We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Viva Wyndham Azteca - Take the good with the bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Ranked #66 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Viva Wyndham Azteca - Take the good with the bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Viva Wyndham Azteca

We stayed there from January 21 –February 4

I have mixed feelings of our stay at this resort.

We wanted to be close to 5th and the action and it was great for walking into town. We walked there many times to people watch, shop and soak up the ambience. We also went for a couple’s massage at Christine’s. I highly recommend that!! We also walked to the sister hotel to see their night time show. Nice walk after dinner. I wouldn’t enjoy staying there because it seemed so large. We like the size of the Azteca. It is small and everything is minutes away.

Pros-

Eating outside in the courtyard area was wonderful. There were birds that would raid a plate if left unattended but we never left a plate alone. I actually like the birds so they didn’t bother me.

We had a quiet room which is really the only request we had. I would have hated to be in a room close to the lobby bar that rocked until the wee hours of the morning.

The food was wonderful. I can’t honestly come up with anything bad. I didn’t have to cook or clean up afterwards and I never left a meal hungry. I loved the breakfast sausage and never had the bacon that was behind the counter at the omelette station. We went to the Italian, Japanese, Mayan, and Mexican ala carte restaurants.

For the most part the staff was pleasant enough. There was a definite divide in the “Viva” animation staff. They really played favourites with the Italian guests. The other workers were hard working and were always busy. When it would rain or a leaf blew around they would be mopping, using a squeegee and keeping everything tidy.

I thought the drinks were great at the resort. The mohitos were fabulous and so were the ceasers. I really loved the martini specials every evening outside the buffet restaurant. The chocolate martini was out of this world! I would love the recipe for that one.

Cons-

There were very few English speaking guests. It was always a surprise to find someone that actually did speak English. Canadians were definitely in the minority and there were so many Europeans and they have a different outlook on life and manners 

The Lobby Bar was impossible to sit in because of the amount of cigarette smokers.

Would we go back? Yes ! because the good always out weighs the bad. The resort doesn't make a bunch of promises that it doesn't keep. It is a nice, small resort. The food is good, the drinks are good, the beach is good. It is in a great area of Playacar. Walking into town was easy and was safety was never an issue for us.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room ask to change it. They seemed willing to accomodate people's re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sherryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear costumer,

We appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor. Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Azteca to spend your last vacation.

It is a pleasure to hear that your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca was pleasant. Please be sure that the observation you shared with us will be considered in order to improve our services.

Thanks again for choosing Viva Wyndham Azteca to spend your vacation; we look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,450
    1,450
    432
    128
    86
See reviews for
1,153
1,370
64
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I just returned last week from this resort. I have travelled all over Mexico staying in both condos and hotels and I would rate this resort as average. The location is excellent and the beach was great. On the downside I'd say rooms were very very basic. The food was basic as well. We went out for dinner most nights. The best food at the resort was the pizza at the poolside bar at lunchtime...always fresh, good variety and tasted great!!
We were initally given a room with no view, asked to change and they said in a day or so another room will be available so we waited and switched. Bit of a pain, but find often these places toss out worst rooms first hoping you'll just stay put.
The staff was friendly and there seemed to be a very high participation level in the activities.
At the time we were there most of the tourists were European so assuming they advertise heavily over in Europe.
Overall I'd say sure go and enjoy as long as you get a good price!

Room Tip: Stick with the ground floor...and note they will give you worst room first so you will likely have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adevkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My mother and I are avid travellers and stayed at the Azteca lst spring and thought it was great. The only downfall was the view from our balcony. We were facing a wall/fence covered in vines, etc not more than 5 feet away, so we had no view of the resort or beach. The pros were everything else. The staff were amazing, everyone was so friendly and always smiling. The beach was beautiful and staff circled the beach with fresh fruit to snack on. You could also get a view of the cruise ships sailing into Cozumel.The rooms were basic but clean. The resort was only a couple mins from 5th ave, which is a must...so much to see and do! The street outside the resort fetl safe to walk down, even at night. Not much for entertainment on the resort, but if you would rather have a laid back vacation, then its not a big deal (Like I said, go to 5th ave for the nightlife). Oh, the food...cant forget about the food...It was great. Always lots to choose from at the Buffet, so we didnt even reserve the a la cartes.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shasta911ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

The biggest problem with this resort is that it seems the management hadn't finished Hotel Hospitality 101. From booking to transportation to check-in to problem resolution the whole experience was disappointing. We were treated as 2nd class. Amenities were NOT as stated on their website. Room lacked tissues, clock, toiletries, robes, horrible lighting, tried to charge us for the in-room safe use. The entertainment seemed grade school quality. Restaurants were not exceptional. Best part about this resort was the friendly staff. Everyone said "Hola!" all the time. May have potential if management finishes their degree in Hotel Management.

Room Tip: No elevators so choose lower level floors if you don't mind climbing 39 steps one way each time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Just came back from holidays with a friend and had a wonderful time, but...the bugs were unbelievable! I have never experienced as many mosquitoe bites in one week as I did that week - and being in rural Canada - I know my bugs (you could see them on the walls and flying around). Even though I enjoyed the resort itself and have no complaints about the food or anything, I would not return there due to the discomfort of itching that ensued. There is nothing that ruins a great-looking tan faster than a bunch of ugly red welts. If you"re planning to stay here (and it is a nice place), bring your bug spray!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We traveled as a family and this was our first time to Mexico (Ages 40's 20 and 14). Many people told us it was unsafe anywhere we go in Mexico but we still decided to come to Viva Azteca. Wow, were we surprised from the moment we arrived at the airport. We booked the roundtrip airport transfers from the cancun airport website and they were great! Check in was quick and smooth. The rooms we were given were right by the beach which was even better. The beach was BEAUTIFUL and you didn't have to fight over the loungers. Grounds of the hotel were spectacular. Alcohol was not watered down and they serve Sol for beer which was great! The A La Carte restaurants and the buffet all were delicious. Some food was greasy but I didn't mind it. Entertainment was great at all times. They tried to include you into everything they do. After the shows at night they have a mini disco at the lobby bar for all guests which was fun. We for sure will recommend friends to this resort and will be back in the future. Only things we didn't like was that the pool was right out in the sun and by 2PM the water was boiling but hey thats what the beach is for and that the walls in the rooms are really thin that you can hear people next door to you or outside. Thanks Viva Azteca for the great memories!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpirytusNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was our first visit to this lovely all-inclusive resort, Jan 4-18, 2012. Beautiful grounds, immaculate in every way, and from rooms to grounds always evident were the housekeeping and maintenance staff working at keeping it that way. All the Azteca staff are very friendly and we were always greeted with a smile and a "hola". This is a smaller resort (which is always our preference), cozy and very relaxing, with many photo ops on the grounds and on the beach, which is also beautiful. We were on the second floor of the 2000 building which allowed us to enjoy a view of the grounds and the warm night breezes with patio doors open. Buffet food good, great variety for all meals, and Italian a la carte was our favourite. Special thanks to the animation young people (Enzo, Christel, Martin, Carolina, Martina), the bar staff, (Luis, Roberto), and Buffet supervisor (Jose and his staff), who made our trip so enjoyable. We hope to make a return visit next winter.

Room Tip: We liked room 2222, which had a lovely view of the grounds, but made for easy walking to the buffet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StoneybrookAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 km away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#83 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
21.1 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
1.1 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,470 reviews
20.8 km away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
0.2 km away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#90 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Azteca

Property: Viva Wyndham Azteca
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote Holetero No. 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#62 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Azteca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be close to everything. White sand beaches. Mayan ruins. Lush jungles. A championship golf course. And exciting nightlife. The Wyndham Azteca All-Inclusive Resort, a stunning resort on the breathtaking Mayan Riviera on the east coast of the Yucatan, has it all. And it's just 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport in Mexico. Explore captivating Mayan ruins. Find your own private seaside cove, or experience the fun in the sun and nightlife of Playa Del Carmen, just two miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Viva Wyndham Azteca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Azteca Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Azteca
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Viva Azteca
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Azteca Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing