplugs. The food and drinks were really good for an all-inclusive. All of the seafood was delicious and cooked perfectly. For dinner we really enjoyed The Grill, Palazzo and Las Ventannas. Our least favorite restaurant was Azia. Portions were small at the restaurants but that did not matter as you could order as much as you wanted. The only thing I would have liked was the ability to order dinner at one of the bars, someplace that you did not need a reservation. Though room service was always an option. The service at the resort was truly top-notch. Our concierge, Carolina, took great care of us. She helped us with dinner reservations, answered all of our questions, etc. Poolside, Carlos and Christopher were excellent. So friendly and always smiling, they truly seemed happy to be there. Our poolside server, Javier, was amazing! He was such a hard worker and he took great care of us the whole time! We had a wonderful time and I would definitely recommend the Royal Hideaway!

Room Tip: The middle buildings, we were in 27 which was great, are the quieter ones as they are farther away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jsr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear jsr19,

Thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers. We are especially happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful beach, attentive service and food. Our staff works hard to create the best experience for our guests. Regarding the rooms, you will be happy to hear that we are constantly maintaining and updating our rooms e.g. Flat Screen TVs and IPod Docking Stations. We will keep in mind the wallpaper in the bathrooms. Also, we are sorry to hear that you were bothered by noise outside of the room. Thank you also for the suggestion to order of offering dinner at the bars in our restaurants. I will share this suggestion with our management team. Our 24-hour Room Service is another option if you want to play it by ear.

I will give your regards to Carolina, Javier, Chris and Christopher. They will be happy to hear that you mentioned them in your review.

Thank you for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I just celebrated our 30 year anniversary here for 7 days and found the resort to be just outstanding. The grounds and beach are gorgeous, the staff is over the top in ensuring you have everything you need. The proximity to Playa del Carmen is a real plus in my opinion. We have travelled to this area of Riviera Maya many times and this resort really delivered an upscale experience. The food is excellent with lots of choices. The only negative would be the restaurants get over booked during high season..so they probably need to work on that aspect. But, we talked to the front desk and they accomodated our requests. We were especially impressed with Carlos, Jessie and Chris from the activities team and Margot who was the hostess at Spices - great job! The entire staff is very hard-working and friendly.
Overall, we had an excellent time and will definetly return.

Room Tip: Choose an interior villas vs exterior to avoid any noise from neigboring hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wantssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear wantssun,

Congratulations again on your 30th anniversary! We are happy to hear that you had a great celebration and wonderful stay with us.

Next time, you can contact us prior to arrival at services@mx.occidentalhotels.com to make advance reservations at our á la carte restaurants. Thank you for mentioning Carlos, Jessie, Chris and Margot for their great service. I can’t wait to share this great review with them!

We are looking forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
9.0 km away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,483 reviews
11.8 km away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
4.2 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#18 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,814 reviews
1.8 km away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#17 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,037 reviews
4.3 km away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#102 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing