We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed by the overall quality!!!”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #21 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very impressed by the overall quality!!!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This resort goes above and beyond the call of duty!! They are driven by excellence in every aspect of the hotel industry. The food was amazing and the staff super friendly. We are very picky about quality service and food and believe me when we say that it was amazing!!!! The beach was great and the trip planners where very knowledgeable and provided us with all the details. The hotel credits are real and we did all sorts of activities like swin with the dolphins, Tulum visit, spa & massage, supper on the beach, a la carte wines, etc.. We had nothing to pay and still had credits not used when we left. We visited the sister hotel in Cozumel (there is no beach in Cozumel!!!) and we have to say that we prefer Playacar due to the fact that we do not snorkel but love the beach. It's a fairly quiet place where one can relax and enjoy a few drinks in the lounges, and have that walk down 5th Ave in the evening. We would recommend this resort to anyone. We would definitely go back. Most room have a view to the ocean,

Room Tip: Rom 211 was great and you don't need to upgrade. Keep those credits for activities!! King size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeusthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,388
    854
    224
    72
    45
See reviews for
1,674
1,927
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Playacar palace is one of my favorite places. Everything about it is exceptional. The beach, the rooms, the location, the pool, the staff, the spa, the fitness center. It is simple yet elegant, small yet comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This country is truly beautiful! The AI resort is not terribly bad either, quite fabulous!

We traveled as a group and this place was a first for my husband & I, in years. We all had many things to celebrate. We felt very safe here. The hotel staff were top notch, real gems that held it all together... very accommodating and always greeted us with smiles and 'my pleasure' after many muchas gracious' :) I'm so happy that Carlos has been promoted to hotel manager, he does his job well.

The area was perfect: the beach, close to 5th Ave, close to ferry to Cozumel, short bus rides to spa & golfing. The spa staff were amazing and the massages were to die for.

The resort's promotional offer was $1500 per room for the week to put towards tours, room upgrades, lobster dinner on beach, prof. photographs, tequila, and more. They also gave us tickets to Enrique Iglesias concert...so much fun!

Our room had a super view of the ocean up on 5th floor (be sure to get a balcony). It got a little cool with the air conditioning, but just having the balcony doors open and listening to the ocean all night was the coolest. Calls to Canada are free. Always tip generously and they are always there for you.

The food was super yummy and beautifully displayed. My fav was the Italian Restaur.

The only downside to this place was that they close the pool around 9:00 to clean it for the next day and there wasn't much in the way of entertainment outdoors. It's a fairly quiet place where one can relax and enjoy a few drinks in the lounges, and have that walk down 5th Ave in the evening, ending it with some fun next door at Senior Frogs, meeting so many wonderful people from around the world.

I would recommend this resort to anyone. I would definitely go back, but there are so many other places we'd like to try out too.

Room Tip: Room on 5th floor with ocean view WITH a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AliBobJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romulus, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We went to Playacar Palace in February. We couldn't say enough on the service. You truly feel like you have been on vacation when you leave. The location is close to everything, ferry to cozumel, 5th Ave. and never felt uncomfortable walking around. The entire staff will and do go out of their way to get you what you want or need for your stay if humanly possible. Food is the best we have ever had in Mexico (it ain't like home). If you don't like something you just tell them and they will bring it and make it whatever way you tell them to, so if you go hungry here it is your own fault for not asking. They are working on the entertainment which hoping will get better some of them are kinda lame : ). Damaris, Junita, Angel, Fernando, Jazz, Luis, Antonio, Carlos, and so many others made our stay worthwhile. You will love it here and won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovinmexico06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I read a lot of the reviews on this page before I decided on this place. I agree this place has great service, nice rooms with fantastic view of the ocean and a nice beach front. The food was very disappointing. My wife and I love good food and you will not find it here in Playacar Palace. It is edible and the funny thing is, it is also better than some places on 5th Ave.

Oriental Restaurant - bad. sushi rice was mushy, ingredients weren't fresh. I am Chinese and I eat a lot of Asian foods. I never had sushi this bad before anywhere. Pad Thai was mushy and the miso soup was salty.

Italian Restaurant - so so. Tuna Tartar - DO NOT TRY IT. Don’t know where they got the tuna. Texture and taste of the tuna was bad. Risotto was ok.

Lobster Dinner - Lobster was mushy. Beef tenderloin was good. Chicken soup tasted weird

Chief’s Dinner - The best thing that I had on this whole trip was the fish during this dinner. The fish was wrapped in paper like a gift. Excellent presentation, juicy with fantastic flavours.

Buffet - small selection because it is a small hotel. I have been to another all inclusive hotel in the area and their buffet was bigger and better.

Hotel credits were nice. Credits can be used for lobster and chief’s dinner. The credits can also be used for spa treatment and boring trips. My wife used $300 hotel credits plus $5USD for a spa treatment. For good trips, you have to pay. We got discounts after going thru the sales pitch. BTW, if you are interested in their sales pitch, please note there is a second offer after you reject the first one and both offers are negotiable.

I was told by somebody at the hotel that this resort cost more because of its location. I agree the location is great. The hotel is right beside the ferry to Cozumel and in Playa Del Carmen

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wkkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We travelled together with 2 other families for Spring Break. This resort was a great find. It's most endearing quality is the loveliness of the staff. Genuinely happy, thoughtful and helpful.
The food is well above par for an all inclusive arrangement.
The beach is spectacular, and once again, the service on the beach is outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a balcony. You will enjoy watching the frequent beach weddings that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cchristodoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I would (and have) recommend this resort to everyone. If you are like me, you do not want to walk a mile to get from your room to the beach, pools, restaurants, etc. This is perfect. The resort is small enough that you can get to everything easily and big enough to enjoy all the amenities. The location is perfect too. Soooo close to 5th Avenue shopping, Senior Frogs, Ferry to Cozumel and of course walk right out to the beach. The staff was great (special thanks to Carlos, Gabriel, Fransisco)!!!! I can not say enough about this resort. The one thing to improve on.... updating the halls. Oh and loved having the different events each day (misc lessons at 4pm and entertainment at 9pm).

Room Tip: definately get a ocean view (not corner view). If you want a bigger room/joining room, sounds like y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
40.2 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,283 reviews
10.2 km away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#43 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,422 reviews
37.7 km away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,659 reviews
3.8 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,262 reviews
1.8 km away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing