We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$385
US$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$517
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$584
US$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$448
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$583
US$258
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$15,600
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$486
US$344
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$665
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$562
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,278)
Filter reviews
6,278 results
Traveller rating
3,002
2,101
800
239
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,002
2,101
800
239
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsibiza poolhowler monkeysmain restaurantthomson repsgreat holidayquiet poolasian restaurantevery other dayswim up barcaptain hookplenty of sunbedsentertainment teamshower doorevening entertainmentpalm treesmain poolmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,810 - 2,815 of 6,278 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

WOW what a holiday! just got back this morning after a 2 week stay here......the fun never stops from start to finish, there's always something going on morning to night, the entertainment team work very hard to make sure everyone has a good time, the bar staff too and they always have a smile on their faces.
The food is very good too plenty of choice, our personal favourite was the Asian restaurant, less the Mexican we thought the food was a bit bland in there.
The wildlife is amazing always something running around or swinging in the trees to look at, my fave was the little guinea pig type animal with the what looks like high heels on, so cute.
The downside is the amount of mosquito's, with the hotel being in the jungle there in abundance & no amount of repellant deter's them, we also had a plug in which did nothing so most people get bitten.
The beach is to die for, very clean and the sea is beautiful & clean-there is seaweed on a morning but this is quickly cleaned up.
The experience upon arrival at Cancun airport was manic, with the majority of people pushing in to get out quickly, there is no proper queuing system so its more or less a free for all, it took about an hour & a half for us to get out, not something to look foreward to after an 11 hour flight!! the experience getting out was a lot more pleasant & efficient compared to 8 years ago when we were there......they don't search every single case now like they did then!
SO all in all a great time was had by all and I would definately reccomend this hotel

Room Tip: block 5, close to everything, we were in room 5124
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank minky1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We have just returned from spending 2 wonderful weeks at RIU Yucatan, I don't see how some people can complain about the hotel. Our holiday started flawless from the moment we stepped on the plane to arriving at the resort. We went for our daughters' 21st birthday and took her friend. I requested that we could have a top floor room and that we could be next to each other, this was honoured. We were in block 1 which was very quiet, away from the theatre and restaurants. The shows at the theatre finish around 11pm so there is little noise after that time anyway. These people who complain about the noise must be the ones who go to bed too early! Our rooms were kept clean by the staff, they work very hard, we left a tip for our cleaner everyday and the minibar was restocked every 2 days. The food at the hotel was very good, offering different themed nights each night, most of the meals were cooked fresh in front of you. The drinks are locally produced but if you want named brands then just ask for it.
The beach at Yucatan is beautiful, even though the RIU Tequilla uses the same beach there were still plenty of sunloungers available on the beach, around the pool there are lots of sunbeds however these tend to get 'reserved' with towels quite early even though there are signs around the pool area asking that they are not reserved.
We went for a few trips while we were there, Dolphin swim, Speedboat jungle tour, Columbus sunset boat, Captain Hook, Koba, Bar crawl, Coco Bongos. All these trips are great but a tip for anyone wishing to go to Coco Bongos - go VIP, we went VIP for our daughters 21st and we had a brilliant time, you have your own waiter who keeps you topped up with whatever drinks you want. The reason I say go VIP is because the second time we went was on the bar crawl which ends up at Coco Bongo, however as that is for ordinary area in the club we were that crammed in that we couldnt get a drink, not even room to stand so we ended up going straight out through the emergency exit.
We all had a fantastic time at RIU Yucatan and would definately recommend it. Cant wait to go back there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeanetteray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had never before stayed in an all-inclusive resort, so we didn't know what to expect. The buffet food, while not gourmet, had lots of choices and most of it was pretty tasty. We went to the Japanese Restaurant, which really was just another buffet and wasn't very good, so we stuck with the buffet. We opted for the suite, which we really didn't need and was immense. The bedroom was huge, there was a large separate sitting room, large bathroom, and foyer as you entered the suite. The decor was nothing special, however, and the beds were very hard. The grounds were well maintained. There was a lively atmosphere in the reception area, with guests and staff very friendly. The entertainment was very good and professionally done, with carribean dancers and an excellent Michael Jackson show. We liked the location because it was close to town, a short cab ride or a long walk. After this experience we decided to go to another all-inclusive a few months later.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed at the Riu Yucatan from April 18-25 and I loved every moment! The best part was definitely the beach; clean beautiful sand, plentiful seating, symmetrically placed palm trees and clear warm turquoise waters...what more could you possibly ask for?! Also, the hotel is located fairly close to Playa del Carmen and a jaunty 20 minute walk along the beach will get you there...plus you can stroll in the water! The food was alright and quite good for Mexico. We tried the steakhouse and the Asian which were both okay but I could've honestly eaten at the buffet every night. There was enough variety and the line cooks are always super friendly and efficient - there were usually no more than 2-3 ppls in line for them. We did 1 excursion to the nearby dolphinarium that set us back $100-ish but was definitely worth it. There are manatees which you don't get to see everywhere. The hotel seems a little dated (actual keys instead of cards) but it has a nice old-timey feel. And yes, the beds are hard, there is no getting around that. The staff here are wonderful - always helpful, smiling and make sure there's always something going on to keep guests entertained. The week we were there, there were vendors, singers and interactive games in the lobby as well as an auction and a showcase of towel art. The grounds are meticulously kept and there is an abundance of wildlife including monkeys, iguanas, coatis and agoutis (at least i think they're agoutis). Riu Yucatan, you've captured my heart and I would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: we stayed in block 7 and it was perfect! close to the lobby (and to the food) but also pretty close to the beach
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thrillhouse v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Not very friendly like I use to be in other Riu Hotels in the caribbean area. I recommend this hotel for the beautiful beach and for the scubadiving around

Room Tip: Take a pool view room
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews