We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a paradise holiday, loved it.”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #63 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Wow Wow Wow......had an absolutely amazing time in The Yucatan!!!! My Partner, daughter (14yrs, so hard to please) and myself went for a two week holiday....From arriving at Birmingham Airport on the cold wet Thursday morning, to leaving Mexico Airport and the beautiful sunshine, we really couldn't fault it.
The Hotel...Great.
Rooms....Fab.
Food & Drink...Fab.
Pool Area...Brill
The Beach...well, what can l say, Paradise...Heaven....Beautiful, very clean, lots of sunbeds. The water is a beautiful turquoise col, so warm like stepping into a bath, stunning.
The Entertainment...This is where my 14yr old comes in to help..... She loved it....they were so hard working, from 9am in a morning till about 11pm at night they never stop, we loved the games by the pool, they were soooo funny!!!! Put 110% in at all times, always had a smile on there faces, if it was playing games, doing the entertainment at night, being asked to have pictures took with people, dancing, they always looked happy. My daughter loved them all (the boys) and they made her holiday. So a extra Big thank you to them.
All i all l would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank suie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,838)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Yucatan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,529 - 2,535 of 5,838 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is the 2nd time I have been to Mexico, previously stayed at the the catalonia riveria maya which was simply supberb compared to the riu yucatan. The only good thing is the location - the beach is lush and not too far to walk to playa del carmen.

Rooms:-
We were given a room on the ground floor - it was dark and dull and as soon as u walk in there is an awful musty smell, like the room had never been used for a long time.... the next morning, we found our clothes were stinking left in the cupboard and our hair and body would smell of the room. We asked for another room and we were given a room on the top floor - it was bright & had a nice balcony. However, the room was crawling with ants everywhere (we had assumed it was mexico and was normal for ants to be all over), they were in my make up bag, on our tooth brushes etc... We had left, a half drunk drink on the side of the bedside cabinet, only to find the next day it was covered with mites crawling all over the bedside cabinet and behind the bed. It was disgusting. Again, we went back to ask for a room change & the receptionist had said it was not normal to have ants crawling all over and so we moved again, only to find the air conditioning was not working. At this point we had enough, and was fed up of moving rooms so just left it. However, as a gesture of goodwill, we were given a complimentry voucher to go have dinner at the buffet in the riu palace - this hotel was out of this world.

Food:-
The food was repetitive, it was often recycled. For example, there would be turkey one evening and then the next day its there for brekfast and dinner ... There would be themed buffet nights. The chinese nights - they would call a galia melon 'a chinese melon' and the won ton soup would just be tomato soup with tagliatte pasta - made us laugh. We often skipped meals as we got fed up of eating the same things and everything was bland.

You have to be up before 7am to even get a chance to book one of the restaurants - there would already be a big queue waiting & most the times they would already be full. Only about a quarter of the restaurant capacity is used - we would often walk by and see plenty of tables not used. Beware of the mosquitos whilst dining at the steak house.

Entertainment:-
We tried to watch a couple of shows but felt like we were in Butlins.

Location:-
The beach and location was the only thing that the hotel had to offer. Beware of the slippery wet floors when it rains - such a danger and a death trap!

Overall, we found this hotel a disappoinment and would not recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel2010Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Just returned from a week of fun in the sun. My wife and I went with our 2 boys and their girlfriends. We requested 3 rooms on the 3rd floor and in the same block. They got it right the first time. My wife and I had a suite, room 4301, it was beautiful. The huge balcony and extra room with a couch was great.

The resort itself is very beautiful, built around the jungle so there is lots of vegetation, beautiful plants and trees all around. The beach was breathtaking,beautiful white sand and the blue water. Take some buns or bread out in front the resort go out about waste deep and throw in the water you will be surrounded by angel fish!

Loved the food. The buffet was huge, always lots of selection. For breakfast loved the fresh fruit and the smoothies made from real fruit every day. Never grew tired of what was there. They had a seafood night with jumbo prawns that were amazing and grilled tuna. We tried the steakhouse which was good, heard some people say too much salt, but my steak was good. Also did the Mexican which i thought was deliscious and lots of food. Tortilla soup was yummy.

The staff was very friendly. The entertainment crew kept people involved who wanted to be. The bar tenders were supurb, hard working and super friendly. They were good with jokes and some funny props.They were great at making the flaming shooters. It was really nice to have big glasses that were actually glass at night instead of the plastic cups. The shows at night were typical and i woud rate them ok.

We also had access to the RIU Tequila and the RIU Playacar so wew had to have a cerveca an check out both. The Tequila had the disco and the sports bar( where you could get snacks and drinks 24 hours). The disco was pretty small, really loud and the glasses kind of smelled.
The Tequila gounds were beautiful as well. It is not on the beach and you have a couple minute walk from the Yucatan. The Playacar was smaller and i did not think as nice as the Yucatan.

The only problem we had was a lack of security in the resort. The resort is in a gated community but there is really no security on the resort itself. My wife spotted someone going through the bushes late one night, called the front who said they would send someone and they never did.

Overall a wonderful resort, would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

2 weeks of near bliss!

Food: - Fantastic
Drink: - Great (if watered down a bit, but you don’t what to be total drunk all the holiday)
Entertainment: - Great (these guys work very very hard)
Room: - ok (but your hardly in it)

However!

Riu Yucatan has a problem, and it’s a biggy "Mosquito’s “, they drive you mad!

Drink Plenty of Tonic Water; Make sure your Aircon and the Ceiling fan are constantly turned on; they don’t like the cold, also go mossie hunting before you go to bed.

Apart from that, were going back in September, Bring I on. Yea!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

just got back from 10 glorious days in the yucatan staff hotel animation team food brilliant yes we did find a couple of faults due to clientel reserving sun beds one guy in particular saved one across from the one he used in the morning so he could get on the other in the afternoon when the sun had move around other gripe is of the use of the swim up bars people sit there for hours on end never getting out to go to the loo !!! are these pools really hygenic ??? nuff said about that.
we stayed in the tequilla 7 years ago & the yucatan was being given a facelift still looks pretty good yes will agree with some other comments re the decor lookig a bit tired but dont be put off by it you only sleep in the rooms
anyone thinking of going in the yucatan i would deff recommend it well worth the 10.5 hours flight from the uk
got to feel sorry for rhe poor guys who have to rake the seaweed off the beach every morning dig holes in the sand to bury it
pp & jp from england (roll on next year)

Room Tip: we had a room on block 4 quite & peaceful
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Just returned home after an amazing stay at the Riu Yucatan, I had the best holiday ever, I can not say a thing bad about the place or the staff, I must recommend the fat cat trip. It was a half day with a great crew who looked after us from as soon as we stepped on to the boat.
Before our holiday I checked out the reviews, I was concerned due to some bad ons from the Americans....lol, there were alot of Americans there durring my stay, they had a ball but still said that they would complain ??? confussed.com. So if you are planning to visit this fantastic hotel, don't be put off by the Americans. I will be going back asap.

Room Tip: ask for blocks 6,7, or 8, very quiet
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Animal622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just back from Riu Yucatan, we absolutely loved it, one of the best holidays we have had. Could not fault anything, the rooms were lovely, food fantastic (especially the steak house)beach immaculate and all the staff are so friendly, helpful and genuine. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough, would go back tommorrow! Also found the airport fast and efficient both ways. Do not take any notice of negative reviews, this is an amazing place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kathym0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,025 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,542 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#56 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,032 reviews
17.7 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,722 reviews
20.7 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $270 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing