We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexico March 2012”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #63 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

just returned from our 3rd trip to the riu yucatan, the last time we went in 2008 there wasnt any beach left, what a difference the beach has been reclaimed and looks great again, even walked along the beach to the port in playa car, extremely hot so take extra sun lotions (went through 9 bottles!)as very expensive there, you must visit the Asian Restaurant at the yucatan its lovely , didnt go much on the steak house I had a plateful of gristle when we went, unfortunately we didnt realise the first week was spring break for the Canadians/Americans and boy oh boy can they be loud!! had a lovely quite room block 3 far away from the entertainment so no noise can be heard, enjoyed seeing the monkeys in the trees again always great to see, take beach shoes if you are going walking along the shore I cut my toe badly on the 1st day. alll in all had a GREAT 2 WEEKS , was told to take mexican pesos which we did but euros and american dollars are accepted, mind you better value when you buy anything and pay in pesos, I always have a problem with the pillows being too stuffed so now I go prepared with sharp scissors and needle and thread and remove what ! dont need ! Food and service excellent as usual, all the staff are great , gardens are well looked after,

Room Tip: Block 3 by the tennis courts nice and quite
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bikerchiclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,838)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Yucatan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,586 - 2,592 of 5,838 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

Absolutely stunning hotel, staff really friendly. Beautiful room, food excellent and great beach. Entertainment out of this world, better than some west end shows I'd been to

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lady_well_travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Our group included four adult couples and four high school senior boys. We stayed at Riu Yucatan from Sunday - Saturday. Both check-in and check- out went smoothly. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. The resort grounds were very clean. The beach was perfect for both sand (volleyball) and water (boogie boards, kayaks, sail boards) sports. We were always able to find beach and poolside lounge chairs. We brought our own thermal mugs which saved trips to the cantinas and were eco-friendly. The resort had an evening show each night - the shows we saw were entertaining. We especially liked the Michael Jackson show. The resort had three "special" restaurants - reservations were required but only available for same day seating. The Asian restaurant was a favorite; steakhouse was ok; Mexican restaurant was unremarkable - probably not worth getting up early for reservations. The dinner buffet was extensive - we always found something tasty (the homemade chips, guacamole, and pico de gallo was awesome). The rooms were adequate. The beds were hard; the temperature a bit warm, and the bathroom had a wet floor. We only got enough towels if we asked everyday. There was a family of monkeys that liked to growl very loudly at about 5:00 am outside one of the families' windows. We have stayed at four other resorts in this area. Although this was our least favorite resort, it was pleasant, had fun activities and decent food. We had a very enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Espressomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was our 4th RIU Hotel we have stayed at and by far the BEST. This hotel is on one of the best beaches I have ever been. The water is great and NO ROCKS...The The gardens have a jungle effect with monkeys and various other animals and birds the rooms are kept clean and spotless by the staff. Definitly need a matress pad on the beds...makes a big diference. The refrige is kept stocked and 4 bottles of alcohol hanging as the RIU always does.
Food: A huge selection of food with several live cooking stations one of the best breakfast selections I have come across (made to order omelets and fruit is always fresh) Lunch and dinner had a fantastic selection and after a week there had a different meal everynight at the buffet. The speciality resturaunts were not worth getting up in the morning to sign up for...steak place was ok but Asia and Mexican were GROSS...walked out and went to buffet after tasting the main meal.
Pools and bars were great and staff were very friendly and very helpful when needed. Very saft=e to walk around and enjoyed the 30 min walk downtown. 7 dollar taxi ride back was worth it. FELT VERY SAFE and had no issues.

Room Tip: request building 5 or 3 if you want to be close to pool and beach...maybe noisy at night from shows...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel was lovely - usual RIU standards. The lovely beach was not private but very little annoyance experienced from traders passing through.Drinks dispensers in rooms very handy for nightcaps. Lots of wildlife around the hotel which was great, you can look but they don't come too near. Mexico was the star - loads to do. Captain hook pirate ship was great fun - well worth a night out. Jungle speedboats was fantastic - you get to drive mini speedboat through mangroves out to open sea where you snorkel in area of shallow water. Best day out ever! Lots of adventure parks, beaches and activities everywhere...you can do everything or nothing there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just returned after spending two weeks all inclusive at the Riu Yucatan in Playacar. I know it's long haul and the flight of eleven hours might put some off going, particularly for some winter sun, but I can assure you this hotel is worth the time, money and effort. Our room was comfortable, spotless and cleaned to a very high standard every day, the grounds are kept beautiful by the gardeners (be prepared for howler monkeys in the trees, and other wildlife wandering around - don;t worry nothing dangerous, it just adds to the charm). Food is freshly prepared with plenty of choice including steak, Mexican and Oriental speciality restaurants, waiters really friendly and nothing is too much trouble, very efficient service in all the bars (cocktails, shots and international spirits are all part of the all inclusive package as are optics dispensing rum, vodka, gin plus lemonade, pepsi etc in the rooms). The evening entertainment/dance shows are very professional with a Mariachi band playing after the show till late on several nights,

The hotel is set in a secure area so no worries about daytime or late night walks to go shopping, sightseeing, visiting other Riu hotels nearby - Playacar is about 25 mins walk either along the beach or the road - a taxi costs about £4 each way. Be warned souvenirs etc are not as cheap as you might think!

So, if you are after hot weather, plenty of sunshine, good food, service, entertainment and value for money in a safe environment then the Riu Yucatan might be just the place to go. However, be warned this is not the place for a quiet chill out holiday since the Yanks can be a bit "loud" particularly during the day round the pool and sometimes when returning to the hotel after a late night in town.

The Yucatan is on a wonderful caribbean beach with watersports provided at extra costs

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Essexboy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We were here for 10 days (7th March to 17th March) for our honeymoon, and we had a great time.

The service provided by staff here is simply superb; we had a couple of problems that were addressed immediately (ceiling fan didn't work, turned out we weren't pressing the right combination of switches, TV didn't work, they swapped it out. Still didn't work but it didn't affect our stay too badly!)

Things you need to be aware of, the bugs here as mean as the devil himself! I was bitten twice on my right calf on our FIRST night, which then led to a cellutitis infection meaning that I couldn't walk for 4 days, had to delay our excursions and spent 5000 pesos (just over £250) on medical treatment. So make sure that you get bug spray as soon as possible, or ask them to spray your room in advance of your arrival. They do not have zappers in the rooms, though by god they'd be a benefit. My wife was similarly chewed on and had a very irritating reaction, though fortunately it wasn't as bad as mine. So watch out for those, the bugs aren't necessarily big but you definitely feel them bite! Incidentally, the doctor here is VERY good and took very good care of me! He was expensive (check your insurance excess before you go!) though was fluent in english and easy to understand. He did everything to ensure that my treatment was painless as possible which is great for a needle phobic such as myself. He does cover multiple hotels in the area though so take a deck of cards or a book while you wait.

The food was mostly above average in the main Hacienda restaurant (this being where all 3 meals are served) - I didn't have a massive problem with runny eggs, frankfurters and lumps of crispy bacon until the 4th day. There is a damn good selection of food to be had, though it doesn't really change. I thought we'd struck gold when they served sausages good enough to pass an english mans tastes, though they were never seen again after that!

The Steak House a la carte restaurant is exactly where you want to be, though you need to be prepared to queue from the very early hours to get a seat; they have 2 sittings of approximately 20 tables and these are filled up in no time. The chinese a la carte restaurant is also very good quality though the selection isn't as varied as you may expect.

Drinks are mostly superb; a useful phrase for those on soft drinks is "menos hielo, por favor" (Less ice please) as the ice melts in no time and just waters your drinks down. They FILL the cup with ice, so that's a pretty tasteless pepsi when watered down! Service is fast, even in the evenings when the bars are swamped and the staff always smile.

The Animacion Team did a good job to say that they were catering to 3 or 4 different languages at a time and there was plenty going on (we lounged instead of taking part though). The evening shows were a liiiiittle dull after a while as it was mostly pressing play on a CD player and dancing / miming (usually badly) to the sound track of Grease, Moulin Rouge, Abba back catalogue etc... Essentially very cheesey, not very entertaining but a good way of killing those evening hours. HOWEVER, it's worth remembering that the team is dealing with a multi cultural audience so I'm not sure they could have done much more, though a live band playing the tracks would have been preferable to a cd player, just to add a little more skill to be appreciated!

They were always cleaning too! The beach, the pool, the reception, anywhere you can think of there was always someone cleaning there!

We had a bad experience with Scuba Caribe, the on site water sports company. They're a PADI certified dive centre, though didn't give us enough weights to keep us down, so both of us had little or no control over our depth. My wife was hand held all the way round until I signalled that I was in the red zone on air (due to having to fight hard to stay down and over exerting myself). Our guide, Carlos, let go of Linz to deploy his rescue kite (an inflatable rocket that shoots out of the water to bring the boat to you). In lettign go of her though, she rose straight to the surface without any breaks to equalize, and putting her in danger of lung over expansion - she had no way to prevent the ascent, though Scuba Caribe did, before we went down. I should also mention that when we broke the surface (I raced after her) we were surrounded by ket ski's and were in danger of being hit. So not a great dive company and I'd recommend against using them - they had our lives in their hands and failed to provide adequate protection. Our guide hid himself away in a back office after the dive as he knew he'd failed, I didn't get chance to complain at the time as no one else spoke enough english to understand me though I will be complaining to PADI directly about them.

So there we are, the hotel's great, the food not so much though is at least edible, the bugs are evil, and the scuba guys give bad advice and won't look after you! On the whole though, I've given Riu Yucatan a 4/5 as Scuba Caribe are not part of them directly, and there was always something to be eaten that you could like!

Room Tip: We were in 3308, it was pretty central to everything without being too noisy
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Si K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,025 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,542 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#55 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,032 reviews
17.7 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,722 reviews
20.7 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $270 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing