We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort for the price!”
Review of Allegro Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Allegro Playacar
Ranked #88 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Resort for the price!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This resort is located on a beautiful beach. Grounds are gorgeous! If you like a smaller resort where you really get to know the staff and become part of the family, this is the place to go!. Great staff and very accomodating for special needs. Erika and Yvonne made our vacation really special. Always a good variety of great tasting food. Entertainment daily by the staff and a couple of the evening shows by professional groups. Only complaint was the hard beds, but it didn't keep us from sleeping. . Room was small but had everything we needed! Everyday their was a different towel creation waiting for us after the room was cleaned! Jacobi and Humberto were great waiters who made us feel special anytime of the day. Resort is only a 15 minute walk away from Playa del Carmen or you can take a taxi for $7. We are not luxury resort people. We use the room to shower and sleep. We are there to enjoy the outside beauty of the area. The staff works very hard for you. Give them a tip. They deserve it! We had a great vacation there!

Room Tip: Buildings 58,57 are right on the beach. These rooms are usually for members. We were very lucky to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Teritrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,514
    1,731
    782
    361
    303
See reviews for
1,200
1,829
155
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed in Allegro Playacar from May 5 - May 13. We were a group of 7 adults and 4 children. The wait staff for breakfast were excellent! Very patient and accomodating to our large group that included small children. Alfredo, Jacobo, Luis and Limber made every attempt to help us enjoy our breakfast every morning with their attentiveness and great humor. The dinner staff was no different. Manuel served us every night and was so patient with the kids.

The rooms were a little old, however, very clean. Anibal and Teresa serviced our rooms. They assisted us with all our requests promptly. The pool, kidsclub, and entertainment staff was also outstanding. Our only complain is about the people in the front desk. They always seemed to be annoyed with any questions we asked, even when we tried to get change or exchange money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yovanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed at the Occidental Allegro Playacar from April 29 to May 6th, 2012, with my daughter and we had a great experience. I had corresponded with Yvonne, who happened to be on holidays when I arrived. I was given a room by the pool area, which for me was little too noisy, and when I asked to be changed to a room in a more quiet area, facing the courtyard, Victor from the reception desk really went out of his way to find me a suitable room, and within 20 minutes I was in my new room, which by the way we loved. Our maid Lucy was amazing. Our room was cleaned spotlessly every day, with the most amazing towel art I've ever seen, and she was very warm and charming. When Yvonne from Guest Services, returned from her holiday the next day, she ensured that we were very well taken care of and since she was aware that it was my daughter's 21st birthday during our stay, she made sure that her birthday was very special, from a reservation at the Mexican restaurant with a wonderful cake, to balloons and a towel art cake in the room and strawberries covered in chocolate. My daughter had a 21st birthday which she will always remember fondly because of the special attention she received at this resort.
Everything in our room worked well, from the room safe, to the plumbing to the air conditioning. We were very pleased with our accommodations in a lower level room in the 2500 block.
The food and the drinks at the resort were very good and there was a good variety every day. There was something there for everyone. On our first night in the main dining room, we had a waiter called Jorge Ortega, who was so wonderful. We sat in his section every night so that we would get to have him wait on us. He was very pleasant and attentive. The entire staff at this resort really go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one. From the waiters, to the maid to the front desk staff to the bartenders... and especially the activity and entertainment staff... The two Victors in the activities centre, especially the Victor from Puerto Rico... I cannot say enough about him. What a sweet and fun person. He made sure my daughter had a great time. This resort is a solid 4* resort, and I would definitely return. The pool view is a million dollar view and the location of the resort is ideal.
I have not one complaint about the resort, and the only reason I would rate it a 4* is because it is showing signs of age, and I've been to mostly 5* resorts, the last one being at the Riu Palace Mexico. Since the staff at this resort truly made it a memorable one, I will definitely consider this resort again if I decided to stay in Playacar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower level, since the air conditioning works better in those rooms, as oppose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I was at Allegro Playacar Apr 26-May 03. The resort was very welcoming and the grounds were very well cared for. The staff were all great at all times of the day. You are always taken care of. The food at the breakfast and dinner buffets was very good, lots of choices and well prepared. The best burgers in the Caribbean in the afternoon at the snack bar on the beach. The pools are almost next to the beach so you don't have to walk far to be anywhere you want to be. The beach was the best, a bonus for sure. Miles long and very wide with a beautiful view of Cozumel in the distance. The location was excellent too. You can walk into the town of Playa del Carmen in a few minutes.
The rooms are a little tired looking and could use some brightening up but they are clean and the maid service is great. On the overall, I had a fabulous vacation at this resort. Will go back again for sure.

Room Tip: Best room location is close to the beach. They are near the pools also and away from the entertainme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed with another couple and a few days before arrival, we contacted Erika to ask if anything special could be done for a our friend as it was his birthday the day we arrived. Erika responded to our emails so quickly and gave us the BEST, warmest, personal welcome possible! (Thanks Erika, with the help of Yvonne at the front desk!)

The staff at Allegro is the hardest working staff we have seen at a hotel and should be given kudos for their efforts - it really made our stay enjoyable!

The buffet was tasty and we loved the themed nights! Made going to dinner each night new and exciting.

As far at the resort itself, it had the nicest beach from what we saw, a great activities pool with awesome daily activities to partake in (we became a professional volleyball team the week we stayed!) Our rooms were cozy and comfortable and in the perfect location (ocean views).

Without a doubt we would all stay at Allegro again (hopefully soon too!)

Thanks so much Erika again (And Yvonne too!)

Room Tip: Be sure to be up early to claim a chair with some shade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CanadianTravel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We spent the week of April 20-27th at the Allegro. We had a great time and would really like to thank Erika and Yvonne for making sure that our group had rooms that were close to each other and for making us feel so welcome. The staff at the hotel is great. We were treated so nice by everyone there. A shout out to Victor and Jacobo at the pool bar, they made sure that our cups were always full. Our housekeeper Maria did a wonderful job keeping our room so clean and always making us cute little towel animals everyday. The resort is a bit older but we feel that it adds to the charm of the place. The only thing is that we wish they had more huts on the beach as we never did get one the whole week we were there, however we were right across from the pool so that was nice.
The food at the buffet for lunch and dinner was always good as was the lunch buffet at the pool.
We did not go to the two reservation resturants so I'm not sure about them. We had a great time and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had room 5215 and had a nice view of the ocean and the pool. It was an upstairs room with the tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the Allegro Playacar April 13-20 and loved! In all honesty, we cannot wait to go back. When traveling to Mexico, we always try to find smaller resorts because they tend to be near the ocean. We are not fans of giant hotels where it takes you 20 minutes to get anywhere…besides at a smaller resort, it’s much easier to meet new people around the pool…

Rooms: The rooms are small but we are not going on vacation to spend any time in the room except to shower and sleep. All we need is a place that is clean and the housekeeping staff did a fabulous job in that regard and the towel art was fabulous. We stayed in room 5512. It had a wonderful view of the ocean from the balcony and was close to the pool and beach. The buildings are 8-plexes with 4 rooms on the top and 4 on the bottom. Our room was on the 2nd floor. We asked to move to a first floor room but really liked the thatched roof and decided not to move. Our room did leak during a really heavy rain (it was raining sideways). The bed and floor got wet, but the staff came and fixed it so it really wasn’t a major deal… more of an annoyance and nothing we brought got wet. We actually plan to stay in this room again.

The food: The food was great. Every evening the buffet had a different theme. Our favorite was the Asian night. It was so good. We have read reviews where people say the food is cold, yet we never had a cold meal. Did see people fill up their plate and continue walking around the buffet for 5-10 minutes before sitting down to eat. This could be why their food was cold. The wonderful thing about a buffet is you can always go back more than once. We did not go to the Italian but went to the Mexican restaurant. The food there was wonderful! The lunch buffet was served down by the pool and always included a pasta bar and the grill with burgers and chicken….can’t beat it.

The staff: All were wonderful. Thanks to Erika for the wonderful room we had and the bottle of champagne on our arrival. It really started our vacation on the right foot. Erika was on vacation during our stay and we never got to meet and thank her but on our next stay, we will be sure to find her and thank her for everything. We would also like to thank all the bartenders at the pool bar. They were so attentive and we never went without a drink. A special thanks to Enrique at the sports bar/disco. He is awesome, always remembered what you were drinking and would take time to try and find a baseball game for you. The staffs at the buffet and the front desk were very nice and helpful. They do have a timeshare option if you want…we didn’t do it and they never bothered us…The one thing that I personally want to do is learn a little Spanish. It would make communicating so much easier. As I am visiting a different country, I should not expect everyone to know perfect English

Location: This is a perfectly located resort as it is right on the beach and within walking distance of Playa del Carman and Plaza Playacar. It feels very safe. We walked the beach to Playa (15-20 minute walk) and took a cab back. The cab ride was $7 USD. The walk to Plaza Playacar was about 5 minutes.

Final Thoughts: This is a 3 ½ star resort and for the price you pay, you get 5-star attention. One last thing…learn to tip and remember to say please and thank you.

Oh yeah….STOLI & PINEAPPLE for all!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DJB_JMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.6 km away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
22.2 km away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
36.1 km away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,404 reviews
4.1 km away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,752 reviews
21.0 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Playacar

Property: Allegro Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 7 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Barcelo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Allegro Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Occidental
Playacar Resort
Occidental Playacar
Playa Del Carmen Allegro
Allegro Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing