We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Waitress & Bartenders EVER”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel is beauiful, we had a Junior Suite which was perfect,,,,if you are a beach person you will be totally disappointed the sand bags are piled along the beach and you have to climb over them to get in the water,,,,at the end of the trip we became pool people. We meet so may good people which are now good friends ,,, the waitress(Mari ) & waiters( Jesus & Jose) they are absolutely the best, at the end you don't even order they just bring it to you. The rooms are spotless the fridges stocked daily with what ever you want,
The food is OK,, didn't go hungry !!!!
There is not much for nightly entermainted

Room Tip: We were on the street side Rm 101 it was perfect, Quiet and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bootes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,748 - 4,754 of 10,093 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

delsihsous i lovoed it. it was so good. yum yum yummmmmy!

Thank Gabby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We spent Holy Week (3/31-4/6 2012) at the Gran Porta Real. Oh my goodness! We were treated like kings and queens. The staff was just amazing! From the moment we stepped off the transportation van and into the hotel, it was non-stop paradise! The Staff (pool, housekeeping, waiters/waitresses, lifeguards, front desk, maintenance, chefs, managers) were so helpful and so kind! The food, the drinks, the atmosphere, the excursions, the location...A+ times 50!!!!!!!!!!! The resort was very clean. Tons of things to do with the kids...volleyball, boogie boarding, the pool, the ocean, parasailing, snorkling...just amazing!
When we left, I felt like I was leaving family...the staff holds a very special place in my heart! We WILL be back at the Gran Porta Real...Thank you Thank you!

PS: A note about Lynn, the Resort Manager...your staff is a reflection of your managing skills.............EXCELLENT/AMAZING/AWESOME! Thanks, Lynn!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hello Cutie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our trip was March 30 - April 6 with 2 adults and two young childrent (2 and 5)

Upon check in, we were told our junior ste was not available and we'd get an ocean front upgrade for one night. The room was great and near the end of the strip of rooms, so fairly quiet. We didn't want to move but were forced to as someone else needed the room ( we offered to pay more, but no go). After a whole lot of drama with the new room not being ready and our key no longer working to the old room to get our stuff out of the safe and a whole lot of complaint, we were comped two 25 min massages, which made us happy. The new room was on the third floor by the elevator, street side and was so quiet. Only downfall to these rooms were that there were no tubs to bathe our young ones in.

Pool is tiny and no chairs available after about 7 am or earlier. On our last day we set our alarm for 6 am to save 4 loungers and when we went an hour later, someone had stolen them!! After an outburst from my husband and the pool boy confirming they indeed were ours, we got them back! How absurd that the chairs have to be saved that early and lots are even left empty half the day!

Restaurants - only one buffet, two al a cartes, a 24 hr snack bar and the grill at the beach. The buffet for breakfast is great, lunch and dinner does not offer kids choices, but if you asked for nuggets or something, they would bring it, but you'd end up waiting a long time sometimes. The beach grill was pretty good for lunch, but dispose of your uneaten food or you'd get dive bombed by birds!!!! The lunch time buffet is the only time ice cream was offered; nothing for dinner dessert. The 24 hr was not really worth it for decent food... snacks is really all you get.. but is good for drinks, etc.

The beach has tons of chairs for sun tanning, but is awful for swimming - the sandbags are ugly and beach is covered in seaweed and is rocky.

The kids club would only take our 5 yr old but not our 2 year old, which was pointless, so we didn't use it.

We celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary and on our special day we were pleasantly surprised by chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to our room in the morning; then cake and champage later that day. They set us up on the garden outside the restaurant for a romantic dinner (which I might add, other guests were ignorant too as they would walk out a non exit door and let their kids run circles around our dinner table!!). Rebeka at the Albatros is just wonderful. In fact, all the staff were wonderful and I cannot say enough about them!

Overall, the hotel was nice, the food was decent; but as the beach was not worthy of swimming in and the entire resort was NOT that kid friendly (I forgot to mention that there was at least two huge groups of about 14 kids averaging 16 - 17 years old drunk everyday), we'd not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose street side and junior suites!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fgandme2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Service was awsome pasta, steak and rusoto excellent

Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Most reviews are pretty accurate. Here is what you need to know. If you are like us and don't like to be stuck on a resort all the time this is the spot. We walked to 5th Av. at least once a day and walked to Walmart. It provided a nice break and great entertainment for free, just seeing the sights. Yes there are nicer hotels but the GP is more than adequate. One very strong recommendation. Upgrade to the Junior Suite if you are in a standard room. We stayed in a standard last year and returned this year because of the location and staff. We had a junior suite and it was like staying in a different hotel. The food is very good. Lunch could have more options, but if you usually just grab a bite for lunch at home you will be more than satisfied. The staff sets the GP apart. You can't pass a staff member without getting a smile or friendly greeting. We went across to the Royal even though we weren't allowed and no doubt it is a 5 star, but we found it did not have the atmosphere of the GP. It was much more formal which is what you would expect from a 5 star. It is certainly a much nicer resort but also much more expensive. No resort is perfect but if you have a lot of complaints about the GP you are just too fussy (unless you get the standard room). We spoke to other people who were staying at different resorts and they spent as much as $200.00 on taxis going back and forth to 5th Av. Dave at beach bar is awsome as are all servers Mari, Alex, Jesus, Theresa. Too many people serverd us at the restaurants to remember their names and by the time we got there reading name tags wasn't at the top of our list or capabilities. It is unbelieveable the hours and how hard these people work and they always have a smile on their face. Been to Mexico 7 times, Cuba twice, Dominican Republic twice. GP ranks as one of the best mainly because of location and service. It is only second resort that we have been to twice. GP you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ground floor was convenient. Never had to put on shirt or shoes to go to the beach as we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

For perspective, I'm a global transport pilot, 20+ years prior military svc (taking me to every clime & place), a happily married, father of a 'hoard' of kids, and a smack-dab "middle class" American family. That said, we headed off to this place for another relative's wedding/family gathering. BLUF: For the price/value, this place met or exceded our expectations in every way. Having traveled the world, both at sea and aloft, I naturally kept my expectations in check for this trip. The place turned out to be simply a blast for the entire family. Outside the resort itself, and having some experience haggling tours, I even got a cabbie to haul us out to the Mayan ruins for a fraction of the cost of the scheduled tour (and got it all done in a fraction of the time, thanks to the WILD cab ride... vis a vis Philippines, Thailand, etc). Room was decently appointed with an AC that could easily tame the heat of Cancun, the food was great at the on-site restaurants, pool-side service was wonderful all day long, drinks were good enough, and for the daring, the nightlife down the street, again, had the vibe of the haunts of Manila, Pattya, etc. Kids left kicking and screaming, and mama wants to come back with the in-laws. And, most of all, happy the whiner reviewers of this place will be traveling elsewhere next time!!

Room Tip: Don't sweat the room... you're only there to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CarlSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,814 reviews
0.2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,389 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#7 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
461 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#43 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,942 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $236 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Porto Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing