We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #62 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our third visit to this resort, but first time in a Riu hotel.We flew from Manchester and checked in our cases the day before. This was great, very quick and no que. Check in at the Yucatan very quick. Nice quiet room away from the night entertainment, room 4101. The food was excelent, so much choice. All the staff worked very hard and always had a smile on their face.Our two ten year old boys had a great time with the kids club, plenty of activities for all age groups. The night time entertainment was great, if you think about all the other nationalities that were there.We were sad when our holiday came to an end, we had a great time and can not fault this hotel at all.

Room Tip: ground floor, block 4101 at the end near pool snack bar.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chillywhinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,819)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Yucatan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,542 - 2,548 of 5,819 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed at the Riu Yucatan from April 7th to the 14th with my wife and two children ages 4 and 2. We really enjoyed this hotel and found the grounds to be very beautiful and the staff very friendly and always working hard to keep it clean and looking good. The room we had (1104) had a musty smell but otherwise was very quiet, clean and big enough for our family. The beds are not very comfortable and we all had bug bites. Lots of mosquitoes in our room for some reason. The beach was very nice with beautiful sand and amazing blue water. Beware of all the ciggy butts in the sand, they are everywhere. The pool was decent and there is a little wading pool (2ft deep) for the small kids. Its hard to find chairs if you don't arrive early in the A.M. though. The food was really good with a big variety everyday. We ate mostly at the main buffet for dinner and found it to be excellent. We tried the Asian a la carte and enjoyed it very much. The food at the beach restaurant (La Margarita) was okay for lunch, but its the same food everyday. Overall we had a great time at this hotel and would recommend it for families.

Room Tip: Close to the Tennis Courts is a quieter area if that is what you are looking for.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dicky6D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Just arrived back from the Riu Yucatan, what an amazing place.
Travelled with my wife a daughter aged 13.We met some great people thanks for your company Martin, Lorraine, Ashley and Libby and her family, I hope we can stay in touch with each other.
I will start with the flight, we flew with Thomson from Manchester and although the flight was over 10 hours all the crew made it a pleasant flight and the time went pretty quick.
On arrival at Cancun apart from the airport staff being rude we got through pretty quick and had no hold ups so were soon at our hotel.
I did email the hotel before we went to requset a certain block and a upgrade to a suite. I did get a response from the hotel Director Joseba Altuna who said he would do what he could. (Its worth becoming a RIU Club Member as we were allocated a suite in block 4 at no extra cost) and you get discounts in the hotel shops

The Hotel
The grounds are kept very clean and all the staff work very hard, the entertainment team start at 10am and don't finish until about 11pm.
There is plenty of wild life at this hotel, with monkeys, we saw approx 4 adults and 6 babies and some sort of guinee pig with long legs is the only way I can describe them and monitor lizards.
Try to avoid block 6 as this is outside the entertainment place, any other blocks seemed fine. I think the standard rooms are pretty much the same but if you want additional space request a suite, you get a separate lounge, sofa, additional TV and extra air con. you get a large bathroom with bath tub and shower. Room 4201.
Food in the hotel was good, the buffet restaurant always had plenty of choice at breakfast, lunch and evening meal. The 3 al a carte restaurants the only one which I would recommend would be the steak house as this is waiter service and the asian and mexican are self service. You need to book these at 7am on the day as they get filled quick normally 2 sittings 6.45pm and 8.45pm

The Beach
Well what can I say this is probably one of the best beaches i have seen

Pool
If you want to get a certain place every day be prepared to get up around 6.30/7.00am every morning, but if you are not bothered where you go then there are plenty of beds around the pool and even more on the beach.
The Americans volume control goes from Loud to Louder as they get drunk at the pool bar and their language gets worse (You know who you are!!!)This is only a small minority but please remember this is a family resort and it does get unpleasant.

Out and About
You can visit the other RIU hotels and drink and have lunch in them which we did, but you cant go in the RIU Palace which is a shame, but with all the choice of the Tequilla, Lupita and Playacar who needs the Palace.
Playa Del Carman is worth a visit 70 pesos in a taxi always ask the price before you set off and always ask for 5th Avenue thats where all the shops are. However there are a few shops next to the RIU Tequilla which is in walking distance.
We went on 2 trips
First trip - COBA Ruins which was a full day and you were aloud to climb the pyramid (this will be closed off in May as they want to preserve the history of it) The views over the top of the jungle were breath taking. We then went onto a Mayan village where we saw how people lived, its worth taking some writting paper, books, pens and pencils for the kids. and to end the day we went swimming in a fresh water pool to cool down.
Second Trip - Dolphin and Garrafon reef snorkling, Sailed across on a cattermeran and spent the morning with Dolphins, Manatise, Sting Rays and Bull Sharks and then in the afternoon on the reef at Garrofon snorkling, zip linning and relaxing in hammocks

This is a fabulous place and would recommend this to anyone
Thank you RIU and Thank you Thomson/First Choice

Room Tip: Any Block apart from Block 6, rooms are numbered in floors 1, 2 and 3. 1 being ground floor, 2 being...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GaryL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We husband, myself and 12yr old son stayed at the Riu Yucatan from 16th April 2011 - 30th April 2011. It was our first experience of an all inclusive hotel and also of Mexico.

The Yucatan lived up to our expectations, the food was excellent in the buffet restaurant but we were a little diappointed with the steakhouse. The staff all went out off their way to help, the entertainment team were great both day & night and worked very hard.. We enjoyed the special lunches etc that were often put on by the pool and the demonstrations of ice carving and fruit carving.

The beach was beautiful, always clean and not crowed, we enjoyed the walk to Playa del Carmen.

We went on a couple of trips which we booked at the little shopping mall next to the Tequila which was cheaper than through Thomson's, the trip to Isle Conte and Isle Murejes was awesome the snorkelling was amazing, the guides were brilliant as we had not done it before and were very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NewcastleUKPercivals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the Riu Yucatan over spring break this year. We had 2 adults and 3 kids ages 17,15 and 12. Lots of families were at the resort, no obnoxious college spring breakers. The beach was by far the nicest we have ever been to. Crystal clear water, soft white sand and NO seaweed. The grounds were spotless. Our rooms (we had two) were thoroughly cleaned every day, including the floors. Beds were hard like everyone says but didn't bother us since we were too tired by the end of the day to care. The bed is really 2 double beds pushed together to make one large bed with one headboard. No door on the bathroom, just a curtain but toilet has its own room with a door. In room fridges were stocked with soda, beer and water. They restock these every other day but if you run out before then just ask and they will bring up more for you. The steaks at the steakhouse were very good. You definitely won't go hungry there as there was appetizers, salad, soup, main course and dessert. The buffet food was slightly above average. The poolside snack bar again was average. You can visit the other Riu resorts (but not Palace) and we all agreed the food at Riu Tequila (right across the street) was much better. Atmosphere in Tequila's dining room was also much fancier. ice sculptures, a chocolate fountain once. One thing about the restaurants at Yucatan was you need to make reservations early in the morning (between 7:30 and 10, or until they are full), otherwise you will never get in. And there are only two options for dinner times, 6:30 and 8:45. There are several poolside bars but we were slightly disappointed there were no waiters or waitresses walking around taking drink orders. We have had this in the past at other Mexican resorts we have been to both at poolside and at the beach. That is the ultimate in laziness I know but a nice perk. Not a huge deal not to have it though. There were a lot of people from Riu Tequila that come over to use the beach since they don't have one by them. If you like to lay out on the beach you will have no problem finding lounge chairs as long as you are out there by 10. If you prefer to lay by the pool, then you should claim your spot by 8. We walked to 5th avenue for shopping but it was a lot longer than what we thought so we took a cab back, which costs $7. It's about a 5 minute drive by cab. All in all a nice resort, family oriented, very clean, awesome beach and water and great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mamasita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Loved the week at Riu Yucatan. It was spring break, but no "party animals" to ignore. The grounds are spectacular. Staff always working on the foliage. Insects yes, and 3 out of 6 got bitten. Benadry at night helps. Rooms clean and amenities always replenished. Alcohol in the room...I question if water rather than vodka. No taste nor burn whatsoever. However, go and enjoy. Don't be too picky, as is Mexico and not the Marriott stateside. Pool size adequate for all. Found people from the RIU Palace using the Yucatan pool, as they didn't like the Palace pool. Now, staying at any RIU, you can go to any other facility except the Palace. Lounge chairs packed like sardines around the pool. Please provide the chairs from the Palace to the Yucatan, so the peons have one. Don't make rules if not going to enforce. Men must wear slacks at the 3 alternative restaurants. I brought slacks, and would have rather worn shorts. Men did wear shorts despite the signage. Interesting, the teenage boys did too......shouldn't parents be teaching responsibility, and showing them as well? All 6 people in our party went to the steakhouse twice. Awesome! Flavorful and great cut of beef. Asian was wonderful. Mexican was OK, but lacked a course, and never told why. Even when we asked. The main buffet was super. Never had a problem there. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bartenders really hustle. Their ambition worth tipping. I would stay here again as know the facility and easier to really relax. If you want detail and look for it, you might be disappointed. Just go with the openmind of holiday and R&R!

Room Tip: No elevators if on the 3rd floor. Choose between the lobby/LaHacienda area, and then between the mai...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globe1961trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We took our three children, ages 18, 20 and 24 for their spring break in March ( 12 - 17) to the Riu Playacar. My husband and I had stayed at the Riu Palace in the past and had remembered visiting the Playacar pool bar and that it was so much fun. So we decided to try it with the kids. We were a little worried it would be crazy spring break stuff but realized they were in the cheaper Cancun area. However there were certainly kids there age to hang out with so they didnt feel like they were only with all adults all week.
Well, it was the best family vacation ever !!!! The grounds were immaculate, the food was delicious, always fresh and certainly many choices at the buffets for all of us. If you can't find something you like to eat then you would have to be a very picky eater.
Enrique at the pool bar was fabulous with the kids and knew what we wanted to drink without asking.
The lobby bartender, Alberto was also a great guy and always with a smile.
The entertainment staff- Carla, Maria, Oscar and Alex were always busy but never too busy to stop and chat with anyone and kept us all going with the many activities during the day and the shows at nite were entertaining as well. My son especially liked dancing with Carla at the end of our stay!!
Our rooms, we had 2, were both spotless and cleaned by Jesus Alberto and he did a great job with little towel figures left on the bed daily. A nice touch. We were in building 2 a the end of the hall and it was very quiet at nite. Beds were a little hard but the toppers helped and we were so tired that it didn't matter at all. We had requested a 2nd or 3rd floor room and gave us first floor on check in but quickly made the change without any issues. Any request we made during the week was promptly taken care of and there were not many. There was a musty smell but that is true in any warmer and humid climate.
The beach was clean, soft white sand, great waves and was the best beach in the nearby vacinity with very little seaweed. We walked daily and there was lots of seaweed being picked up by the gardeners at the other resorts which was kind of unattractive.
Anyways I can't say enough about this resort. We all had the best vacation with perfect weather, fun and sun all week.
Thank you to all the staff there for so much fun and memories with our 3 children. We will return.

Room Tip: The room we had in building 2 at the very end of the hall was so quiet. We faced the tennis courts b...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank way2muchfun52016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,016 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,534 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#55 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,013 reviews
17.7 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,714 reviews
20.3 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $270 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing