We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #63 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

just got back from 10 glorious days in the yucatan staff hotel animation team food brilliant yes we did find a couple of faults due to clientel reserving sun beds one guy in particular saved one across from the one he used in the morning so he could get on the other in the afternoon when the sun had move around other gripe is of the use of the swim up bars people sit there for hours on end never getting out to go to the loo !!! are these pools really hygenic ??? nuff said about that.
we stayed in the tequilla 7 years ago & the yucatan was being given a facelift still looks pretty good yes will agree with some other comments re the decor lookig a bit tired but dont be put off by it you only sleep in the rooms
anyone thinking of going in the yucatan i would deff recommend it well worth the 10.5 hours flight from the uk
got to feel sorry for rhe poor guys who have to rake the seaweed off the beach every morning dig holes in the sand to bury it
pp & jp from england (roll on next year)

Room Tip: we had a room on block 4 quite & peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,636 - 2,642 of 6,034 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Just returned home after an amazing stay at the Riu Yucatan, I had the best holiday ever, I can not say a thing bad about the place or the staff, I must recommend the fat cat trip. It was a half day with a great crew who looked after us from as soon as we stepped on to the boat.
Before our holiday I checked out the reviews, I was concerned due to some bad ons from the Americans....lol, there were alot of Americans there durring my stay, they had a ball but still said that they would complain ??? confussed.com. So if you are planning to visit this fantastic hotel, don't be put off by the Americans. I will be going back asap.

Room Tip: ask for blocks 6,7, or 8, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Animal622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just back from Riu Yucatan, we absolutely loved it, one of the best holidays we have had. Could not fault anything, the rooms were lovely, food fantastic (especially the steak house)beach immaculate and all the staff are so friendly, helpful and genuine. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough, would go back tommorrow! Also found the airport fast and efficient both ways. Do not take any notice of negative reviews, this is an amazing place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kathym0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just returned from The Riu Yuccatan, where do I start? Well we travelled as a party of 6 people, ages ranging from 21 to 48. Arrived after a rather longer than planned flight, to a delightful reception area and a very speedy check-in, checked in and bags received in room within 30 minutes. I must agree with previous reviews that the rooms are not 5 star, but very clean, bed linen changed every day, excellent shower, so what else could you ask for when you get 5 star service. There's a minibar (free) in your room too, plus optics containg vodka, whiskey, tequilla and rum great to have a vodka and coke before dinner on your balcony.

Nothing is too much for these guys, service with a smile and I mean everyone from the bar staff, waiters, reception, cleaners, maintenance and gardeners they all acknowledge you with a smile and an Ola!!

The entertainment staff are awesome and work very hard, the evening entertainement was very good, some evenings better than others and 2 really stood out and were excellent - The Grease Show and The Micheal Jackson Show were 1st class.

The food - well it's all inclusive, but one of the best for food that I have been to with a large variety of food available, also 3 other restaurants from the Buffett, the Steakhouse was excellent. Plus you can go as often as you want, not limited at all, just that you have to book from 7am and they fill up pretty fast.

Pool area - great. Beach - fantastic, one of the best I've ever seen. Beds do fill up rather quickely around the pool and early too!!!!! But the beach there were loads of free beds. Oh and the odd monkey may appear in the trees it really adds to this place

Finally this was a fantastic holiday, relaxed and fun, no stuffy regulations about what to wear and what not to wear, except men must wear a t-shirt in the restaurants, shorts etc accepted. Oh and if you are of a dearing nature, try the 'Mexican Flag' tequilla shot, it'll hit the spot!!!!!!

Room Tip: No rooms have pool views, but are surrounded by gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MrsFidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A bit about us and our perspective: We are an American couple in our young 30's, traveling without our children, intent on relaxation. We do drink alcohol but are far from the "party" crowd. We chose the first week of May to avoid crowding, specifically lots of school age children.

CHECK-IN
We were greeted upon check-in by Helene, a nice French intern and sent to our room in Building 9. Building 9 is west of the lobby and just about as far away as you can get from everything. We asked for a room more centrally located and were promptly moved to Room 4102. Thank you Helene!

Upon arriving in our room, we discovered the toilet was broken and would not flush. Within 3 minutes of calling, maintenance was on scene and had it fixed in less than 5 minutes. We had to call maintenance on one other occasion when a breaker tripped and again, he responded within minutes. A++++++ for these guys!

The room was nicely decorated and very clean. House keeping did a terrific job each day! The beds are not the softest around, but are not AS BAD as people make them out to be. The safe box in the closet is decent size and capable of storing most valuables. Even though the mini-bar and fridge is stocked every two days, if you ask for additional Pepsi, Water, Etc, they will oblige.

THE GROUNDS:
You will find a consensus among reviews here about how well kept the grounds are and the diligence/courteousness of the staff. They're all accurate, lets move on...

This is a relatively large resort, frequented by travelers from all over the globe. As Americans, we were in a solid minority. There were numerous German and French guests, with a handful of English, Spanish and Russians. We did not mind at all mingling with other cultures, but my wife could have done without all of the cigarette smoke. Ironically, just about the only other Americans present, were the ones making fools of themselves in the pool bar, carrying on loudly and stupidly.

FOOD:
The Hacienda (buffet) featured a large variety of dishes, many of which are designed to cater to the palates of the European guests. Breakfast was the only meal we found to be a bit repetitive, but was tasty nonetheless. The Hacienda is indoors, air conditioned, with fans. You may also elect to sit on the patio if you'd like. We sat at the same table just about every time and Lazaro was very gracious and friendly.

The Margarita (poolside cafe) was decent. It is an open air dining room with a buffet featuring a limited number of items. It is a convenient place to enjoy a slice of pizza, a burger or soft serve ice cream cone. The guacamole is phenomenal!!

Ala carte...Reservations are made daily, at breakfast, in the Hacienda. Arrive a little early and you will have no problems getting them. I much preferred this method to those of other all-inclusives which book a week in advance. The Asian fills first, rightfully so, as it is the best.

The Shanghai while technically reserved as one of the ala cartes, is simply a buffet. The cuisine was nothing short of spectacular and our server Alex was THE nicest and most efficient employee we encountered. Ask for the Fried Ice Cream for dessert!!

The Steak House was pretty good, but nothing to get really excited about. It is in the Margarita cafe during evening hours and has a great view of the ocean.

DRINKS:
There are plenty of bars around the property, including two swim-up/pool bars. The drinks are served in miniscule plastic cups. There are two solutions 1) buy or bring a large cup of your own, which they will happily fill or 2) just ask for extras. I usually asked for 4 margaritas instead of 2. All you have to do to get the better/premium booze is ASK. There are no servers on the beach, you will have to get up and walk to the bar, the nearest of which is 50-100 meters.

BEACH:
Having been to Playacar, we knew the beach was going to be amazing! We were fortunate to have mostly calm surf, only a few periods of red flag conditions. Being a somewhat larger property, the beach area gets kinda crowded. I'm not certain, but I think some of the Riu properties that are inland, share this beach. Finding chairs for 2 was never a problem, we just occasionally had to drag them down closer to the water.

POOL:
We only got into the pool twice and only briefly then. The towel game is played here and the best poolside spots go quickly, as guests drape their towels over them around sunrise.

ENTERTAINMENT:
We were in bed by about 8 or 9 each night and never watched the shows. Fransisco from the dive shop was very friendly and pitched the complimentary beach activities as well as the others excursions on our first day. We used the free snorkel gear one day to feed the fish out on the beach. (take a piece of bread from the breakfast buffet to feed the fish)

OVERALL:
A tremendously positive experience! The only drawback for me was the size/number of guests; which has more to do with my tastes and is in no way the resort's fault. This is an excellent resort if you are looking for a relaxing get away. The staff is top notch, the food is sensational and the beach is exquisite.

Room Tip: We were in Building 4, which was near the pool and halfway between the beach and the lobby/buffet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Got back yesterday from another fantastic holiday in Mexico.....we have previously stayed at Riu Caribe, Cancun and more recently, Riu Tequila, just across the road from Riu Yucatan. We chose Yucatan this time purely because of a slightly cheaper price and beachfront location......as expected, we had an amazing time!

The airport is a nightmare....expect to queue, queue and queue again....then expect to have your case searched....they pick on every other traveller....not sure what they are looking for, but they didn't confiscate our PG Tips or HP Sauce so RESULT!!!

On the coach you will doubtless be offered a nice cold beer at the inflated price of twenty pesos (one English pound).....our advice, TAKE THE BEER, it is the nicest beer you will taste all fortnight, on account of it being ice cold and you being hot, sweaty and very tired after your long flight!

At the hotel you will be greeted by a deskful of envelopes with names on, containing keys, safe keys, towel cards and information. Find the envelope with your name on, check your room number, write your room number on labels provided, attach labels to your suitcases, collect wristband and VAMOS (let's go)....you trundle off to your room and the bell boys will fetch your cases in about 10 minutes.

When you get to your room, get another beer from the fridge....maybe a vodka, rum, gin or tequila from the optics.....if not, water, pepsi, 7up or fizzy orange are also there for you to enjoy.

If your bed is a little uncomfortable.....don't bother with all this "ask for a matress topper" nonsense....we did ask for one.....it is simply the blue Riu blanket from your wardrobe folded neatly under your sheet.....you can sort it yourself if you put your mind to it!

Thnk that covers the boring stuff.....food is AMAZING you will NEVER go hungry....the staff in the bars and restaurants are all fantastic and can't do enough for you....ask for the branded drinks, Smirnoff, Johnny Walker etc. nobody minds! We did give tips, plenty don't, it is appreciated but not necessary....these people work extremely hard don't forget!

If you want to book one of the a la carte restaurants, you do need to be there at 7am, particularly if you fancy the steakhouse (which is the best one).....we ate there three times and it was faultless....we also tried the Asian, only average and no better than your local Chinese takeaway probably.

We have been to a lot of places and this beach is OUT OF THIS WORLD....amazing white sand, clear blue sea.....perfect! Sunbeds are limited though so don't trundle down at 11am expecting a bed to be free....disappointment will be yours!

The entertainment is the only thing that prevents our review from being a five star one. The main evening show only lasts for about 40 minutes and it seems that everything is just getting going at around 11pm but then everything stops. The only thing to do is go across to the Riu Tequila to the "nightclub".....dance and drink the night away til 2am...very tacky and cheesy but great fun!

Alternatively, you can make a short walk or taxi trip into Playa Del Carmen....loads of shops and bars.....we would recommend "Fusion" right on the beach, live music, cheap drinks....also "Tequila Barrel" on fifth avenue....well worth a vsit and to spend a few pesos out of the Riu comfort zone!

Amusing to see everyone in the lobby area on their ipads and laptops and phones, checking facebook, chatting on Skype......free wifi for 90 minutes a day via simple login, more than adequate!

Overall another FANTASTIC holiday....the rooms are in need of a little updating but how much time do you spend in your room....? Can't wait to go back....go ahead and ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY!!!

Hope you like our review, we are two English girls in our late thirties....any questions or comments, we look forward to hearing from you!

Room Tip: want peace and quiet? stay away from block six, unless you are prepared to take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank ShazandLisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

WOW what a holiday! just got back this morning after a 2 week stay here......the fun never stops from start to finish, there's always something going on morning to night, the entertainment team work very hard to make sure everyone has a good time, the bar staff too and they always have a smile on their faces.
The food is very good too plenty of choice, our personal favourite was the Asian restaurant, less the Mexican we thought the food was a bit bland in there.
The wildlife is amazing always something running around or swinging in the trees to look at, my fave was the little guinea pig type animal with the what looks like high heels on, so cute.
The downside is the amount of mosquito's, with the hotel being in the jungle there in abundance & no amount of repellant deter's them, we also had a plug in which did nothing so most people get bitten.
The beach is to die for, very clean and the sea is beautiful & clean-there is seaweed on a morning but this is quickly cleaned up.
The experience upon arrival at Cancun airport was manic, with the majority of people pushing in to get out quickly, there is no proper queuing system so its more or less a free for all, it took about an hour & a half for us to get out, not something to look foreward to after an 11 hour flight!! the experience getting out was a lot more pleasant & efficient compared to 8 years ago when we were there......they don't search every single case now like they did then!
SO all in all a great time was had by all and I would definately reccomend this hotel

Room Tip: block 5, close to everything, we were in room 5124
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank minky1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,224 reviews
0.5 km away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#54 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
8,264 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#36 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#47 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,676 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#50 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
6,822 reviews
0.4 km away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#59 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $293 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing