We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Vacation”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream Vacation”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We traveled January 16th - 23rd and got an amazing deal on our vacation. I booked just a couple of weeks before and got the trip for about 1/2 the price on Travelocity. It was for my sisters wedding and being a poor recent college graduate, I was happy my girlfriend and I were able to make it. The service was beyond excellent - you could be on the beach or near the pool and servers would be there to provide drinks around the clock. The wedding service was beautiful and the staff did a great job with the presentation of the food and decor. Location is top notch - if anyone is planning on traveling to Playa Del Carmen this is the PERFECT spot. It is located right near downtown so everything is just a quick walk away so I didn't feel "trapped" in one location all week. The buffet and restaurant food was decent, not great, but combined with the excellent service I would rate the overall dining experience 4/5 stars. My only gripe was that I was woken up a couple of times during the week with what I assumed were workers talking and chatting loudly outside our room. Overall, I would highly recommend this all-inclusive resort to anyone traveling the area.

Also, I used Olympus tours as my shuttle to and from the Cancun airport, and also used them to book our one day excursion to the Tulum Mayan ruins and a jungle adventure zone where we did zip lines, rappelling, and snorkeling in the underground river systems. I had one employee in particular that made our trip so much more amazing. Her name was Kate from Olympus tours. I feel a lot of tour workers from different companies try and pressure you into things while only thinking about how deep your pockets are. Kate, on the other hand, really cared about us and gave us honest recommendations without pressuring my girlfriend and I into doing anything. I feel like I was booking a trip through a friend, and not a money sucking agency! So thank you again Kate and Olympus tours for making our trip that much more special!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,266
    2,047
    644
    369
    259
See reviews for
3,205
2,908
137
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,711)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cancun
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My stay was one of the best. I was especially happy with the breakfast buffet and the service I received every morning by Chef Aurelio. My spinach omelette was always made to perfection. Oh did I mention always made with a smile.
I will always remember the service at this Hotel and highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipotle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

While staying at the sister location Royal Playa del Carmen, my wife, myself and four friends decided to have enjoy a meal at Il Pescatore. What an excellent decision that was. We were treated with one of the best meals and service we received in the two weeks we stayed in Playa del Carmen. Special thanks to Chef Enrique Salgado, and our host/server Tony Ramivo, you made our evening one of the best.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoakingWet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Vacation=Feb18-25, 2012- 6th time coming back and will again.
True family hotel with style! came here with a family group of 11- 8 adults,3 children (13, 9, 21/2 ,toddler).
Staff was always attentif/helpful to make a memorable experience for every one of us, especially to the youngest one.
Great welcome at reception desk- 3 rooms (Junior Suite Ocean View), 1 Master Suite were ready, buffet restaurants and 24hrs lounge were plenty sufficient varied food for our appetites, El Pescatore italien restaurant has a very elegant menu and impeccable service, let alone the beach restaurant.
Beach is contantly being groomed every AM, the fishermen's boats add a quaint element to the atmosphere.
We all had our dreamed FAMILY REUNION TRIP and vacation.
We are thankful to every staff member. We had a grand time.

Room Tip: junior suite ocean VIEW looking out to the new pier and ROYAL street. Morning sun and afternoon sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamzgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I was hoping the reviews I read before going were going to be off from what I experienced but that was not the case. If you want to be in Playa Del Carmen close to the water and don't care about the little things then this is the resort for you. I have a hard time calling it a resort-it is very small, there are only two restaurants and a buffet, the beach is small, and there is only one pool. Technically there are two but the other one is on a roof top and in the shade 99% of the day.
The rooms need a remodel. The floor tiles are cracked or chipped. The showers are not modern. The room furnishings are dated.
The food in the buffet is at the most tolerable and the space for the buffet is cramped-hard to move from one station to the next and to see what is being served unless you butt in line.
The beach is crowded and a public beach with reserved seating for the guests. There is no shade except for some pergolas. The beach has nice sand but you have to go more than 50 yards into the water before you get more than waist deep.
The pool is crowded. We tried for three days to get 4 chairs together at the pool. People had staked a claim to chairs before 6am each day and never left.
The two restaurants were the only saving grace for the resort-excellent food with fairly knowledgeable wait staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addy_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homeworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

First make sure you are in the right "Il Pescatore." there are two. Da Ilena Il Pescatore offers the the most wonderful Italian food, from homemade pasta to the fresh catch of the day. You are made to feel like family when Ilena stops at your table to give her recommendations for dinner. You can never go wrong following her advise! Remember to take cash, they do not take credit cards.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonitta211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the Gran Porto Real (via WestJet vacations) from Feb 10-17, 2012 with another another couple. We are Canadians, francophones from the province of Quebec, fluent in both French and English with a little bit of Spanish. Both ourselves and our friends are retired & in our mid-fifties. This is our 2nd vacation in Mexico (numerous stays in the Dominican Republic) but 1st time at Playa del Carmen (PDC).
We had a wonderful vacation at the Gran Porto Real. Beautiful and quaint resort, warm and welcoming atmosphere, great location. When facing the sea, the resort is to the right of the pier to Cozumel & 2 blocks from the 5th Avenue. The resort has wonderful staff who worked very hard to make your vacation perfect. We always had a warm welcome and smiles from all employees who speak English and a number are also good with their French. All of the resort is kept very clean, our maid Patricia was excellent & clean towels were always abundant.

Beach: great beach, very large and long (sand bags are evident but no problem), lots of cabanas & chairs, service all day long from waiters right on the beach making sure your needs are met. You pick up your towels in the am and return them at the end of the day (near the pool).

This resort is also very good for families & offers family junior suites & a kids club which resembles a daycare. The pool is very nice, not overlarge, good music & a very relaxed atmosphere with pool bar of course. Bathrooms are well located throughout the resort both inside and for beachside. Resort also has a beach snack bar with a simple but good menu (hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken, chilli, guacamole and fruits and more!) Just watch out for the sea gulls!

Restaurants: the Albatross buffet is great & both food & service are very, very good. There is also a 24hr all inclusive “snack bar”, w/ coffee machines offering a variety of selections. Also, you don’t need to make reservations for dinners a la carte! Both Maria’s (Mexican) and Il Pescatore (Italian) offer excellent menus & great service, not to mention special menus for myself as I’m celiac (allergic to gluten). We ate twice both at Maria’s and Il Pescatore.

Excursions: we booked via Best Day staff who work on site at the resort, accessible all day. Many thanks to Sylvia and Victor for their warm welcome and great services. Best Day works with the Real Resorts in Mexico for transfers to/from airport & excursion services. They are very reliable, trustworthy & work hard to make sure everything goes smoothly. We took a full day excursion for Tulum (Mayan ruins) & Akumal (snorkelling w/sea turtles); booked via Best Day with “Go Natural Adventures & Expeditions" which are great. We had an excellent tour guide, special thanks to Yair (pronounced “Jahir”) for his attentive care to our needs, great source of information on both ecological, historical and archaeological subjects. And funny! Strongly recommend this excursion. Also, special thanks to our personal guide at Tulum, Ramóndo, he was fantastic.

We had a late check out and the hotel provides a hospitality suite for 1/2 hr to shower & clean up. Suitcases are very secure & safe. System for check out is smooth and well organized.

A special mention of thanks to the following Gran Porto Real employees who were great and so friendly and made our vacation extra special: At the Albatross buffet restaurant, Marcos & Gustavo . At Maria’s, Rigoberto who is a fantastic and great guy & the team he was working which included Edgar, Chef Edi and Capitan Antonio. At Il Pescatore, Ton and Ramiro as well as Jorge & Yoni & the Chefs. At the front desk, Claudia and Paul. At the 24h All Inclusive Club, Elizabeth and Teresa. At at the lobby bar, Alex our bartender & waitresses, Teresa & Adrianna. Also a special mention of thanks to the employees who work at the luggage and concierge desks, sorry, wasn’t able to catch all of their names.

We definitely intend to return to the Gran Porto Real & definitely recommend this resort for a great vacation, whether you are travelling as a couple, with friends or with family and children. Suggest you visit their web site to verify the variety of rooms offered.

Muchos gracias Gran Porto Real, Hasta proximo ano!
Suzanne Seguin & Paul Vachon, Gatineau, Quebec, CANADA

Room Tip: Beachfront views are best, juniors family suites are over the lobby, in front of the pool, standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
4.2 km away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing