We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation for all”
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Maya
Ranked #86 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Coming on this trip with my family and cousins, I was extremely worried after reading many negative comments and little satisfaction ones. I came on this trip with my kids who are 11, 16, and 17 (teens and a child). My cousins had mostly teens and children as well. If you were worried that your teens wouldn't enjoy this resort, do NOT worry! it is a welcoming place for all! Our room wasn't the best we have had in our life but it was a comfy room for the week we spent here. Our stay here was during a busy time (spring break) march 2012. We had no problem with finding seats on the beach or at the buffet. Staff was absolutely amazing and friendly. My kids each grew close to a staff member (my teen girl loved Erick!!!) The Buffet had great food that all of us enjoyed. During the day, there are activities going on all throughout the day and at night there are even activities. Our favorite time of the day was at night. We went to the great night shows with a different theme each night and then partied at the discoteca! My teenage girls loved the disco! The location of this resort was great too, it was close to the shopping mall and activities in playa del carmen. We met a close friend on this trip who came alone. He was a nice man around 50 years old who enjoyed his stay even by himself. Overall, this is a hotel I would recommend to everyone. It is so welcoming and a great price! We will be coming back to this hotel December 2012!!! Cannot wait!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments on your family vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya. It is very important to us to receive feedback from our customers and we are pleased to know that you had a pleasant vacation.

Please remember that we will be glad to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Maya in December.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,364 - 1,370 of 6,800 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our stay was March 21 - 28. Busy spring break week but had no problem getting a chair on the beach or by the adult only pool. You just have to look a bit. We did put our towels down on chairs a couple of mornings before we took a walk on the beach. Bring your own insulated cup so you don't have to refill your drink as often. They serve drinks in small cups. We stayed in room 3301. Very quiet area overlooking the adult only pool. Very nice spa room with double sinks in the bathroom, small sitting area with couch, table, chairs in main room. No problem with noise through the walls. Fridge was stocked with more water every other day but this was plenty. No washcloths on 2 days but I brought my own. The pillows on the bed were quite hard and flat but all you have to do is ask for new ones and they will bring them right away. We asked if we could change to an ocean view room and were given a couple of room keys so we could look at the rooms. Both were very nice but we decided to stick with the larger room we already had. We never experienced any rudeness or mean people. Everyone, right down to the lawn guys, were friendly and quick to say "hola" when you passed by. I enjoyed using the little Spanish that I know. We made our reservations for the restaurants the day we arrived....Mexican restaurant (Don Diego) was fabulous. Tequila shots after dinner were awesome with their own infused flavors. The Viva International Cafe was also quite yummy. Truthfully, I can't complain about any of the restaurants we tried except at the Viva Wyndam Tangerine down the road (sister resort). It was very stuffy and too quiet there but the food was good. The buffet at the resort was very tiring even though the food was okay. You just get tired of the same thing every day. It's a must to reserve the restaurants they have on site. You won't have to eat the buffet food as often. The walk into Playa del Carmen was about 30 minutes. Be sure to go during the day because it's easy to get turned around in the market after dark. Taxi back to the resort was $7.00. We spent one day at Xcaret - not worth the $129.00 we paid. It was hot, dirty (dirt walkways) and a lot of open space so you have to walk a lot to get from one attraction to another. The river float was not my idea of fun. The life jacket rides up around your head and you have to hold it down to see anything. I did most of it on my back to avoid this. BUT, the show was well worth the wait. It was amazing - lots of dancing and music. Very entertaining. I would pay again just to see the show. The shops across the street from the resort had better prices than down in Playa del Carmen, in my opinion so if you wanted to stick close to the resort you could. It was very safe. We never felt in danger or scared at any time....except when walking through the Cancun airport to get to our hotel transfer. We used Best Day and were told to not stop and talk to anyone inside the airport - to just keep walking until you go outside. It was very hard to do. People were trying to get our attention the entire way, wanting us to book excursions or to go listen to a time share pitch. Turns out that Best Day did the same thing to us when we met with them the next morning to get our pick up time to go back to the airport. They tried to sell us excursion tickets. We got our tickets for Xcaret at the Wyndham desk for the same price. All in all, we enjoyed this resort and will definitely be going back. One other thing....they do have the drinks they serve posted on signs at the bars but I love a good rum runner so I asked and they made it. Some didn't know how but after I told them, they remembered. Just ask and they will make it for you.

Room Tip: 3000 rooms are back away from the beach and pool and are very quiet. If you want ocean view you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank klbhome01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear customer,



Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Viva Wyndham Maya.
We are glad to know that you had the chance to enjoy your vacation at our resort.



Thank you for choosing our resort and for recommending us on TripAdvisor and we would be proud to welcome you back at the Viva Wyndham Maya anytime.



Best regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Visited this resort in January of 2009. Location is great right on Playa Car beach. Smaller resort which mad it easy to get around. No waiting for shuttles. Food and drink were good and plentiful. Rooms were a little dated and were very noisy in the evening hours. Beach was great and pool bar alot of fun. Discovered the quiet pool on the last day, it was a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicSunSeeker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear customer,

We really appreciate your review published on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a great vacation at our resort.

Thank you for recommending Viva Wyndham Maya. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at anytime and we are positive that you will be able to appreciate the changes that have been made since 2009.

Best regards,
General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just returned from the Viva after two weeks. We are a family of five and altho we never did get the room that was confirmed and payed for we were comfortable enough. Other than the front desk staff the people that work there were amazing, the anamation team and kids club staff kept our kids very entertained. The food is average, the drinks are average,warm draft beer and no beach service so you really do get what you pay for. Finding a lounger on the beach even in the early am was difficult, you know the towel game...Our second week three other families and their kids joined us, while the kids had fun again the overall thought from our group was that the resort is average. One of the families had a jacket stolen from their room so that left a bad taste. Next trip we will spend a little extra and get a little more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MexicoJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We are family of 3, with a teenager. Not overly picky as we have been doing All Inclusives for 9 years, in multiple locations in Mexico, DR, Aruba & Jamaica. Our family goes with the flow. We are there for pool & beach time and to soak up the sun.

Beach: is lovely. Great swimming area, walking area. Plenty of palapas and loungers...if you are there by 730.
Previous reviews said there was no "towel game" at this resort, well there is. So if you need shade prepare to stake claim early. However on our last day the resort started to enforce this and was warning everyone. So I guess this is a muddy area?
Pool area is slicker than in most resorts, so many people fell.

Bar-beer on tap is Dos Equis which is wonderful; if you want your drink with a specific liquor just ask. I found ONE friendly bartender the entire week. One scolded me the last day of our trip. Did not find them friendly even after tipping, always using a please and thank you. This threw us as we aren't demanding, always polite but these guys really don't like their jobs.
I did like the large menu of drinks posted at the bars though.

Food: repetitive even the theme nights really weren't different.
Breakfast, was always good, not too much different you can do there. Liked the little freshly made cream filled donuts. Good coffee at the pool bar !
Lunch at the pool side bar kind of grossed us out, there is a section that the birds attack
so watch the fruit or anything on that corner. We usually went up to the main restaurant to avoid that. But the previous reviews are right on, they change very little on all of the buffets. The guac was pretty much made for the masses, runny, flavorless & not very good. The pico was simple tomatoes & onions. Nothing special. The pizza was decent with a nice thin crust. Always hot dogs but we didn't eat any.
Dinner: we were able to get 3 reservations and had no problem because we were flexible. We missed one as we screwed up the day. Bamboo at the Azteca was good. A nice change to sit down. But standardly a very similar dish to what was on the lunch buffet. There is also a pasta station if unable to find anything appealing.

Room: small but adequate. Pillow are flat and yikes the walls are paper thing. It was quite uncomfortable our last night to have the "porn" play by play on the other side of the wall.
We did have the fridge but never used it. Housekeeping did a great job everyday, room was cleaned early with a little towel sculpture. We tipped her daily as well.
Also paid additional for the room safe. The shower was a very nice size. Hair dryer, soap and shampoo dispensers are mounted.

Entertainment Staff: very friendly and did a nice job with asking people without hounding. The shows were decent but it is very loud down near the 1200 rooms during showtime.

Front Desk: check-in was easy, pretty standard. But very cold and not welcoming.

For us this place just fell short in a friendly factor. A simple Hola or Buenas Dias; just not there even if you attempted to be friendly. Security was posted EVERYWHERE scowling , great from a safety standpoint but after a couple of days it became creepy. Alot of smokers but it's also a fairly open air area so that wasn't too bad.

This is a "get what you pay for " kind of place. It was a bargain through Orbitz and that's the level of service, food and accomodations we got. They are All Inclusive but barely. If you've already reserved don't worry it will be fine. We just wouldn't choose Viva again based on the our experience.

Tip: bring your own travel mugs. You can fill with water, bar beverages
Wi-fi is decent at the front lobby or bar also at Starbucks across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 1200 are closer to the pool and show area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N0mastequila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear customer,



We appreciate the time dedicated to write your opinion about your stay at our resort. We regret to not have been able to fulfill your expectations.
We assure you that your feedback will be considered in order to ameliorate our services.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.



We remain at your disposal.



Best regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at the Viva Maya during a last minute trip for spring break and it was simply amazing. The reception staff were quick and got us into the rooms easily. The guest service staff was very helpful with booking our a la carte reservations. The entertainment staff were the best! Special shout outs to Erick, Melissa, Armando, Daniel, Israel, Fabiola. They were very approachable and always made our days fun with sports and other activities, especially the nightly shows. The performers are extremely talented. Last but not least - the beach was awesome! Clear blue waters with white sand..you can't ask for anything more. My only negative comment is that the breakfast service at the snack grill was very good. The staff do not automatically come over and offer coffee/tea..we had to wait at least 10 minutes for them to come over, or we got our own coffee/tea. Overall though - very good trip and I definitely would recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach are have the best view, but if you're an early sleeper you might get distra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable feedback about your stay at the Viva Wyndham Maya.

We are glad to know that your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya was enjoyable. We will pass your positive remarks on to the departments involved. Customer satisfaction is our most important goal and therefore it is really rewarding to read your positive comments.

Thank you for choosing our resort and for recommending us on TripAdvisor.



Kind regards,


General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Upon arrival , I was not very impressed. As the week went on I liked it more and more. I kept reminding myself that the vacation was very reasonably priced, and we got what we paid for. The positives- the staff worked diligently to provide a clean and safe environment. There was a lot of security and that was reassuring. The food was the same each day, but my family really liked it and it was very good. We ate in the Portofino restaurant one evening ( reservation) the food was excellent, the waiter not. We had dinner at another reservation only restaurant , Don Diego, both the food and servers were terrific. The rather small property size was a plus with two young children 7 and 9. The kids loved the place. The beach and the beach chairs and pool area were perfect. The housekeeper was fantastic, and extremely honest. I returned to the room one day and he pointed out that we had left the safe open. All was there as we had left it, phones, passports,iPads, cash, cameras, credit cards. I gave him a well deserved tip. The kids did some of the kids club activities, that staff was really nice and competent.
The majority of the staff was pleasant, not overly so, though not rude either. Witnessing some of the clientele, I can totally understand.
The room was smallish for 4 people, not a lot of room for keeping clothes and things tidy. The toilet was a disaster, unfixable really, but they came quickly to fix what they could, repeatedly. Our room was an ocean view, steps from the pool, beach and snack bar. That was great during the day, but it was also next to the show area and bar at night, loud and noisy. It was the 1300 building. All in all, the resort was nice enough. I wouldn't necessarily return, but I wouldn't say I never would. My husband liked it more than I, but I guess I would have liked just a step or two up.
Again, we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms, great during the day, loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DizzylizzyCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments on your family vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya.



It is very important to us to receive feedback from our customers. We assure you that your comments will be considered in order to ameliorate our services. We are pleased to hear that your children had such a good time.

We hope that you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at Viva Wyndham Resorts.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.8 km away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#108 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
514 reviews
0.5 km away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#70 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,805 reviews
0.7 km away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#91 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#79 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5,360 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5,150 reviews
0.7 km away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Maya

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Mza. Lote Holetero 5 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $235 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Wyndham Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Maya
Maya Viva Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing