We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not what I expected.”
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Maya
Ranked #85 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon at this hotel.Our Tavelling dates were 14th April to the 28th April of this year.
First of all I would like to say we were quite dissappointed and totally not what we expected for the perfect honeymoon destination.
The room was superiour ocean view no 2204 , it was basic and the balcony was very small.
The positve was the beach front location truly Carribbean.
The food was very repetitive and boring so my wife and I decided to eat out on many nights.We found an amazing resatraunt in 5th Avenue but typically we found it on our last night. The name of the restaraunt was Lateral and reccommend a visit and you wont be dissapointed.
I would reccommend Mexico Playa Del Carmen to anyone but not this hotel.
If you speak English you wont be considered by the entertainment team you have to be either speak spanish or french to be considered which is a let down too.
I hope anyone reading this finds it useful.

Room Tip: A vista room 1201 but comes at a price upgrade of 60 USD a night .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback regarding your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our facilities and services.

We regret to not have been able to fulfill your expectations.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,338 - 1,344 of 6,783 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

Here's the gist: We didn't have the greatest experience - they did not have many things I expect from an all-inclusive resort. I gave this review 2 stars because there were a few things we enjoyed: the clean large pool, soft beach sand, large beach towels, decent drinks that were in deed plentiful, swim up bar. But there were far more things that we have complaints about. Read on and I'll try to explain them all.

The Room/check-in: Based on Tripadvisor reviews, we requested a room in the 3000 block (we ended up in 3221) because they were supposed to be renovated, large, and quiet, next to the adult pool and away from the disco club, which is open all night. We later found out from another couple that all rooms are now renovated. We arrived at 1 pm and went to the reception desk. They copied our passports and assigned us a 3000 room, but would not let us pick up our keys until 3 pm. Other reviews said that you can do things before check in, such as make restaurant reservations etc., but you CAN NOT, so be mindful of that when arriving early. When we returned to the desk at 3 pm, they had reassigned us a room in the 2000 block. So we had quite an ordeal for about a half hour or more trying to resolve this issue and get back our 3000 room (had they mentioned that all rooms are now renovated, we would not have fought so hard). Much like our experience in European hotels, they did not have good customer service, so do not expect that. There was not much of a language barrier, so communication was not the problem, disclosure was the problem.
Now back to the room: it was decently nice, second floor, two double beds, hard mattresses but better than we expected being in Mexico, nice tiled shower and double sinks, jacuzzi tub, large closet. The bad: NO ROOM SERVICE, teeny tiny balcony,no toiletries, no washclothes, room safe is $2 extra per day, thin walls, strange light switches that only worked when they wanted to, etc, etc. Lastly, no information about the resort at all in the room - no menus for restaurants, spa, water sports, nothing.

The Food/Restaurants: Herein lies our biggest issues. The buffet/regular dining food was not good, and you are only permitted to make reservations at the restaurants on the property for half of the nights of your stay (2 of the 4 nights we stayed). The restaurants (we ate at Portofinos and the Viva Cafe) are decent, with four courses, but strange flavor combinations. And we could only ever get 6 or 6:30 pm reservations. We showed up at a restaurant one night just to see if we could get a table without a reservation, but they would not seat us, even though more than half the tables were empty. Overall, this system is confusing and frustrating and not well explained. The buffet food was sub-par - very few salad/vegetable options and way too much bread. And we thought that the mexican food was horrible quality for actually being in Mexico!

The rest of the resort: The pools, lounge chairs, and other amenities were nice and clean. The bars were good and made decent drinks, but they had a funny issue with straws for the drinks. They had straws, but gave you a hard time when you asked for one. This goes back to the customer service issue. Overall, we found that we had more issues with bar and wait staff than enjoyable encounters, which made for a miserable vacation. Everyone does speak english very well, so do not worry about that.

Lastly, the vacationers consisted mostly of europeans and canadians. We met very few Americans. And many of the characteristics that I described are more geared towards europeans, in my experience. In saying that, I do not recommend this resort for Americans.

Hope that helps you all!

-An American couple in our 30's, newly married/well traveled/enjoy good food, good service, and an overall enjoyable experience. This trip to Viva Maya was a rewards trip that we won from a bridal registry promo deal through Davids Bridal.

Room Tip: From the sounds of it, all rooms are now renovated. However, the 1000 building was undergoing const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear customer,


We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve our services. We regret to not have been able to fulfill your expectations.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This resort has beach, bar, food and fun. I've been here before and went for 3 weeks in March and had a very relaxing time. During spring break the beach got more crowded so you need to get up early for a good spot. Top shelf every drink and after a couple tips the bartenders remember your favorites. The bed could be better and the rooms are fairly plain but hopefully it's just a crash pad and you're enjoying the beach. In 3 weeks it rained only once during the day for 10 mins. They keep the place clean and well groomed. The buffet food is varied and the restaraunts offer other tasty variety. The lobster (extra $25) in the VIVA Cafe was fabulous. Has a good kids program with varied activities. It feels safe since the only way in or out of Playacar is through gated armed security and each hotel also has security. You can leave the resort and walk to town or take a short cab ride to Plaza Las Americas (mall with Sears) or Walmart. Lots of adventures offerred at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SCADA_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments on your family vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya. It is very important to us to receive feedback from our guests and we are glad to know that you had a pleasant vacation.

Please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Let me say that the only thing wrong with this resort are the people who stay and find something to complain about..............we stayed for a week in April and loved it.

Our room was kept spotless clean, the beach is fantastic and the drink selection is second to none.

The desert spread that was put on in the lobby was incredible to say the least.......and for those of you who can't find something good to eat in one of restaurants or the buffet I suggest you stay home.

Everyone at the resort worked very hard to keep the grounds spotless.......what beach in Canada or anywhere else for that matter do you go to only to find workers digging holes in the sand and covering up the seaweed.....

Anyone who complains about this resort need not travel because you WON'T find this type of service for the dollar anywhere else in your home city........take a look around at how hard eveyone at this resort works all to please you and perhaps give them a smile and hello and if you want to go all out.........leave them a tip after you eat a 4 course meal with whatever you want to drink......you would sure tip for this service at home!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank suehoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear customer,

It is really satisfactory to receive your positive feedback and to know that we fulfilled your expectations during your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya.
Our commitment lies in providing a quality service to all of our guests.

Thank your for recommending our resort and please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back.



Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just spent two weeks on our ´Golden Honeymoon´! Brilliant time and superb entertainment led by Dany and his brilliant team of Animation Professionals. never a poor show -- always the height of Top Class London-Style Revue. Recommended for weddings and Anniversaries. Now on our way back home I am writing this in the VIP lounge at Cancun Airport- Chris & Val

Room Tip: Stay in Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank easyclix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear customer,

We sincerely appreciate your positive review about your vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Our goal is to provide you a happy and relaxing vacation and we are glad to know that we have achieved this.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort and thank you for choosing to stay at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

No worries when you book at this family resort! Great stay for the price we paid. Friendly staff, clean room, great food and awesome beach! There was 11 of us that spend a week here and we all enjoyed our stay. Resort was full which meant getting up early to get a beach chair. You only get two bottles of water per room for the week, so bring your own reusable water containers to get drinkable water from the buffet or beach bar. The evening shows were just ok compared to what we've seen elsewhere, so we often went shopping to 5th Avenue in the evenings. Would definitely consider going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer section which is farthest from beach, but rooms are larger and it only took s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable feedback about your recent stay at our property.


It is really rewarding to read your positive comments and we are glad to know that your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya was enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing our resort and for recommending us on TripAdvisor.



Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Amazing place, good restaurants and drinks, and fantastic service all around from Viva Wyndham Maya. This was my first all-inclusive resort, and I cannot wait to try more of them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandhabs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear customer,



Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Viva Wyndham Maya.
We are glad to know that you had the chance to enjoy your vacation at our resort.



Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your return visit.



Best regards,
General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.8 km away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#117 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
501 reviews
0.5 km away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#74 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,792 reviews
0.7 km away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#93 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#80 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,315 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,125 reviews
0.7 km away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#61 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Maya

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Mza. Lote Holetero 5 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $224 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Wyndham Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Maya
Maya Viva Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing