We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$276
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$416
US$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$379
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$459
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$581
US$243
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$391
US$300
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$353/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$271
US$237
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$174
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,398
US$797
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,439)
Filter reviews
6,440 results
Traveller rating
3,076
2,151
826
245
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,076
2,151
826
245
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsibiza poolhowler monkeysmain restaurantgreat holidayquiet poolthomson repsasian restaurantevery other dayswim up barshower doorcaptain hookentertainment teamplenty of sunbedspalm treesevening entertainmentmain poolmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,917 - 2,922 of 6,440 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just returned home after an amazing stay at the Riu Yucatan, I had the best holiday ever, I can not say a thing bad about the place or the staff, I must recommend the fat cat trip. It was a half day with a great crew who looked after us from as soon as we stepped on to the boat.
Before our holiday I checked out the reviews, I was concerned due to some bad ons from the Americans....lol, there were alot of Americans there durring my stay, they had a ball but still said that they would complain ??? confussed.com. So if you are planning to visit this fantastic hotel, don't be put off by the Americans. I will be going back asap.

Room Tip: ask for blocks 6,7, or 8, very quiet
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Animal622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just back from Riu Yucatan, we absolutely loved it, one of the best holidays we have had. Could not fault anything, the rooms were lovely, food fantastic (especially the steak house)beach immaculate and all the staff are so friendly, helpful and genuine. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough, would go back tommorrow! Also found the airport fast and efficient both ways. Do not take any notice of negative reviews, this is an amazing place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kathym0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just returned from The Riu Yuccatan, where do I start? Well we travelled as a party of 6 people, ages ranging from 21 to 48. Arrived after a rather longer than planned flight, to a delightful reception area and a very speedy check-in, checked in and bags received in room within 30 minutes. I must agree with previous reviews that the rooms are not 5 star, but very clean, bed linen changed every day, excellent shower, so what else could you ask for when you get 5 star service. There's a minibar (free) in your room too, plus optics containg vodka, whiskey, tequilla and rum great to have a vodka and coke before dinner on your balcony.

Nothing is too much for these guys, service with a smile and I mean everyone from the bar staff, waiters, reception, cleaners, maintenance and gardeners they all acknowledge you with a smile and an Ola!!

The entertainment staff are awesome and work very hard, the evening entertainement was very good, some evenings better than others and 2 really stood out and were excellent - The Grease Show and The Micheal Jackson Show were 1st class.

The food - well it's all inclusive, but one of the best for food that I have been to with a large variety of food available, also 3 other restaurants from the Buffett, the Steakhouse was excellent. Plus you can go as often as you want, not limited at all, just that you have to book from 7am and they fill up pretty fast.

Pool area - great. Beach - fantastic, one of the best I've ever seen. Beds do fill up rather quickely around the pool and early too!!!!! But the beach there were loads of free beds. Oh and the odd monkey may appear in the trees it really adds to this place

Finally this was a fantastic holiday, relaxed and fun, no stuffy regulations about what to wear and what not to wear, except men must wear a t-shirt in the restaurants, shorts etc accepted. Oh and if you are of a dearing nature, try the 'Mexican Flag' tequilla shot, it'll hit the spot!!!!!!

Room Tip: No rooms have pool views, but are surrounded by gardens
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MrsFidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2012

A bit about us and our perspective: We are an American couple in our young 30's, traveling without our children, intent on relaxation. We do drink alcohol but are far from the "party" crowd. We chose the first week of May to avoid crowding, specifically lots of school age children.

CHECK-IN
We were greeted upon check-in by Helene, a nice French intern and sent to our room in Building 9. Building 9 is west of the lobby and just about as far away as you can get from everything. We asked for a room more centrally located and were promptly moved to Room 4102. Thank you Helene!

Upon arriving in our room, we discovered the toilet was broken and would not flush. Within 3 minutes of calling, maintenance was on scene and had it fixed in less than 5 minutes. We had to call maintenance on one other occasion when a breaker tripped and again, he responded within minutes. A++++++ for these guys!

The room was nicely decorated and very clean. House keeping did a terrific job each day! The beds are not the softest around, but are not AS BAD as people make them out to be. The safe box in the closet is decent size and capable of storing most valuables. Even though the mini-bar and fridge is stocked every two days, if you ask for additional Pepsi, Water, Etc, they will oblige.

THE GROUNDS:
You will find a consensus among reviews here about how well kept the grounds are and the diligence/courteousness of the staff. They're all accurate, lets move on...

This is a relatively large resort, frequented by travelers from all over the globe. As Americans, we were in a solid minority. There were numerous German and French guests, with a handful of English, Spanish and Russians. We did not mind at all mingling with other cultures, but my wife could have done without all of the cigarette smoke. Ironically, just about the only other Americans present, were the ones making fools of themselves in the pool bar, carrying on loudly and stupidly.

FOOD:
The Hacienda (buffet) featured a large variety of dishes, many of which are designed to cater to the palates of the European guests. Breakfast was the only meal we found to be a bit repetitive, but was tasty nonetheless. The Hacienda is indoors, air conditioned, with fans. You may also elect to sit on the patio if you'd like. We sat at the same table just about every time and Lazaro was very gracious and friendly.

The Margarita (poolside cafe) was decent. It is an open air dining room with a buffet featuring a limited number of items. It is a convenient place to enjoy a slice of pizza, a burger or soft serve ice cream cone. The guacamole is phenomenal!!

Ala carte...Reservations are made daily, at breakfast, in the Hacienda. Arrive a little early and you will have no problems getting them. I much preferred this method to those of other all-inclusives which book a week in advance. The Asian fills first, rightfully so, as it is the best.

The Shanghai while technically reserved as one of the ala cartes, is simply a buffet. The cuisine was nothing short of spectacular and our server Alex was THE nicest and most efficient employee we encountered. Ask for the Fried Ice Cream for dessert!!

The Steak House was pretty good, but nothing to get really excited about. It is in the Margarita cafe during evening hours and has a great view of the ocean.

DRINKS:
There are plenty of bars around the property, including two swim-up/pool bars. The drinks are served in miniscule plastic cups. There are two solutions 1) buy or bring a large cup of your own, which they will happily fill or 2) just ask for extras. I usually asked for 4 margaritas instead of 2. All you have to do to get the better/premium booze is ASK. There are no servers on the beach, you will have to get up and walk to the bar, the nearest of which is 50-100 meters.

BEACH:
Having been to Playacar, we knew the beach was going to be amazing! We were fortunate to have mostly calm surf, only a few periods of red flag conditions. Being a somewhat larger property, the beach area gets kinda crowded. I'm not certain, but I think some of the Riu properties that are inland, share this beach. Finding chairs for 2 was never a problem, we just occasionally had to drag them down closer to the water.

POOL:
We only got into the pool twice and only briefly then. The towel game is played here and the best poolside spots go quickly, as guests drape their towels over them around sunrise.

ENTERTAINMENT:
We were in bed by about 8 or 9 each night and never watched the shows. Fransisco from the dive shop was very friendly and pitched the complimentary beach activities as well as the others excursions on our first day. We used the free snorkel gear one day to feed the fish out on the beach. (take a piece of bread from the breakfast buffet to feed the fish)

OVERALL:
A tremendously positive experience! The only drawback for me was the size/number of guests; which has more to do with my tastes and is in no way the resort's fault. This is an excellent resort if you are looking for a relaxing get away. The staff is top notch, the food is sensational and the beach is exquisite.

Room Tip: We were in Building 4, which was near the pool and halfway between the beach and the lobby/buffet. DO NOT let them put you in building 9, which is close to NOTHING.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Got back yesterday from another fantastic holiday in Mexico.....we have previously stayed at Riu Caribe, Cancun and more recently, Riu Tequila, just across the road from Riu Yucatan. We chose Yucatan this time purely because of a slightly cheaper price and beachfront location......as expected, we had an amazing time!

The airport is a nightmare....expect to queue, queue and queue again....then expect to have your case searched....they pick on every other traveller....not sure what they are looking for, but they didn't confiscate our PG Tips or HP Sauce so RESULT!!!

On the coach you will doubtless be offered a nice cold beer at the inflated price of twenty pesos (one English pound).....our advice, TAKE THE BEER, it is the nicest beer you will taste all fortnight, on account of it being ice cold and you being hot, sweaty and very tired after your long flight!

At the hotel you will be greeted by a deskful of envelopes with names on, containing keys, safe keys, towel cards and information. Find the envelope with your name on, check your room number, write your room number on labels provided, attach labels to your suitcases, collect wristband and VAMOS (let's go)....you trundle off to your room and the bell boys will fetch your cases in about 10 minutes.

When you get to your room, get another beer from the fridge....maybe a vodka, rum, gin or tequila from the optics.....if not, water, pepsi, 7up or fizzy orange are also there for you to enjoy.

If your bed is a little uncomfortable.....don't bother with all this "ask for a matress topper" nonsense....we did ask for one.....it is simply the blue Riu blanket from your wardrobe folded neatly under your sheet.....you can sort it yourself if you put your mind to it!

Thnk that covers the boring stuff.....food is AMAZING you will NEVER go hungry....the staff in the bars and restaurants are all fantastic and can't do enough for you....ask for the branded drinks, Smirnoff, Johnny Walker etc. nobody minds! We did give tips, plenty don't, it is appreciated but not necessary....these people work extremely hard don't forget!

If you want to book one of the a la carte restaurants, you do need to be there at 7am, particularly if you fancy the steakhouse (which is the best one).....we ate there three times and it was faultless....we also tried the Asian, only average and no better than your local Chinese takeaway probably.

We have been to a lot of places and this beach is OUT OF THIS WORLD....amazing white sand, clear blue sea.....perfect! Sunbeds are limited though so don't trundle down at 11am expecting a bed to be free....disappointment will be yours!

The entertainment is the only thing that prevents our review from being a five star one. The main evening show only lasts for about 40 minutes and it seems that everything is just getting going at around 11pm but then everything stops. The only thing to do is go across to the Riu Tequila to the "nightclub".....dance and drink the night away til 2am...very tacky and cheesy but great fun!

Alternatively, you can make a short walk or taxi trip into Playa Del Carmen....loads of shops and bars.....we would recommend "Fusion" right on the beach, live music, cheap drinks....also "Tequila Barrel" on fifth avenue....well worth a vsit and to spend a few pesos out of the Riu comfort zone!

Amusing to see everyone in the lobby area on their ipads and laptops and phones, checking facebook, chatting on Skype......free wifi for 90 minutes a day via simple login, more than adequate!

Overall another FANTASTIC holiday....the rooms are in need of a little updating but how much time do you spend in your room....? Can't wait to go back....go ahead and ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY!!!

Hope you like our review, we are two English girls in our late thirties....any questions or comments, we look forward to hearing from you!

Room Tip: want peace and quiet? stay away from block six, unless you are prepared to take earplugs!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank ShazandLisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews