We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent time at the Gran Porto Real”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Lincroft, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent time at the Gran Porto Real”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just came back from a 5 night visit to Gran Porto Real (April 10-16, 2012) and had a wonderful time! Went with my 3 children ages 13,and twin 7 year olds. The hotel is immaculately kept, rooms very clean and nicely appointed. Had a very Mayan feel to the room. Stayed in an Oceanfront Junior Family Suite which was rather large and comfy...beautiful view of the ocean and pool. Buffet restaurant was average for lunch and dinner but was wonderful for breakfast. Definitely visit the other restaurants on property: Maria's Mexican and Il Pescatore-Italian.We ate at each restaurant twice we loved it so much. Hotel is within 1 block of the 5th Ave shopping area. We loved the "Old" 5th Ave side; "new side" had a lot of restaurants. One of my 7 year old twins LOVED the kid's club...couldn't keep him out of there. Felt very safe leaving him there and he was entertained for hours. The girls that run the kids club are all wonderful. The entire staff goes out of their way to accommodate your needs.

Must be honest about 2 negative points: Hope you are an early riser because if you want lounge chairs by the pool you have to get up VERY early. I would go down at 6:30 am to find EVERY lounge chair taken. People told me that they go down at 4:30 am and most of the chairs are taken even at that un-Godly hour. I refuse to get up that early on vacation to get a chair!!! The hotel really needs to institute some sort of policy to rectify this problem . Most of the days there we were "lucky" to have 2 chairs to share with 5....yes 5 people!!!

Second negative issue.....the sandbags that one must walk over to get into the ocean which is quite rocky in many places. At least half of the sandbags were green and slimy and unless you had on water shoes it was pretty gross!!! I love the ocean and unfortunately only went in once. So I sat on one of the 2 lounge chairs we were able to procure!

Would I stay at Gran Porto again.....probably but the above issue with the lounge chairs by the pool must be rectified. Many guests were very upset.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd or 3rd floor room and definitely request OCEANFRONT that way you are not on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank makememories00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,266
    2,047
    644
    369
    259
See reviews for
3,205
2,908
137
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,711)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was by far our favorite restaurant in Playa Del Carmen! Our favorite waiter was Filberto and his companion server Zoe... they tood great care of us during our week stay in Mexico. We highly recommend this restaurant! make sure to request that you are seated in Filberto's section. patio dining is very lovely
Shelby and Dominic

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syoung1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Il Pescatore catered my sister's wedding dinner and it was fantastic! The crab-stuffed red snapper was amazing. Service was exceptional and I highly reccomend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Steve Curnow with Beach Bum Vacation organized travel and accommodations for my sister's destination wedding at Gran Porto Real. Steve and Beach Bums were fantastic to work with...quick response to e-mail, friendly, and very helpful in making sure we all had the best time. We all loved Gran Porto Real too! From the driver who picked us up at the airport to the front desk staff, everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The resort food was amazing, service top-notch, and the place was immaculately clean. A friend and I used the spa services and were not dissappointed. We'll definitely be back and will be sure to use Steve at Beach Bums to get there!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

What more could you ask for in a hotel, you don't have to leave ur room let alone the hotel. Cocktails or volleyball On the beach, snorkeling, pool games, multiple restaurants, sushi bar, great varieity in the buffet. all inclusive deffinately worth while.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AssSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

When we.arrived.we were asked if we wanted a.drink.The first night stayed in a ocean veiw room for one night.I love this resort small easy to get around and.very friendly workers.So the next day asked to upgrade for a 120.00 dollars to move to the royal.so we got the front desk to do it for 100.00 for 6 nights.So tbe bell boy took are suitcases over to the.5 diamond resort.Did not recive the Royal treatment when we arrived,no cold towels.or a drink untill I ask for water.long lines did not get stettle and a room untill.530 pm I pefere the gran porto real.I will write a reveiw on the Royal soon.Bigger is not always better!!!! At night time we could hear the shows. it sounded like.everyone was.having a great time!!! Next time no upgrades next door for me!!! I want to do a retake in stay at the gran porto real!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would like to go back for my 50th birthday!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pam98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Fantastic resort on the beach in the middle of beautiful Playa del Carmen.
I went for an electionic music festival and this Hotel was perfectly located. Room was a great size, comfortable bed, quiet at night (surprisingly, during a music conference) and just brilliantly located...as you are mere minutues away from beautiful 5Av.
Food was exceptional, a best in Mexico for me.
And, a special thank you to Yendaly who helped us during our entire trip from extra pillows, how to find clubs and where we should check out shopping.
I will definately go there again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, its totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
4.2 km away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing