We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome destination wedding experience!!!”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #21 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Naugatuck,CT
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome destination wedding experience!!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

When my husband and I began planning our wedding, we knew we wanted to have our ceremony in Mexico. After doing tons of research we decided to have our destination wedding at the Playacar and let me say, it was amazing! Wilma, the wedding coordinator, arranged everything exactly the way we wanted and went above and beyond. There was something for all of our family and friends to do at the hotel and in Playa del Carmen. The staff was so accommodating and helped to make our big day super special. Our room was really clean and the hotel was really open and inviting. The ocean view and ocean front swimming was wonderful. We can't wait to go back! I Highly Recommend a destination wedding here!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniRichTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,347
    830
    219
    72
    42
See reviews for
1,616
1,916
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I went with my family for a week to this wonderful hotel, it is really the best all inclusive options. The staff is friendly and always ready to make our vacation a better one. Food is very good.

Room Tip: Oceanview in an upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monicarodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sandwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our fifth trip to the Palace. The quality of life for a week's vacation is amazing. The pool deck staff is attentive, the water is inviting, the beach walking is spectacular, the food is varied and tasty, Fifth Avenue is just fun, the golf is a challenge (we went early in the day three times), and the place is safe. We ran five miles each morning at 6:00 A.M. This is, quite simply, the best you could do.
Location, location, location

Room Tip: Always request a pool view balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

As a Palace member, we've been to a few of the Palace Resorts all with exceptional facilities and service. Playacar is one of our favorites and we were there in September 2011 to celebrate my birthday. We're going back this September.

Check in was easy and we were on the 5th floor in a Concierge room with a great ocean view.

Seeing that it was our 4th trip back, some of the staff remembered us and it was like coming home. The charm of Playacar is it's size, staff, food and proximity to Playa Del Carmen. Downtown 5th Avenue is less than a minute walk where you can experience shops, restaurants, street artists and liquor shops. The ferry to Cozumel is also right there.

We used our $1500 resort credit for a couple of Romantic Dinners on the beach, one in Playacar the other in Cozumel Palace. Steak and Lobster with champagne and wine, truly divine.

Of course without the great staff, this would not be the same experience and there are too many to list them all. Our favorite bartenders, Carlos in the lobby bar with Perla, Gaspar in Luna Lounge also with Perla.

Cafe Del Mar - Breakfast and Lunch - Juanita is such a sweetheart in reception with Jazz as captain always looking after us. Waiter Santos was always ready with our Mimosas with Luis and Israel. Daniel, manager and Gabriel, head waiter made sure all is working well.

Italian Restaurant - Waiters Alejandro and Antonio. Angel, manager and Alfredo, manager ensured our brief Vegan diet was looked after with special not on the menu dishes every night.

Poolside - waiter Leonardo always made sure we had what we need as did Perla and Juana.

Can't forget the entertainment staff with Super Erick, Gabriel, Fernando, Baxtor and Damaris.

Looking forward to September.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10002
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We (2 Adults and 2 kids (older teens)) stayed here during the second week of april. The hotel is Beautiful, spacious and just what we expected for a smaller resort. checkin was a breeze and only took about 15 minutes to get from the cab to our room. The food is what you could expect from an all-inclusive. Not amazing but everyone can definitely find items that they will enjoy.

Sushi: Overall a little bland (rolls and sashimi) but fried rice dishes, soups and yakitori were very tasty.
Italian: Best overall quality of menu but dinner definitely takes time.
Causal: Great breakfast, suitable lunch and so many dishes that again, the pickiest eater will find multiple items and be happy.

The pool was great. Wonderful temperature and the pool bar was quick and fantastic all day long. Only con for us, too many kids running around, even by the bar.

The beach was phenomenal. Yards from the pool with fantastic servers bringing anything you need. As expected, the towel game can run rampant but thats not uncommon. Its easy to find chairs but a bit more difficult to find the chairs around umbrellas (which are needed, its hot).

We got Pedicures and those women really know what they are doing and made our salon visit totally worth it.

The best thing about this resort are the staff. They truly made all of us feel as if we were the only people they were there to help. Always with a smile and by name. My biggest con is that it can get a little boring for older teens but its location to 5th avenue and the Cozumel Ferry (less than 5 minutes to both) helped tremendously.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony but if you can get it, its totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rowdystylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My family and I stayed at Playacar Palace last year for a wedding and were extremely impressed by the hotel. The food was very good, the rooms were beautiful, clean, and very comfortable. The staff was fantastic. Nora, one of the pool waitresses was great, but our favorite person on staff was Gabriel on the entertainment team. He made our vacation so much fun. He was so polite, helpful, hilarious, and made sure everybody had a great time. We have been all troughout the caribben and stayed at countless resorts, and Gabriel is still our favorite entertainment staff member. The Palace staff is extremely lucky to have such a phenomenal employee. My cousins actually chose to stay at Playacar again the following May specifically because they had such a great time on their first visit thanks to Gabriel. The staff is excellent and the reason we will keep returning to Playacar Palace. My family and I have recommended this hotel to anyone who asks us where to vacation. If Gabriel is still working there - we might have to come back this summer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summersport6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

As a general statement, we have found the Palace chain of all-inclusives to be consistently among the best, but we rate the Playacar Palace "the best".
Let's start with service. There's very good reason this resort has won RCI's award for excellent service for at least 3 years running - they're perfect. From Elvera in Guest Services to Angel, bar tender at the Lobby Bar, to Alma who provides service in the Lobby Bar, to Pedro, a great waiter in the Italian Restuarant, to Nora who provides service in the pool area to the entire staff - they are all professional, friendly and very helpful. Nora is a great example: She remembered exactly what drinks we ordered from our first day and she seemed to read our minds before we could ask for something, the most attentive waitress we can recall! Nora is a great example of the excellent service we experienced but we could list more.
Now lets discuss maintenance. Everything was very clean and freshly painted. We saw quality control inspectors working. Everyone paid a lot of attention to detail whether it was keeping the room clean, wiping fingerprints off glass doors, keeping the food lines clean, cleaning the pool, keeping the lobby clean, etc., etc.
Next food quality. The Italian restaurant was our favorite, but all were very good. We normally don't care for all-inclusive buffet lines, but this resort is an exception. They always had many choices, kept the selection different every day, presented the food well, and it always tasted good! We especially liked the chef's dinner - it was a real treat to meet the head chef and have him show the recipes for the food prepared for the dinner. He has a great sense of humor in addition to his cooking prowess, and the staff works well together and appears to really enjoy one another.
Next - amenities. It is an exceptional location, right next to the pier where you can catch a ferry to Cozumel and a couple of blocks from exploring 5th Avenue and downtown Playa del Carmen. The beach was great - lots of white sand and, of course, the azure blue Carribean. The Playacar golf course is a short shuttle ride away. The pool was nice and we enjoyed the swim-up bar. They had sand volleyball and a number of other activities as well.
Other. We liked the intimacy of this resort - about 160 rooms. We enjoyed our balcony which was on the fifth floor overlooking the pool and looking straight out to the Carribean. The room was nicely appointed, including a king size, comfortable bed, the typical Palace jetted in-room tub, the ready-to-pour liquor dispensers in the wet bar (which was restocked daily), the flatscreen HDTV with a number of channels (wish there were more english speaking stations though). If it had a ceiling fan over the bed it would have been perfect!

Room Tip: Resort has 5 floors. We liked being on the fifth floor for the views. Rooms in the 30's look d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.9 km away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
40.2 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#3 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,253 reviews
37.7 km away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,404 reviews
20.0 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,593 reviews
22.6 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing