We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, friendly, relaxed atmosphere.”
Review of Hotel Riu Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Ranked #62 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked through First Choice, would have been helpful to know beforehand that an exit tax of approx £50 pp is required when leaving Mexico at the airport. Some holiday companies include this in the holiday cost.
The hotel is along a road with other hotels some of which you can go to as part of your package ...Riu Tequila and Riu Playacar. We think we made the right choice choosing the Yucatan after visiting these 2. The playacar is brand new and yes looks lovely but lacked some atmosphere and looked quite bland around apartments and pool. Tequila is older ,has a more Mexican feel with its lovely decor but food choice not so good and pool area a bit tatty with cups laying around.... but has a nice swim up bar. Green and nice wildlife roaming around but also came into restaurant!!!!

Yucatan has lots of trees and the gorgeous monkeys . You hear them early in the morning and at dusk and you can watch them from the paths and your balcony.
Lots of other wildlife too. It's modern and very clean. Staff are walking around constantly sweeping, cleaning and picking up drinks cups etc.
Bar staff work v v hard and are quick to serve. Good choice of drinks available.
Food was great and if you use the buffet wisely you can have varied meals, if you pile up your plate with a bit of everything yes you will soon get bored.
Breakfast - fresh fruit, cereals, smoothies, eggs, omelettes, bacon, sausages, Mexican specials, pancakes, churros, amazing choice.
Lunch - buffet by beach and pool had lots of choice and you could pop in to get a snack or icecream too.
Dinner- buffet , great choices. Tried all the restaurants too. Asian was lovely , Italian good too. Steak house disappointed as meat was tough. Mexican was lovely food (booked it at 7a.m at breakfast that day) BUT it was sooooo hot I couldn't enjoy the food.
Rooms are comfortable- yes the shower is not that private but we asked for a shower curtain for our teenagers room which they were happy to provide which was laid over the glass door.
Comfy beds, good air conditioning and lovely balcony (although watch out for mosquitoes if you sit out)
Bedroom furniture could do with updating draws marked and rickety but wasn't a major issue for us.
Cleaners worked hard and room was kept lovely and towels changed regularly.
The toilets around the hotel were kept amazingly clean for public facilities which was pleasing.
2 pools to choose from - chill out pool was peaceful and had a bar and always plenty of beds. Other pool by beach had more entertainment but not too rowdy if you sat over the other side but too many people reserving sun beds by 7a.m !!!!
Swim up bar BIG disappointment water is murky and not inviting , could just be suncream but needs filtering.
All pools are like a hot bath by 2pm so you can't cool off !
The beach is beautiful and yes there will be seaweed if the weather changes but that's nature!!!! The staff are up clearing it at sunrise ! Plenty of sun beds and nicer than being by the pool and only a few steps to go back to hotel.
Went on the pirate ship trip with Tui which was fun for all the family pricey but nice to have a change. They had a 'deal' buy one get one free .
The entertainment in hotel is poor - maybe a disco one night for young adults and teens and us oldies !!
Went to 5th avenue once , cab from hotel. V busy with bars and shops (quite pricey) Be careful to not get ripped off with drinks prices .....heard a few stories whilst there.
Went to the trips kiosk opposite the playacar and booked Tulum,turtles and Cenote trip. Much cheaper than Thomsons and we had a great day out (NS tours) We got a good deal when we didn't book immediately price kept dropping.
If you do go on this trip take LOTS of water as hot and wear once a day cream applied before you leave as you cannot apply cream when swimming with turtles and in Cenote.
We took dollars and pesos - hardly spent anything , would only take pesos next time.
All in all a lovely holiday.
With any holiday I would say pay as much as you can - if this hotel is your price limit then you should have a good Value holiday.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
17  Thank mel1Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,820)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Yucatan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 5,820 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I like that the hotel is in a gated area. Lobby is open and airy. Upon arrival our room wasn't ready until 3pm. Had to wait. The only restaurant that is air conditioned is the Italian one. The food is okay. I expected better. Breakfast was the best as they had allsorts of breakfast items. Fill up on breakfast. Room was okay. We were on the third floor of building 2. That building was great. Right in the middle of everything. However, we complained as our a/c wasn't working correctly. Coming in from the heat outside it feels good. However just wait 15mins, it feels as if the a/c isn't even running just the fan was running. It just wasn't cold enough. However, my mom had a room on the 2nd floor and it was so cold in there. Pool area was nice you have to get there early to save your bench chair if you want it near the pool and under a umbrella. Otherwise, wait til the afternoon as people tend to leave. I felt the pool area wasn't crowded at all. Put lots of mosquito repellant on as if you don't you'll get bitten. We did the snorkeling tour thru the hotel. Reserve it down at the beach area. It was only ~50USDpp. However, they pick up people all the way so it cuts into your snorkeling time. They do have smaller group tours which I think would be better. Nothing really to do at night for teens. As the pool closes early. Entertainment wasn't great either. If you just want to rest/relax and don't care about the food this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank shopgirl08_junk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

We are disappointed to hear that our entertainment failed to live up to your expectations. Our team works hard to provide shows and activities that cater to a wide range of ages and nationalities. We will share your impressions with the corresponding department in order to make adjustments, if necessary.

Furthermore, we hope you can understand that the pools have a closing time in order to perform the daily maintenance and cleaning work required.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back at one of our RIU hotels soon in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Yucatan
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

firstly the hotel is great and i am going to leave a good review of it and its staff, service etc. BUT if you booked with Thomson/TUI for a double room and read on the website that the room has 2 QUEEN size beds then you need to know they don's do QUEEN size beds at this hotel. The double rooms have 2 double beds or a king size bed. We specifically booked a double room as there were 2 adults and a tall 17 year old and we didn't want a sofa bed this year. The double beds are narrower than a standard UK double bed so please be aware. We did complain to Thomson reps in resort and got a full-size camp bed put in the room. This however meant me sleeping in bed on my own which wasn't what we booked!!
If you have booked for queen size beds you will need your booking from proof and then you have a chance of compensation (we are getting £567)

However that aside the resort and hotel is lovely and I can't really fault it.
STAFF:
very hardworking, very polite and friendly, Leonardo, Fausto and Santos deserve a mention. Tipping does help but they don't seem to expect it and service was always good.
BARS AND DRINKS:
longest wait was 5 minutes, drinks are good and staff are serving 4/5 people at once so you never wait long.

BEACH: beautiful and huge and sunbeds are available all day (no need to get up and reserve)

POOL: photo on website is well taken and the 2 bottom pools aren't huge but are very nice and lively if that what you like. The top pool is much quieter and very hot up there. Most beds are gone early but there was always some free at 10 most days. Suggestion< go to the beach instead as its really close

POOL BAR: good but always busy

ENTERTAINMENT TEAM: helpful, busy, good natured and activities on all day , they don't really come to the beach to find you so listen out if you want to get involved.
look out for the foam party as it is hilarious if somewhat dangerous. (I'm 47 and it was still fun !!!)

ENTERTAINMENT: not bad really and varied, we have seen better but the highlights are Michael Jackson and ELVIS. You cannot miss ELVIS as it is either brilliant or deliberately bad dependent on your point of view.

AL La Cartes: Mexican good but not spectacular, Steak House is excellent but get in early. Thai is self service but nice. Italian is very nice.

ROOM:other than beds as above, the rooms are nice and well looked after
NOTE:the bathroom is open to the rest of the room so you can see anyone at the sink or in the shower. If privacy is a concern take an old shower curtain and some clips for that bit of privacy.

SUMMARY:
this is a really nice place and I can't really fault it in anything. Its not 5 star and not massive but is very friendly and well run and we had 2 really nice weeks here.
If you read my previous reviews you will see I am honest in my reviews and don't sweeten the pudding if I can't.

my suggestion is do the beach, play volleyball all week and relax. You will get a bed on the beach no problem and the resort is 10 yards away.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank bomber55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Returned from a 2 week holiday on August 9th. And in all we had a great time.

The hotel is great , right on the beach and close to shops and other hotels you can use.
The beach is fantastic , always clean. They even clear away the seaweed that gets washed up. Always sunbeds to be found.
If you enjoy snorkelling you will love it. The fish swim all around you and you can feed them bread rolls & sweetcorn from the restaurant. If you walk about 10 minutes up the beach there's a reef with the most beautiful fish. Defiantly worth the walk.

You couldn't go hungry there is such a wide choice to pick from. Although the buffet restaurant got very repetitive and the food is quite bland. But the other restaurants , the steakhouse , Mexican , Italian & Asian have beautiful food in. Defiantly worth the wait & visit for these.

The entertainment team are amazing !! So friendly and helpful. They work tirelessly all day and night. The 3pm crazy game at the main pool every day are great. Always stuck around for those. Only downside is the long wait in the evening for the entertainment to start. Kids disco is earlier around 8ish. But then you wait till 9:45 for the adult entertainment to begin. For me that's to long and to late.

The foam party in the pool every Monday is good. But should not be for children to join in. In my opinion it should be a children's one in one pool and adults in another. They state children must be with an adult at all times. Which we did. But our niece got punched in the face by a man. They are over excited and don't care there are children around. And fuelled with the alcohol didn't help. Tequila is also given out during the foam party into the pool. Also the foam goes very high. It's very easy to get lost underneath it and not be able to breath. I would suggest staying right on the edge of it all. But must say the lifeguards and entertainment team were on high alert constantly and didn't miss a thing.
There's 3 pools to choose from the main one with entertainment being right near the beach and pool bar. We stayed at this one always. But the others looked great and plenty of sunbeds.

The downside to this hotel for me is the room bathroom. If like me you have 2 teenagers ( in my case a boy and a girl ) then you will struggle for privacy.
The bathroom is open. No door. And leads straight into the room. The only door is on the small toilet. Also the shower door is see through. We ended up with a shower curtain thrown over ours for some privacy.
So with regards to changing and getting dry after a shower etc there is NO privacy.
We struggled a lot with this. As you can imagine with 2 teenagers privacy was a big thing. Personally I think this needs looking at. But room size was great and the rooms are kept spotless all the time.

I don't think this is a 5 star hotel. I stayed in another in Cancun that was 3 star and better than this hotel. BUT we did have a fantastic holiday and enjoyed our surroundings. And the staff being so friendly etc was wonderful. I just think it needs more air conditioning and maybe something for the children like a games room etc.

I think if it wasn't for the entertainment team our holiday wouldn't of been the same. The deserve a lot of credit for what they do. They defiantly kept us entertained for 2 weeks. Especially Jonny , Josef & Pepe and sexy Anthony !!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
8  Thank katie963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Stayed at RIU Yucatan Aug 5-12. We had high expectations about this resort, considering that it’s rated as 5 stars.
The food was great and the service was also good.
There were a lot of kids the resort, but it’s not a kids friendly resort. The RiuLand kids club is isolated, a building far from the main pool, where the parents are. Hard to keep an eye on the little ones this way. The girls working at the kids club were great, but the facilities could be much better.
The main pool needs some repairs, many missing tiles, broken fixtures and dirty. Not acceptable for a 5 start resort.
Overall and OK stay, but probably would not return. Not for families with small kids.
For the same money we will be going back to Ocean Coral instead!

Room Tip: no ocean view rooms, all garden view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vince K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel in Playa del Carmen and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Since gastronomy is very important for us we are glad that you liked the food offered at the different restaurants. Our chefs always try to offer variety and quality in order to meet every guest´s expectations. We are also glad you received a good service from our staff.

Regarding the pool maintenance, please be assured that we have shared your comments with the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns where necessary.

The ClubHotel product line distinguishes itself with a larger entertainment team and a greater variety of options for young clients and for family holidays. Maybe you should consider visiting one of our Clubhotels for your next vacation.

We really hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of Guest Service that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Yucatan
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel Riu yucatan is a fabulous holiday destination for young couples with no children.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and they work tirelessly to keep the hotel spotlessly clean (thank you Juan Carlos for our towel animals it made the room a welcome sight on returning you are a credit to your team).
We arrived with two children and were instantly made welcome with a refreshing drink and our room was ready on arrival.
The food is fine sometimes predictable. The steak house was lovely so we went twice. We didn't bother with the Mexican as you had to que at seven in the morning to get a table and I'm on HOLIDAY for goodness sake.
The pools are what you would expect no sunbeds available at all due to people leaving their towels the night before even though the management leave signs but it's not enforced. Never attempted the swim up bar due to the water being scummy.
Therefore most of the holiday was spent at the beach which was beautiful. Some seaweed but the hotel tried to remove as much as possible.
Entertainment what can I say they worked long hours and they tried hard but some nights were diabolical, thank goodness we could use the other riu hotels within walking distance, the tequila has a sports bar that the kids loved you have to pay for the pool tables but hey ho it was cool in there and the drinks were flowing. Why we couldn't use the riu palace I'll never know we've paid the same price yet we were stopped at the gate and told which hotels we could use ?????
Playa del carman is manic be prepared to be asked to go in every shop as you walk along 5th avenue. Some nice high end shops with high end prices and the tourist shops are pricey too.
Do the trips they are fabulous
We went to xel ha best day lots to do take money or your card and buy the photo package well worth it. Go visit the manatees.
Fat cat boat trip was amazing and the crew were very friendly and knowledgeable especially when snorkelling over the reef.
The best trip was the jungle adventure it was amazing but due to hurricane franklin of which we were out in zip lining through the jungle we couldn't get any photos. The ATV through the wet muddy jungle was hilarious but the best memory was abseiling into a cenote then snorkelling through it a definite want to do it again. Edward our guide was excellent.
All in all we will return to Mexico but not the riu yucatan why you ask not enough for the kids to do, no family rooms available therefore 4 of us in a small room with 2 double beds (plenty of draws and wardrobe space yet the room was a bit outdated)
To finish off my only major complaint about the riu yucatan was
the manageress who walked around the hotel not speaking to the guests or even making eye contact why ?? WE PAY YOUR WAGES OR HAVE YOU FORGOT THAT

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
8  Thank Bigyin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We have just returned from the Riu Yucatan after an 11 night stay and can only be described as the holiday of a lifetime, as cheesy as it sounds, this is THE only fitting description!The Hotel staff work tirelessly to ensure that each and every guest is enjoying the experience - from the entertainment staff, to the bar staff, the kitchen staff, the list goes on! Food was outstanding, we had read a few negative reviews prior to our visit but found quite the opposite - there was something to suit everybody from starters right through to desserts! Massive thank you to all the staff at Riu Yucatan and also to Craig and Myelie for giving myself, my Husband and 2 children a fantastic time - we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank danjackson37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,016 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,538 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#56 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,014 reviews
17.7 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,716 reviews
20.3 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Yucatan

Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 1 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $270 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Yucatan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km/ 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * In Playacar's resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 2-storey buildings * Mexican "Hacienda" style architecture * Surrounded by 40,000 m2/44,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Next to the Mexican Street * 800 m/2,650 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Yucatan Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Playa Del Carmen
Riu Yucatan Mexico
Rui Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing