We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME TIME AT RIU YUCATAN EVEN WITH HURRICANE SCARE...”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #63 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We visited Riu yucatan in October when Hurricane/Tropical Storm Rina was circling. The hotel was "more" than prepared as she never ended up causing much damage; however, I will say that the management was certainly on top of things. We loved Riu Yucatan - It is not overly large, but the staff made the place "fun". The baked cheese cakes were to die for and were served most meals. The bartenders and entertainment staff were great. The buffet wasn't as large as some resorts where we've been, but the food was always good. The food at the beach grill I didn't find quite "up to snuff" - I think they could improve a bit in that area. I did miss not having mimosas readily available in the morning at the buffet. Try the shots....they are a specialty here and lots of fun! We had a blast at the theatre area at night with Benito and Florencio:) They serve a liquor similar to Bailey's called "willy's" - It was good in the evening. They made Ceasars in the lobby bar and they were quite good - a bit different than Canada but we still enjoyed them. We didn't care for the Japanese restaurant at all but liked the fried ice cream. We enjoyed the steak and spanish restaurants. The homemade salsa and guacamole is to die for:) I took my own coffee maker to use in the room. I do wish they would have been supplied. There was excellent free wifi in the lobby. We walked over to Riu Tequila one day to check it out - I found it a bit to "closed in" and jungly for my liking but was nice as well. Overall, we had a wonderful time, and will most likely return one day:)

Room Tip: we were in the villa near the lobby and thought it was great. #7 I believe...8 and 9 are quite far o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,741 - 2,747 of 6,022 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The food was fabulous. The pool and the beach were beautiful. The staff incredible. The entertainment was amazing. I can't say enough about this trip. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gayle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at the Riu Yucatan at the end of January/beginning of February and I would highly recommend the resort overall. I would agree with the many other reviews - noisy rooms, damp smell and slightly dated buildings but it delivers value by providing really good food, direct access to a brilliant beach and good variety of entertainment and water sports. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and asked repeatedly if we were OK with everything.

Room Tip: Any of the blocks in front of the swimming pool are extremely noisy until 11pm at night - try and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SDtraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Riu Yucatan. Having checked out all the hundreds of other reviews we emailed ahead and asked for a room in a quiet block away from the entertainment, however we were put in block 5 just back from the entertainment and on the main walk through, the room had a damp smell and there was constant noise throughout the day and night. After a day and a half we asked for a move and were efficiently moved into block 7, the guy on reception was fantastic so don't be afraid to ask for a move as they realise different people want different things. If you want peace and quiet ask for block 7, 8 or 9. The resort is like a well-oiled machine, staff everwhere, cleaning, gardening etc and it can sometimes feel a bit too much as it doesn't always feel relaxing to sit on your balcony listening to the leaf blower! The rooms are cleaned daily and you will be entertained with some amazing towel art! There are plenty of towels, toiletries (if u want them) and the fridge/optics are replenished every couple of days. The beach is beautiful and lovely to walk on, however the sunbeds were the most uncomfortable things I've ever laid on! We walked to Playa del Carmen along the beach about 30mins at a stroll! You can do it by road too which will take you past some ruins if you are ruin minded!
Playa del Carmen is worth a visit but it 's a bit touristy to start with, street vendors always either know you, you've been in their taxi or they're the waiter at your hotel! The further up 5th Avenue you go the less hassle you will get in shops. The jewellery is a bit iffy, be careful about what you buy as lots of it is not solid/stirling whatever they tell you.The entertainment staff work very hard day and night and the shows were very professional, although a lot of what goes on at night on the stage apart from the main show can be a bit difficult to understand as there are so many languages to cover! The drinks are "interesting" some are made with a pre mix and don't taste of anything at all e.g. pina colada, tequila sunrise, others are ok, you just have to find something you like! Mojito's were my guilty pleasure! The food was exceptionally varied and there was something for everyone, however lunchtimes were a constant round of burgers, hotdogs and chips as other people have commented on which did wear a bit thin some days. My husband loves fish and our hotel served the same fish day in day out, however we mixed things up a bit and went to the Playacar at night and their fish was fantastic! Not sure we were supposed to do that but we did and had fab fish!! Give it a go! Playacar was good at lunchtimes too. The Tequila across the road was ok for a drink at night and there is a sports bar here with pool tables, gaming machines and sports channels. It was a strange room with no atmosphere and nobody seemed to use it much! The Tequila was very busy and the guests here have use of the beach/pool at the Yucatan which did sometimes lead to a lack of beds. It was always a bit hit and miss and was better later in the day. We didn't see many people tip at the bar and we only tipped our cleaning guy who was great. We used 50% deet for the mossies however you must spray day and night or you will get bitten. We had some morning bites in the first couple of days and sprayed before we went to breakfast after that. I pay tribute to the couple who put in their review that they used vodka as a deterrent which works a treat and doesn't clog your skin like deet! Sorted! Finally, trips are a total rip off! It is cheaper to hire a car, go by bus or book at an independent agent in Playa del Carmen. We shared a car (900 pesos) with Frank and Sue from Michigan to visit Tulum and had a fantastic meal on the way back in Akumel? Drive right down the end of the road as far as you can and there is a great restaurant on the right looking out over the sea. There is something for everyone here and you can never please all of the people all of the time, however, we had an interesting and relaxing holiday with no major complaints.

Room Tip: Block 7 near reception and tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Dixyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We are presently staying athe Riu Yucatan in a second floor room (4204) due home on 13th Feb. Our stay at the hotel has been very enjoyable. The standard of cleanliness is very high in both rooms and public areas. The staff are all excellent. The food is also of a very high standard and there is lots of choice, we are very impressed. There is entertainment on each evening in the theatre and also during the day. The entertainment staff work very hard to keep guests entertained. All in all a good holiday, however as we are non smokers and my partner has a serious chest condition we are somewhat disappointed with the smoking policy in the hotel. People smoke in all public areas, inside and out, even in some restaurants sometimes around children. Perhaps the hotel could provide areas where smokers can enjoy smoking without inflicting smoke on others. We have had to move tables during dinner and lunch and also during perfomances in the theatre where the smoking is at its worst. All in all a good holiday in a nice hotel, it is just a shame that rius smoking policy has made our experience here less enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed at RIU Yucatan for one week in january. We enjoyed our holliday alot and the stay at the hotel was without a doubt the best choice. The hotels location was fantastic!! When we arrived we were given room in the 8 block which was relatively far from the beach. We spoke to the reseptionist and with no drama at all we were changed to the 4 block that are located by the swimmingpool and the beach. WOOOW!! The beach and the pool was paradise as well as the surroundings at the resport itself. Just loved the monkeys playing in the plam trees around the resort. The main resturant was unbelivable, variety and quality just superb!! The chinese resturant was exelent to!! The mexican resturant however was nothing spesial and lacked both athmosphere, variety and quality of food.

Service was great from all the hotel staff, but the thompson rep was unfortunatly not helpful at all. It did not affect our stay at all as there were plenty of other companies selling all kinds of excursions. To sum up, we just loved every minute of our stay!!

Room Tip: low numbers are closer to the beach, just make sure it is not in the noisy part as the entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank lindafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and enjoyed every minute. The staff are all very happy and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Food was very good and the choice was good. Thomson reps very helpful and friendly and always on hand to sort any problems or questions we had. Kia was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the bar crawl with her and the other reps well worth it!! The wildlife at the hotel is very entertaining especially the monkeys who were out and about everyday!
The rooms are a little dated however contain everything you need and are spotlessly clean. Our cleaner left us different towel animals everyday and at one point we had a collection of 4!
The coba trip was excellent and the tour guide was very knowledgable, the climb to the top of the Mayan pyramid was well worth it but did have achy legs for 3 days after!
All in all we had a fantastic time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank asc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,217 reviews
0.5 km away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#54 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
8,252 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#35 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#47 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,675 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#50 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
6,812 reviews
0.4 km away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#59 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $291 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing