We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed in”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #59 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Like all the Riu hotels I've stayed in this hotel was faultless. Lovely hotel, brilliant beach, fabulous location and the food was brilliant

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,664
    1,867
    711
    206
    125
See reviews for
1,505
2,594
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife & I booked the Riu Yucatan following a stay at one of the Riu Hotels in Marrakesh earlier this year. Our stay at the Yucatan coincided with my 60th Birthday. In advance my wife had emailed the hotel manager and asked for a high floor room in block 4, as a number of Tripadvisor reviews had mentioned this block as being far enough away from the activities, restaurants & reception as not to be bothered by noise or nuisance.

Despite our arrival being three hours later than scheduled, the checking in process was fine. A welcome drink, a quick introduction, wrist bands put on, room number stickers placed on our cases, room & safe keys handed over, & we were in our room, Block 4, Top Floor within a few minutes. The room & its facilities met our expectations. Two 4 foot beds together, plenty of wardrobe & drawer space. Large Bathroom area, separate shower & toilet, fridge, optics, hairdryer, safe, TV, iron & ironing board. Our cases were delivered within 15 minutes. The optics in the room are an advantage if you like a pre dinner G&T.

Our room was cleaned daily & sheets changed every two or three days. Towels, as many as you could wish for. Our maid (Francisca) was really good. She produced many different animal designs in towel art throughout our stay & left them on our beds; much to our delight she produced a birthday cake made up from towels having seen my birthday cards displayed around the room. We tend to tip our maids throughout the course of our two week holidays & with Francisca it was no exception. The odd 50peso note every three days was welcomed. Our mini fridge was replenished every second day.

First evening, we ate in the Hacienda -Main Restaurant, (buffet style). No problem finding a table, plenty of choice & the staff were on the ball! As for the “al a carte” restaurants, we had no difficulty in booking a table in any of them during our first week at 8.30am. The second week was a different matter as we observed one morning when we were up early for an excursion to Chichen Itza. A queue had formed from around 7am & the Steak Restaurant & the Mexican Restaurant were fully booked by half past seven in the morning. The Asian Restaurant was normally available for bookings at both sittings. We ate at the Steak Restaurant on 3 occasions; one for my birthday, the waiters sang happy birthday in Spanish & presented us with a small birthday cake. I can recommend both the Rib-Eye and the Sirloin Steak. The Mexican Restaurant was fine & we ate there twice. The Asian which is mainly inside is all self service but if you like “sushi” & good Chinese cooking you will not be disappointed. The deserts are the best of the three restaurants. We ate in the Asian Restaurant twice.

The bars at the Yucatan are plentiful both day & evening; & if you want branded spirits, you only have to ask!

Apart from a walk along the beach to 5th Avenue, Playa Del Carmen, we spent our first week in & around the pool area & we found no difficulty in securing a couple of sun beds before 9 in the morning. In our second week it was a different matter. A walk on the beach before breakfast at around 8 in the morning found all but a few of the beds around the pool area with towels on. Unfortunately as with many hotels we found reserved beds unused for many hours & in some cases not at all! This is an area that the hotel may need to address. We did find that a lot of guests from the Riu Tequilla were using the Yucatan’s facilities & this added to the sun bed problem, again mainly in our second week. The additional day time guests also impacted on restaurants at lunch time, but we found that by waiting until around 2pm you could easily find a table & there was always plenty of choice of food still available. As for our second week we booked a couple of full day trips with Maya Tours, an agent next to Starbucks in the small shopping precinct out of the Yucatan, turn right & about 300 yards down the road just up from the Tequila Hotel. Cheaper by a clear mile than the Thomson’s equivalent.

Overall we found everybody connected with the Yucatan very friendly & industrious. The manager was always visible and extremely helpful with arrangements for my birthday. The entertainment team were on the ball throughout the day around the pool & the beach area and were not obtrusive or pushy. In the evening, the shows were well put together & over the week there was something for everybody. The Michael Jackson Tribute show was particularly enjoyable.

We would return to this hotel in the future as we really enjoyed ourselves albeit a week or two earlier to miss the "spring breakers".

Room Tip: Block 4, top floor is quiet & far enough away from the entertainment/reception areas so as not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getawaykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, England, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have stayed in most of the Riu Hotels. this is one of the first to be built in Mexico. We stayed over New Year and for our wedding aniversary, the food is out of this world. The staff are very friendly and the entertainment team should receive medals! The activities programme is full with lots of stuff going on all day and the evening entertainment is excellent. My kids were safe and I was comfortable with the kids club.

My husband and friends used the gym which was well equipped and booking at the spa was easy, we had massages at the beach which were very good

The beach streches for miles and is great for long walks and getting to the ferry port for trips to Cozumel. we also swam with the dolphins which was a fab experiance even for the little ones.

As we were leaving the last few nights the hotel started to fill up with younger groups who were loud until the early hours, which didn't bother us however did bother the friends we travelled with as thier room was near to the 24 hour bar at reception.

The only downside for us was the beds - they were really hard and uncomfortable, also the hotel would benefit from sea view rooms. Other than that would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CP80_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having read a number of reviews about the Riu Yucatan after booking it, I managed my expectations accordingly. Travelling with my husband and one teenager, we found the resort as follows:-

Our view only..........

Welcome – We arrived in the middle of the afternoon, welcomed with a refreshing drink and gathered with other arriving families for an explanation of check-in procedure and were given pre-prepared envelopes, one for each party, containing resort map, room key, safe lock and key, beach towel cards, and suitcase stickers with room number. Having been asked to place the suitcase stickers on our cases, they were sorted and duly delivered to our room minutes after we had located it. Very swift service.

Room – we had a room in Block 9, it was nicely decorated with 2 double beds, dressing area and en-suite. When the porter brought our cases to the room, he asked if we’d like a 3rd bed and 3rd chair for balcony area. He also provided additional towels, all within 1 hour of our arrival and no fuss. Our room was thoroughly cleaned every day, with fresh towels (bath, hand and face), fresh bedding at least 3 times during our 10 night stay and towel art/flowers/ruffles on a couple of occasions. We had a TV (American channels, BBC World News, films and sport), and the fridge (pop, beers, water) and optics (vodka, Rum, Gin and Tequila) were replenished regularly. The room had a safe (no additional cost), ironing board and iron, hairdryer, plenty of wardrobe spaces and hangers. Block 9 is one of the furthest away from the ‘action’ and therefore nice and quiet.

Gardens – The gardens around the resort are beautiful, extremely well maintained, with footpaths being swept almost constantly.

Wildlife – lots of agouti (look like big guinea pigs in high heels – cute but timid), we saw a couple of Coatis (racoon like creature), howler monkeys, Iguanas, pelicans, frigate birds, other tropical birds, geckos and a few cockroaches! WARNING: This resort is heavy with mosquito. Garden staff do spray the grounds on a regular if not daily basis, to try to ease the situation, but we were still bitten numerous times (quite possibly the worst place we’ve been for mosi attacks). A good quality repellent goes work.

Restaurants – choice of 4 - steakhouse, Asian or Mexican all to be booked from 07.00am (early risers will always get a booking) no restriction on number of visits to each venue. Steakhouse was good, buffet salad and breads, service main course and pudding. Lots of choice on menu – good ribs. Asian, all buffet with limited main courses but lots of good starters type dishes and soups – great fried ice-cream pudding. Mexican – buffet salads, breads and soups. Served main course and pudding. For all three restaurants, my tip would be if you want to sit and chat/relax after dinner, book the second sitting. (staff looking to move you on from first sitting if you out stay your welcome!) 4th venue is the international buffet – loads of choice, salads, veg, fish, pasta, meat (hot/cold), pizza, the list is endless, all buffet with drinks served. Breakfast in the restaurant – everything you can imagine – fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs, meat, cheese, pancakes etc. No-one will go hungry at this resort. It is great fun watching other people pile their plates mountainously high with some very strange food combinations. Staff very efficient with plate clearance. For basic ‘quick snack’ at lunch time, the pool side restaurant was perfect, with burgers, chips, paella, salads etc. After 10 days of this ‘variety’, which was a little school refractory in terms of mass catering we were ready for a food holiday!

Bars – plenty of choice, day or night, efficient, friendly service. Lobby bar quiet most of the time, more lively at entertainment area and during day at pool bars.

Entertainment – good variety day and night, we were not pestered to join in at all, but made welcome it we did, best bit was band and dancing on the beach it was great fun. Team work really hard to provide something for everyone.

Staff – All the staff were very friendly, polite and efficient, manager addressed welcome meeting and we saw him around the resort regularly. The cleaners worked especially hard, constantly sweeping, mopping and cleaning public area in particular, the place is spotless – even the seaweed is sweep from the beach! There are no glasses or crockery items left lying around as someone is always collecting.

Pool/Beach – The Pool area was busy, not at all quiet - but it was the Easter Holidays. Take a bed away from the swim up bars for a slightly less noisy experience. The beach is lovely, very clean, clear and slightly wavy ocean. We walked to Playa del Carmen (destination Senor Frogs!) in 30 mins along beach. It is a public beach so you do get a few beach vendors, selling hats, cigars and bracelets, but they are polite and leave you in peace if you say ‘no thanks’. Lots of beds from Yucatan, both in shade of palm trees and on open beach. Volleyball pitch and football plus sailing etc through hotel Team. The beach is a much more relaxing and tranquil environment to that of the pool area.

Sunbeds/Towels – There were plenty of sunbeds both around the pool and on the beach, however early risers get the best spots for all day sun worship. Towel exchange by pool is a quick service.

Internet – Free connection for 90 minutes each 24 hour period, lobby area users could be found on laptops, ipad, iphones etc pretty much at any time of the day or night.

Other parts of resort – Hotel Tequila, open for Yucatan guests, we were made welcome, and we thought this was busier than Yucatan. Good entertainment with nightclub from 11pm. A short cab ride to 5th Avenue (70 pesos/£3.50 per cab not each) to shops, restaurants, street entertainment etc and ferry terminal to Cozumel. Gym facilities at Yucatan are ok, although if you run get outdoors on pathways around Playacar, see the resort.

Tips –
1. If you like a quiet resort don’t visit this one during American/Canadian Spring Break.
2. Buy good quality mosquito repellent and use it!
3. No ‘best’ clothes required at Resort, don’t over pack (Airport check- in very strict on weight at Cancun on return journey, you will be charged at least £17 per kilo over your allowance – no negotiation)

Overall view of Riu Yucatan = good, nothing to dislike and staff work very hard for you to ensure your holiday is the best it can be. Playacar resort is a great beach holiday location, Mexicans are warm people and we’ll be going back but maybe not to Yucatan. We visited Riu Palace Mexico next door which looked lovely.

Other people have commented about its ‘star’ rating, Riu state 5*, First Choice state 4* I would agree that it’s not 5* (not for want of trying by the staff) and 4* is a more realistic if not generous rating by tour operators. You get what you pay for and the clientele matches.

Room Tip: Ask for room furthest from 'action' (pool and entertainment) for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Holidaysrus2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Riu Yucatan resort was excellent and we had a great time during our week there March 31-April 7, 2012. We especially liked the greenery and "jungle-sounds" at this property - they have done a very nice job with landscaping and giving it a tropical, lush feel. The friendly staff works very hard keeping the place clean and catering to the many tourists and their needs.

Our room was nice. We stayed in a junior suite in block 1, 3rd floor. I am not sure if we really needed all that extra space in the other half of the suite - would probably rent a smaller room next time and save some money. We found block 1 to be very quiet, and central to everything.

The buffet had excellent food. There is a Mexican food area in the buffet which always had interesting dishes and great salsas. There is no end to the variety and sheer amount of food available at the buffet. Plan to gain some weight.

Best part: The beach. Playa's beach is one of the best I've ever seen. Perfect sand, turquoise water, just the right amount of waves. We didn't even go into the pool once. Although the pool was beautiful and kept very clean, the beach was more fun.

Final thoughts: Our family enjoyed staying at the Riu Yucatan and felt it was a good value for the money. We would probably stay there again. However, it was a bit large and crowded for my tastes. if you're looking for a smaller all inclusive resort, less populated, with a more laid-back vibe you may want to check out other places like Akumal.

Additional tips/note on things to do: I would highly recommend getting out and taking some day trips. We took 3 different day trips while staying at Riu Yucatan.

Day trip #1 (our favorite): Rented a car thru the Thrifty representative in the hotel lobby (1,200 peses or about $100 for 24 hours). Very convenient and price was right. Drove a half hour south and visited Dos Ojos cenote to snorkel and see the pet monkey (snorkeling Dos Ojos was highlight of our trip). You may need to ask where the pet monkey is because he's across the parking lot from the cenote. Also drove down to Tulum (the town & beach, not the ruins) - highly recommend driving along the Tulum beachfront and lunch at Zamas restaurant right on the beach (south end of the beach zone). We then drove about 30 minutes inland to Coba ruins where we rented bikes, and then climbed the 12 story high Nohoch Mul Pyramid (another highlight of our trip). Finally, on our drive back to Playa we stopped in Akumal where we walked along the beach and revisited our favorite restaurant in the area, La Buena Vida. We would have liked to visit X'cacel beach (it is just before Akumal when driving North on 307) - an amazing state park beach and turtle nesting preserve. But we did not have time. I would recommend getting a very early start on your day if you are going to try to do all these things :)

Day trip #2: Xel Ha. Beautiful, natural setting with large lagoon and ocean inlet. Snorkeling was nice. Overall, expensive, but it is worth it to see Xel-Ha at least once. The $99 per person ticket price (purchased from the hotel lobby) included transportation and all inclusive ticket (snorkel gear, food and drinks included). Ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at Xel Ha and it was very good food (the Mexican buffet at La Cocina del Pueblo was our favorite - amazing regional cuisine).

Day trip #3: Cozumel - We used Hire a Driver for a Day. I would recommend hiring a driver or renting a car so you can see the whole island. The beaches on the eastern side such as Chen Rio looked amazing, but we did not have time to stop at them to enjoy. Also, next time, we'll definitely take a glass-bottom boat snorkeling tour. Snorkeling off the beaches from the shore was not very good - you need to get out to the reefs.

Room Tip: Block 1 was great - central to everything and quiet. We asked for mattress toppers (learned this fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MexicoStillRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

we vacationed here 10 years ago.....decided to try it again.....was as beautiful as the first time...staff is so friendly and helpful....food was fantastic everyday......Sara that checked us in was so personable and helpful anytime you needed info.....Penelope of the entertainers talked with us during the morning workouts in the pool.....very nice and so was all of her entertainment staff.....they put on fantastic shows at night.
will definitely vacation there again

Room Tip: we took the basic room package and asked foe some extras when we got there.....they did all they cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill31Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

just returned from a weeks vacation march 26th to april 2nd. Travelled with two of my daughters during spring break. We expected the resort to be busy and it was,but not unpleasant. People very friendly,food very good.There was a good selection of food and we tried all the a la cartes.The rooms were not as modern as other hotels but it was very clean. We had a room on 3rd floor and had a vaulted ceiling which made it feel spacious. The beach was great,wide white sand and no rocks in the ocean. We walked to Playa del Carmen, took about 25 minutes,took a cab back only cost 7 dollars. The dolpin trip was awesome my girls aged 21 and 15 loved swimming with them. I would return just for the beach. Lots to do, if you want to or just relax.

other

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annlew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
0.5 km away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#48 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,717 reviews
1.8 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,310 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,349 reviews
17.5 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Property: Hotel Riu Yucatan
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing