We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip to PDC”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #62 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just returned from a 7 day stay at Riu Yucatan. This was our first stay with the Yucatan but certainly not our first visit to the area. Last year we stayed at Riu Palace Mexico, just next door to the Yucatan and in comparison Yucatan is a smaller and simpler hotel, but you get what you pay for. Never the less, we had a pleasant stay. The grounds of the hotel were spotless, the rooms were small but clean, very basic but had everything you needed. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. We called the front desk when we ran out of bottled water in our fridge and more bottles were delivered within 10 min. time. The day we arrived the air conditioner wasn’t working in our room, again, we called the front desk and a gentleman from maintenance showed up within 15 min. and took care of the problem. The evening shows were OK, the regular All-Inclusive type. All in all this was another great trip to Playa del Carmen. I would’ve given the Yucatan a 5 star but the only thing we were dissatisfied with was food, not the quality of it, it just lacked variety, but maybe we got spoiled by Riu Palace experience last year. I recommend going to the town, 5th avenue is a great place to shop, meet new people and just browse around, it’s a very safe area. The most amazing feature of this hotel is the beach, absolutely beautiful, very wide. Even with the guests from Riu Tequila across the street sharing the same beach, there was always enough room for everyone. The ocean was absolutely amazing, deep in some spots and shallow in others, perfect for all levels of swimmers. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family but probably won’t be coming back to this hotel next year….will probably try the Iberostar chain next time.

Room Tip: Stayed in building 3 first floor, facing Iberostar Tucan. Very quite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ikolomiyets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,629 - 2,635 of 5,961 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Impressive reception and a speedy check-in en-mass with the rest of the holdaymakers from Thompsons. Great flights from Birmingham food on flight just OK £60 to sit together a bit steep and another £5 to watch premium movies £2 for a coffee and the cost adds up. Room fit for purpose TV old and in need of an upgrade. WIFI in room £140 for 2weeks about the same as I pay for a year at home. Room kept clean - towels sheets changed regularly - drink optics in the bathroom!! Food very good if not excellent something for everyone no matter what you like. Standing out was the main buffet Resteraunt which we preferred over the speciality ones which lacked a bit of atmosphere and menu choices. Daytime activities kept us amused and the shows were a good way to get to know a few people after dinner. Howler monkeys were a bit of a suprise but they moved on after 2 days waking us at 5.30am..... Weather was superb beach pool then pool beach that's all we did with a bit of reading in between. A very relaxing break which we really enjoyed. Sunbeds ok if you get up early and soak up the early morning sunshine. Not many kids about - teenagers got a bit noisy as the drink took hold by late afternoon. Main gripe scruffy individuals who do not dress for dinner should be segregation scruffs in one area and those who have made the effort in another.

Room Tip: Early to bed early to rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank flavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just spend 11 nights at RIU Yacatan and was expecting the hotel to me more exclusive than what it was. The hotel facilities, food, drink and staff were excellent though. There is a main buffett restaurant which has an amazing choice of food, just a shame everyone gets so engrossed in food they end up bumping into each other..... eyes bigger than their bellies doesn't apply, as their bellies were big! There are also 3 other restaurants which you can book i.e. Asian(best), Steak(OK) and Mexican(quite tasteless) but all are worth a visit.
There are 2 pool bars... one before you head down the steps to the beach, this was was full of 20year old americans the whole time thinking they were cool, the 2nd pool bar was nicer. There are also 2 other bars not in the pool which are open all day. The list of drinks are great, together with all the cocktails; we went through the whole list; all the brands of drinks are branded and not local brands which was great. There is also an optics in your room and full mini bar which is replaced every 2 days for free.

The pool area is OK but quite noisy which was good but not if you want to relax, the entertainment team are on hand throughout all the day and you can hear everything from the beach going on. They work really hard to try and get everyone to play games and to get involved.
The beach is down a few steps and the glorious white sand and crystal blue sea are glorious. There is NO snorkelling however on your door step, we did manage to walk to your right when going onto the beach and away from the hotels and found a reef about 10-15mins which was ok. You can walk all the way along the beach to your left and go as far as you can, where the ferry is and Playa del Carmen town is... really nice walk and takes 30-40mins.
You can also go to 3 other RIU hotels, 2 are less than a 5-10minute walk but another one was a about 30mins, didn't bother going to that one. The entertainment at all the hotels are OK but mainly based for familys and the local entertainment team trying to get everyone up on stage.
We went out and about on various trips which were good; however to do any trips it is expensive, so do not be surprised. We undertook all the trips ourselves and didn't book with the hotel or the reps.
You will enjoy as great hotel, entertainment, food, drinks and location but it is not a 5 star.
HAVE FUN

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jublylovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Six months ago we stayed in the nearby Riu Tequila and had a great time. We'd have stayed there again if Thomson had let us book it for this week but they had no availability so we booked the Yucatan. Mostly, I'll be looking at the differences between the two hotels.

Overall
Despite the fact the Tequila aims to attract more younger guests, we found the Yucatan was a lot busier, noisier and holiday-club-like. The pool area was packed every day and suffered terribly from the ignorant guests who arrived before breakfast to put their towels on the loungers. There were never any free all day from about 8.30am unless it rained even though people weren't using them. There are signs telling people not to do this but there's no enforcement. The rooms, food, drinks and general ambience are otherwise pretty similar. The Yucatan is right on the beach but we never found the short walk a pain at the Tequila.

Entertainment
The entertainment staff are uniformly great. They work long days and genuinely give the appearance of having a good time. The show starts earlier at the Yucatan (around 21.45) so we saw it in full on a few nights whereas the 22.30 start time at the Tequila defeated us. At 10am the entertainment staff gather at the pool, shake your hand and do a dance. It does make you feel welcome and they didn't do this at the Tequila. You cannot fault the staff, they're great and you don't have to join in anything if you don't want to. The music and activities round the main pool make it feel busier than the Tequila but this could be because the pool layout is more separate at the Tequila with activities on the other side of the central restaurant. I don't know how much is determined by Riu and how much is the fact that the staff are Mexican but they do go out of their way to make you feel that it's a good place for a holiday.

Food and Drink
Exactly the same at both hotels. Better buffet than you'd imagine for this price range all-inclusive. Cocktails are not great compared to bars in town. The steak restaurant was surprisingly better at the Yucatan (maybe we just had better steak) and we tried the Asian and it was fine for a change but we had low expectations. I'd still advise anyone to eat out in Playa del Carmen at least one evening to vary the menu otherwise you'll get sick of your plate piled high every day with a mix of foods.

Rooms
Rooms are pretty much identical between the two hotels with the same minibar and optics, shower area and TV. We had a second floor room this time that felt less humid than the ground floor at the Tequila. You get the towel animals made if you leave money. We noted that there are rooms directly facing the stage at the Tucatan. This would be a nightmare for anyone but teenagers who want to be awake until after the show ends at midnight or so. If allocated such a room, I'd ask to change.

Animals
The Tequila's racoons delighted us last time but they are nowhere to be found here. Instead you get lots of R.O.U.S.s scurrying around and we saw the monkey twice. He was quite tame and you could hold his hands while he gnawed your fingers (teeth not sharp). I liked this.

Internet
A change at both hotels since we were last here. There's free wifi in the lobby limited to 90 minutes a day. Otherwise there's a new, more extensive paid-for wifi network available that reaches some of the rooms for an incredible 200 pesos (£10) a day. I can't imagine it's used much at that price.

Excursions
We haggled at the booth outside the row of shops by Starbucks for the Chichen Itza day trip and got it for 750 pesos each. Doubtless you could get it for less but it's still a saving off the price from the reps. The Cenote was the lowlight of the day. Incredibly touristy and looked quite unpleasant to swim in so we didn't. We also went scuba diving with the approved diving company on the beach at the hotel and cannot fault them. They're more expensive than in town but they're just there on the beach so well worth the premium.

Conclusion
Difficult to choose between the two Riu hotels. I'd stay at both again (by contrast the Playacar and Lupita both seem smaller). Given you can use the facilities, restaurants and bars interchangeably there really is not much difference. On balance, I think I'd go back to the Tequila first because the pool area was quieter and you could get sun beds easier but this may have been a time of the year thing.

Room Tip: Don't take a room facing the stage. You won't sleep until the show's over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

first time to cancun area went there march 10-24 with friends. read some reviews before i leftand i have to say that I was impressed with the hotel and the food selection in the main buffet was awesome we were there for two weeks and i did not get bored with the selection at all.
The staff were excellent the entertainment was top notch and as for some of the complaints about the occasionall smell wake up you whiners its Mexico. I would highly recomend this resort for familys also as the pool staff always had time for the kids. If i had one complaint I would say the asian alacarte was a little dissapointing but not a vacation wreaker. I also want to say that if I did have a problem William at the front desk made it right, GREAT HOTEL,GREAT STAFF,GREAT FOOD, AWESOME HOLIDAY

Room Tip: if you need something or dont like something ask at front drsk they are very accomadating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We just returned from Riu Yucatan and my wife and I both had a fantastic time. After reading some of the reviews prior to going, we were nervous but we had an A++ time. Food, weather, resort, beach, service was superb. We walked down the beach twice to Playa del Carmen, which was a nice "free" excursion. Walked to Starbucks every morning which was a plus. The rooms are average, but we were only in the room for 6-8 hours a day, so no big deal. There was a nice mix of young, old, kids, spring breakers, couples, singles, etc. so there was something for everyone. We also toured the other Riu resorts (Playacar, Lupita, Tequila) and found that the Yucatan was by far the nicest property. Couldn't access the 2 Palace resorts, but they are much more expensive and I can't imagine you could get anymore value than the Yucatan offers. Going back next year and taking the kids!!

Room Tip: We were in block 4 (4117) and was very close to pool area and somewhat removed from the nightly ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

i stayed here with my husband for 2 weeks in june 2011 and this is a really good place to stay, clean, friendly and helpful staff and the food's excellent the buffet was always good with something for everyone, never had any problem booking into any of the other resturants which were also of a very good standard. no problem getting bar drinks as they had plenty of staff working in the evenings.this hotel is right on the beach and it is one of the best beaches i've ever seen, never any problems with locals selling things on the beach. I can't really find much to fault this hotel on but if i wanted to be picky i'd say that the room decor is a little dated, but how much time do you spend in your room on holiday anyway? it was not an issue for us. i would definately stay at a riu hotel again.

Room Tip: there are no lifts in this hotel but thats because its only 3 floors high. if you do have any mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5,152 reviews
0.5 km away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#55 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
8,190 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#50 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5,633 reviews
0.4 km away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#60 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,267 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#79 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $289 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing