We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$540
US$508
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$438
US$416
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$400
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$432
US$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$725
US$518
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$329
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$221
US$179
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$140
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$926
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,383)
Filter reviews
6,383 results
Traveller rating
3,059
2,128
811
244
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,059
2,128
811
244
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsibiza poolhowler monkeysmain restaurantthomson repsquiet poolgreat holidayasian restaurantevery other dayswim up barcaptain hookshower doorplenty of sunbedsentertainment teamevening entertainmentpalm treesmain poolmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,876 - 2,881 of 6,383 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is the 2nd time I have been to Mexico, previously stayed at the the catalonia riveria maya which was simply supberb compared to the riu yucatan. The only good thing is the location - the beach is lush and not too far to walk to playa del carmen.

Rooms:-
We were given a room on the ground floor - it was dark and dull and as soon as u walk in there is an awful musty smell, like the room had never been used for a long time.... the next morning, we found our clothes were stinking left in the cupboard and our hair and body would smell of the room. We asked for another room and we were given a room on the top floor - it was bright & had a nice balcony. However, the room was crawling with ants everywhere (we had assumed it was mexico and was normal for ants to be all over), they were in my make up bag, on our tooth brushes etc... We had left, a half drunk drink on the side of the bedside cabinet, only to find the next day it was covered with mites crawling all over the bedside cabinet and behind the bed. It was disgusting. Again, we went back to ask for a room change & the receptionist had said it was not normal to have ants crawling all over and so we moved again, only to find the air conditioning was not working. At this point we had enough, and was fed up of moving rooms so just left it. However, as a gesture of goodwill, we were given a complimentry voucher to go have dinner at the buffet in the riu palace - this hotel was out of this world.

Food:-
The food was repetitive, it was often recycled. For example, there would be turkey one evening and then the next day its there for brekfast and dinner ... There would be themed buffet nights. The chinese nights - they would call a galia melon 'a chinese melon' and the won ton soup would just be tomato soup with tagliatte pasta - made us laugh. We often skipped meals as we got fed up of eating the same things and everything was bland.

You have to be up before 7am to even get a chance to book one of the restaurants - there would already be a big queue waiting & most the times they would already be full. Only about a quarter of the restaurant capacity is used - we would often walk by and see plenty of tables not used. Beware of the mosquitos whilst dining at the steak house.

Entertainment:-
We tried to watch a couple of shows but felt like we were in Butlins.

Location:-
The beach and location was the only thing that the hotel had to offer. Beware of the slippery wet floors when it rains - such a danger and a death trap!

Overall, we found this hotel a disappoinment and would not recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel2010Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Just returned from a week of fun in the sun. My wife and I went with our 2 boys and their girlfriends. We requested 3 rooms on the 3rd floor and in the same block. They got it right the first time. My wife and I had a suite, room 4301, it was beautiful. The huge balcony and extra room with a couch was great.

The resort itself is very beautiful, built around the jungle so there is lots of vegetation, beautiful plants and trees all around. The beach was breathtaking,beautiful white sand and the blue water. Take some buns or bread out in front the resort go out about waste deep and throw in the water you will be surrounded by angel fish!

Loved the food. The buffet was huge, always lots of selection. For breakfast loved the fresh fruit and the smoothies made from real fruit every day. Never grew tired of what was there. They had a seafood night with jumbo prawns that were amazing and grilled tuna. We tried the steakhouse which was good, heard some people say too much salt, but my steak was good. Also did the Mexican which i thought was deliscious and lots of food. Tortilla soup was yummy.

The staff was very friendly. The entertainment crew kept people involved who wanted to be. The bar tenders were supurb, hard working and super friendly. They were good with jokes and some funny props.They were great at making the flaming shooters. It was really nice to have big glasses that were actually glass at night instead of the plastic cups. The shows at night were typical and i woud rate them ok.

We also had access to the RIU Tequila and the RIU Playacar so wew had to have a cerveca an check out both. The Tequila had the disco and the sports bar( where you could get snacks and drinks 24 hours). The disco was pretty small, really loud and the glasses kind of smelled.
The Tequila gounds were beautiful as well. It is not on the beach and you have a couple minute walk from the Yucatan. The Playacar was smaller and i did not think as nice as the Yucatan.

The only problem we had was a lack of security in the resort. The resort is in a gated community but there is really no security on the resort itself. My wife spotted someone going through the bushes late one night, called the front who said they would send someone and they never did.

Overall a wonderful resort, would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2012

2 weeks of near bliss!

Food: - Fantastic
Drink: - Great (if watered down a bit, but you don’t what to be total drunk all the holiday)
Entertainment: - Great (these guys work very very hard)
Room: - ok (but your hardly in it)

However!

Riu Yucatan has a problem, and it’s a biggy "Mosquito’s “, they drive you mad!

Drink Plenty of Tonic Water; Make sure your Aircon and the Ceiling fan are constantly turned on; they don’t like the cold, also go mossie hunting before you go to bed.

Apart from that, were going back in September, Bring I on. Yea!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2012

just got back from 10 glorious days in the yucatan staff hotel animation team food brilliant yes we did find a couple of faults due to clientel reserving sun beds one guy in particular saved one across from the one he used in the morning so he could get on the other in the afternoon when the sun had move around other gripe is of the use of the swim up bars people sit there for hours on end never getting out to go to the loo !!! are these pools really hygenic ??? nuff said about that.
we stayed in the tequilla 7 years ago & the yucatan was being given a facelift still looks pretty good yes will agree with some other comments re the decor lookig a bit tired but dont be put off by it you only sleep in the rooms
anyone thinking of going in the yucatan i would deff recommend it well worth the 10.5 hours flight from the uk
got to feel sorry for rhe poor guys who have to rake the seaweed off the beach every morning dig holes in the sand to bury it
pp & jp from england (roll on next year)

Room Tip: we had a room on block 4 quite & peaceful
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just returned home after an amazing stay at the Riu Yucatan, I had the best holiday ever, I can not say a thing bad about the place or the staff, I must recommend the fat cat trip. It was a half day with a great crew who looked after us from as soon as we stepped on to the boat.
Before our holiday I checked out the reviews, I was concerned due to some bad ons from the Americans....lol, there were alot of Americans there durring my stay, they had a ball but still said that they would complain ??? confussed.com. So if you are planning to visit this fantastic hotel, don't be put off by the Americans. I will be going back asap.

Room Tip: ask for blocks 6,7, or 8, very quiet
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Animal622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews