We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Most reviews are pretty accurate. Here is what you need to know. If you are like us and don't like to be stuck on a resort all the time this is the spot. We walked to 5th Av. at least once a day and walked to Walmart. It provided a nice break and great entertainment for free, just seeing the sights. Yes there are nicer hotels but the GP is more than adequate. One very strong recommendation. Upgrade to the Junior Suite if you are in a standard room. We stayed in a standard last year and returned this year because of the location and staff. We had a junior suite and it was like staying in a different hotel. The food is very good. Lunch could have more options, but if you usually just grab a bite for lunch at home you will be more than satisfied. The staff sets the GP apart. You can't pass a staff member without getting a smile or friendly greeting. We went across to the Royal even though we weren't allowed and no doubt it is a 5 star, but we found it did not have the atmosphere of the GP. It was much more formal which is what you would expect from a 5 star. It is certainly a much nicer resort but also much more expensive. No resort is perfect but if you have a lot of complaints about the GP you are just too fussy (unless you get the standard room). We spoke to other people who were staying at different resorts and they spent as much as $200.00 on taxis going back and forth to 5th Av. Dave at beach bar is awsome as are all servers Mari, Alex, Jesus, Theresa. Too many people serverd us at the restaurants to remember their names and by the time we got there reading name tags wasn't at the top of our list or capabilities. It is unbelieveable the hours and how hard these people work and they always have a smile on their face. Been to Mexico 7 times, Cuba twice, Dominican Republic twice. GP ranks as one of the best mainly because of location and service. It is only second resort that we have been to twice. GP you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ground floor was convenient. Never had to put on shirt or shoes to go to the beach as we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,222
    2,031
    643
    365
    258
See reviews for
3,183
2,881
136
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,695)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

For perspective, I'm a global transport pilot, 20+ years prior military svc (taking me to every clime & place), a happily married, father of a 'hoard' of kids, and a smack-dab "middle class" American family. That said, we headed off to this place for another relative's wedding/family gathering. BLUF: For the price/value, this place met or exceded our expectations in every way. Having traveled the world, both at sea and aloft, I naturally kept my expectations in check for this trip. The place turned out to be simply a blast for the entire family. Outside the resort itself, and having some experience haggling tours, I even got a cabbie to haul us out to the Mayan ruins for a fraction of the cost of the scheduled tour (and got it all done in a fraction of the time, thanks to the WILD cab ride... vis a vis Philippines, Thailand, etc). Room was decently appointed with an AC that could easily tame the heat of Cancun, the food was great at the on-site restaurants, pool-side service was wonderful all day long, drinks were good enough, and for the daring, the nightlife down the street, again, had the vibe of the haunts of Manila, Pattya, etc. Kids left kicking and screaming, and mama wants to come back with the in-laws. And, most of all, happy the whiner reviewers of this place will be traveling elsewhere next time!!

Room Tip: Don't sweat the room... you're only there to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CarlSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville,MI, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Gran Porto the last week of March. We had requested a upper level room, beach view, but were told at check-in none were available. They said something could open up the next day if we wished to switch. Our room was 109 which faced the street, not much of a view, but after we settled in and thought we don't spend much time in the room anyway, we didn't feel like moving. And contrary to what you may think, being streetside, the room was QUIET! We talked to other people who were beachside and they complained of the noise from people being on the beach at all hours. We had a junior suite and it was nice. The hotel is immaculately clean and the staff, waiters,waitresses are great. At the ala cartes and the buffet, I always found something that earned a "this is really good!" comment. The pool was smaller than it appeared in the photos and it is tough to get a lounger. I went out at 8:00am and none were available. A 6:30 am visit, there were maybe a half dozen. One morning I just happened to awake at 4:15, so I took our towels to the pool and there were already some chairs covered. We didn't mind to much since we preferred the beach for people watching and the breeze, and there are more than enough beach chairs, but you shouldn't have to get up that early for a pool chair. We saw chairs sitting empty for hours. We have been at resorts were the staff would pick up towels from chairs that were not being used to free them up for guests and the Gran should look into that.
The beach has the sandbags as every one says, not aesthetically pleasing, but not that bad, just step over them.
Went on a fishing trip with one of the boats that are just right of the resort. Great time, four big amber jacks and a mahi-mahi. Ask for Jorge. Tell him Phil sent you.
So, we had a good time. The hotel has a great location for walking into town for shopping and nightlife. But to be honest, we would not return. We would rather not be in town and though I said the sandbags were not a problem, would rather stay somewhere were they weren't.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jabber328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Gran Porto Real the last week in March, we loved everything about it. Our maid Juana was excellent she kept our rooms spotless. Staff very friendly, excellent beach for snorkelling. Great location for shopping on 5th avenue, lots to do in the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertatraveller995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Before I start my review, I read Trip Advisor religiously both before we booked our holiday to check what other travellers thought and then even when we had booked, I kept checking back to make sure you guys were all still in agreement! I knew all about the pros and cons of the hotel from the tactics used for upgrades, sandbags on the beach, night time activities and 'ocean view' rooms so without any prejudice here is my honest review of the Gran Porto

We had booked for a two week holiday and prior to arriving had contacted the hotel to request a high floor, quiet room, king size bed and a nice view. By and large the requests were accomodated with Room 206 on the 2nd floor, overlooking the street (which was quiet), with a king size bed and a slight view of the ocean.

The check in was relatively painless, no mention of upgrades of any kind, just a welcome drink and the concierge asking whether we were celebrating anything special while we were there.

Upon arrival at our room, it was pleasant but did not have the wow factor. King size bed, large flatscreen TV, though there was a slight musty smell and whilst you could argue that it was 'traditional' that could be roughly translated as in need of a renovation. Min bar had soft drinks and beer in there, and later in the evening the hotel brought around a welcome bottle of wine and a basket of fruit. A nice touch I thought.

That aside we were glad to be there and were so looking forward to our time there. We went for a look around and met with Guest Services who were very friendly and took the time to give us information on the resort and daily activities.

We ate in the Albatros buffet on the first night, which was a Tex Mex feast and thinking back to some of the food comments, there was some great food on offer but some of the plates you weren't too sure what it was.

We sat in the lounge bar that night and bearing in mind it was St Patrick's Day we were perhaps expecting a bit of life, though aside from a small lounge band that played until 10 followed by a show in the pool area, that I have to agree with other travellers. I wouldn't go as far as 'lame' or 'amateurish' but would suggest that the hotel needs to review their entertainment schedule and look at providing something that concentrates on entertainment. Once the show had finished, the jet lag was starting to take affect and decided that the tomorrow was another day.

On Day 2, we headed to the relatively small pool area and managed to grab what looked to be the only two available chairs by the pool (it was 9am) and spent a pleasant day by the pool. I went for a walk during the day and saw the beach and saw the scale of the sandbags (difficult to ignore) and rocks in the ocean. Not the greatest beach but by no means not bad. I happened to stroll onto the Royal beach and my mind started to wander....
That night we visited the Italian restaurant Il Pescatore, which we found was a bit limited in terms of the menu, with the intimate, smart atmosphere dominated by two tables have a singing contest which drowned out any chance of having a nice dinner. After the meal, we headed to the pool bar to see if there was any activity in there. Bearing in mind it was 10pm, there were about six people there, most of them looking like they were 4 hours past their bedtime.

We then decided when heading back to the room to enquire with the front desk about whether we could move room to counter the slight smell in there just to check our options. Basically because of Spring Break there weren't any, except for "Upgrading to the Royal". - Seriously, the greatest piece of holiday advice that receptionist could have given us. As soon as the name was uttered I thought back to when I was booking and thought it would be way out of out price range but they mentioned an offer of $40 per night extra to move across, instead of the usual $80-90 extra.

As we had twelve days left we decided to jump at the chance and headed over the road the next morning. If you are interested how the two compare for $40 per night extra then please read my review on The Royal "Absolutely Excellent! So pleased we headed over the Road"

Otherwise for those of you guys keen on staying at the Gran Porto, don't let me or anyone else put you off, instead look at the comments and decide whether the things that are mentioned matter to you.

Also bear in mind that we were going to be there for 2 weeks so needed to make sure the restaurants and activities were top notch. Those of you just going for a few days as it is close to home then this may be ideal;

Pros

Check In
Staff
Location
Beach front

Cons
Restaurant choice
Evening activity
'Traditional feel'

I think my rating is fair. Both because I wasn't there long enough to mark really low or really high but thought in the time we were there we got a clear view of the place and decided due to the availability of a good upgrade offer to make the switch. If you get the same offer, take it!!

If you look at my past reviews, I try not to be unfairfly critical and hope that I haven't been on this occasion. We were in the fortunate position to be able to stay in both hotels and review their merits accordingly, so wanted to pass on this comparison in the best way possible

Room Tip: Go for high floor and quiet room. High room to us was only the 2nd floor but at least not on the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chrisgriff6191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

It was a great meal and a beautiful restaurant, loved the owner and co owner her dog. The kitchen was amazing to watch. Everything is made from scratch. Fabulous and must.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanata
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel was clean; staff friendly; wide variety of tasty foods in restaurant; could use more cabanas for shade on the beach; beach is long with beautiful white sand; hotel had interesting nightly entertainment. We commend especially Moreno and Camacho in the diningroom as friendly, efficient, accommodating, fast service, who spoke excellent English.
We definately would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
4.2 km away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing