We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place; who can fault it????”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #63 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great place!!! do not listen to those that knock it; the room's; service; food are out of the world!!! we had a brill time; met some lovely people & would certainly return! The Mayan's are such lovely people; we love you all and willl be back xx

Room Tip: We would say block 500 is good; near to all; but not too noisy!!!
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
14  Thank emmandave_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,823)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Yucatan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,508 - 2,514 of 5,823 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a fantastic hotel! The staff are so friendly and such happy people. The beach is amazing, I felt so lucky to have been and experienced such a lovely place. Stunning grounds that are so well kept. We were two single mum's in our 40's who escaped for 10 days of luxury and we got it!
The food is fabulous with great selection, we visited the steak restaurant and the Asian both lovely. It wasn't a problem booking because of the time difference we were up and about early anyway! sometimes on the beach for 08.30am! who would ever of thought it on holiday!
The entertainment was good quality and really enjoyed the Michael Jackson show.
We visited Coba that was a truly amazing place and well worth the money, Coco Bongo's which is an experience never to be forgotten and truly an amazing time and finally a fatcat catamaran trip where we caught a barracuda and snorkelled on the reef.

The hotel is set in a tropical paradise and the grounds has its very own wildlife! woken up to the sound of monkeys, peacocks and flamingo's!

There is something for everyone in this resort and Playa del carmen is only a 5 min taxi ride away. The 5th avenue is really worth a visit.

Top tip! no kettle in the room! we took a travel kettle & our own tea bags!
All in all a fantastic holiday with lots of very fond memories.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eden186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Had a fab holiday in october 2011, albeit 4 days of rain when we arrived, which we were not too pleased about coming from England travelling that far to see more rain! but the rest if the holiday in the sun made up for it. First hotel room they out us in didn't seem like it had been cleaned or used for that matter and a very strong smell of sewage was inthe room and lingured for the next day, we comlained and asked to be moved which we were in a matter of hours! From then on we didn't look back, friendly, helpful staff, especially in the buffet restaurant, they remembered us each day and the kids thought this was great! The presentation of the food was amazing, breathtaking ice sculptures and the choice of foods was very good, some foods the same each night but always some sort of different food along the line. The entertainment was enjoyable, not your west end musical, but hey these guys work very hard and put in alot of effort! Pools were clean and towel service good. Beach was fantastic and so was the sea!! We had a photoshoot on the beach and ended up buying some treasured memory photos. A short cab ride and 5 pesos later takes you to the Fifth Avenue, which is one long stretch of shops, each with a mexican outside trying to intice you in to look and buy but we did not let this bother us. Lots of soveniers to buy and lots of places to eat, much better at night.
We did get bitten alot!! even though we sprayed ourselves with bottles of repellant, but to be honest we expected it! We travelled with first choice who also had a 'second hand' box which was a great idea, any left over sun creams, aftersuns, deodrants, toiletries, insect sprays.. were left by the holiday makers to then be offered free of charge to the next group of tourists! We found this very useful, as when we needed some more suncream we just went to the box and helped ourselves! Likewise, when we left, we put our half bottles of unused creams in the box for the next person. Saves us some money for sure!
Overall a great experience, would defo go back again!!! :))

Room Tip: Make sure there is no smell of sewers and make sure your fan and air conditioning work!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happyperson102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just spent tye memorial day holiday weekend in Playa de carmen. amd at the riu Yucatan. Playacar and the beach are fantastic!
The reviews that I read for Riu Yucatan from other travelers was pretty much right on. But I would suggest you keep your expectations at the right level. All inclusives come in all shapes and sizes.. Rui does a good job overall. The grounds are beautiful, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The food is okay.. nothing to write home about. But we are not big eaters.. we tend to dink our way thrrough the day.You make reservatons for dinner at teh alleCartes the morning of, so you need to get up a little early to get a spot for either the Asian, Mexican or steakhouse.
What we really liked was being able to go to the other Riu properties in close proximity. so you cna take a walk and then belly up to the bar or for a meal. Very convenient.
the evening shows were ok, but for a short $5 cab ride go into town (5th avenuue shops of Play de carmen) lots to do and see,

Room Tip: The 1000 block room is in teh back away from the pool and entertainment center if you want some quit...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Yes another stay at this resort and it never sells itself short. The staff and employees make all the difference. Yes it is resort food but for the sheer volume of people they help every day is fantastic

Room Tip: Buildings 7 and 8 best for all purposes.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank umbrellamanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at the RIU during the month of may. The weather was very beautiful with only one short rain. We used the private airport transfer service called playa info and it was fantastic! $62 total for 2, and just us in it. He even asked if we'd like to stop at 7-11 and get a beverage for the 45 min ride to playa. Our room was 5212 and had a balcony overlooking the entertainment stage. At night we could open our patio door and listen to the music. The shows started at 9:45 which was a little late for us, but we saw a few. We found them to be mostly trashy and the dancers were dressed inappropriately. I would not bring my sons to watch them had they been there. The food we thought was excellent! We enjoyed the buffets very much. They had food for every taste and lots of fruits and vegetables. I will warn you though that my husband and I ate and drank ONLY at the resort and DID end up with montezumas one night. We did not drink the tap water. The pool was quite nice with lots of activities planned by the hardworking entertainment staff. Each day at lunch a group of chefs would come out and serve a delicious burrito or taco type meal poolside that was fantastic! In the afternoon they would come around and serve a little snack of some kind, little pizzas and things.  There were topless ladies at the pool which we found tasteless and inappropriate and for this reason alone we would not come back. They should make them wear tops in the resort at least as other resorts in the area do. The staff and workers were all friendly, kind, and helpful and tips were not expected but certainly appreciated. The hotel offers a free beach photo shoot which we took advantage of and ended up buying 12 of the pictures for $140. They were fantastic and the photographer was kind and skilled. My favorite thing about the resort was all the monkeys in the trees! Two of them even had tiny babies. Bring bug spray!! Mosquitoes are terrible and are worst in the rooms. Also bring plenty of sunscreen. If you run out here expect to pay $25 a bottle. We had a couples massage at the spa that was spectacular. It cost $105 total for 50 minutes. The beach at the resort was great and the ocean was warm. I never felt crowded. Our conclusion is that we would LOVE the place and come back in a heartbeat except for the trashy entertainment and indecent ladies (and one man from Spain who embarrassed his country by taking off his shorts and swimming in the pool naked, but that's another story) who are not dealt with by the resort bringing the "classy" level down to zero...... Too bad;( They have everything else going on!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RJohnsonparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Just returned from the Riu and had an awsome vacation. The staff were pleasant and always helpful - great customer service. The beach is amazing!! Would highly recommend doing the Xplor Trip, lots of fun and guaranteed good time. NOW let's start with the guests......................everyone is always bashing the Americans about how rude they are and that they have a drinking problem - take a look in the mirror before you point fingers, because 90% of the guests are English and they are some of the rudest people I have ever met. Watching them make spectacles of themselves reminded me of the Jerry Springer Show. All in all, awesome vacation and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AmericanMike35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,020 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,541 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#54 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,018 reviews
17.7 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,718 reviews
20.3 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $272 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing