We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long time Patron Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Ranked #74 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This being our 8th stay at the Azteca I have to say how disappointed I was with the change in demographics. The frontline staff are awesome but the managemnet leaves a lot to be desitred. The introduction of Villaggi Bravos absolutely spoiled our stay. We will never go back.

Room Tip: Take lots of Allieve or Tylenol for the sore back from the beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank garryho123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear customer,

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve our operations in all aspects.

We truly regret to not have been able to fulfill your expectations. Please accept a sincere apology for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your recent stay in the Mayan Riviera.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Kind regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 3,765 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

!!!!!BEWARE TRAVELERS !!!!

WARNING TO ALL TRAVELERS AND GUESTS STAYING AT VIVA AZTECA THE STAFF AT THIS RESORT ARE THIEVES !!! INCLUDING THE ONES AT THE FRONT DESK.
I stayed at the Aztecta from march 26th to april 2 and the day before we were supposed to leave we came back to our room from the beach and noticed the cable on the TV was out and shortly after we noticed that our safe was unlocked and wouldnt re-lock. I reported the cable problem to the front desk and they came and fixed it and seconds after the tv was fixed our safe locked. We went through our stuff and realized thet we had been robbed or over $300 cash right our of our wallets. Momments later we realized that the THIEVES had gone through our bags as well.

I went up to the front desk and asked to speak with the manager and I asked her if the hotel had a system for when guests check out that they cancel the cable and neutralize the safe.?...She said "YES,HOW DO YOU KNOW THIS"? and thats when I told her that the staff are working together to rob the guests. I told her what had happened and she asked if I reported the cable problem so I told her yes...she checked it on the computer and she looked up a few other things but wouldnt tell me what she was checking and when she was done done she said she wouldnt be able to get my money back but she will launch an investigation because she found there was some suspicious activity with my room.

We found out earlier that day that a woman had her wallet stollen from the beach towell attendant and to my knoledge her wallet was never recovered. So these THIEVES work together and they move fast.

IF YOU NOTICE ANYTHING SUSPICOUS DONT SHAKE YOUR HEAD AND SECOND GUESS YOUR SELF........YOU'VE BEEN ROBBED BY THE STAFF AT THE VIVA AZTECA !!!!

Now to rate the quallity of the hotel its self and the food...its rated here as a 4 -4 1/2 star but its barely a 3 star. The food was gross the only decent meal was breakfast and good luck getting bacon ..they hide it behind the cheff that makes the ommelettes.....and the hotel stinks like a septick tank. in our room the closet doors were broken and the sliding doors leading to the balcony kept de-railing. The wall plugs when you unplugged from the wall would pull the soccket and wires right out of the wall..And one last thing...your better off sleeping on the floors the beds were harder then the floor and the sheets were discusting !!!

I want to thank those who read this review and I hope you warn others

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cuda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time writing this review regarding your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

We wish to notify you that your case was investigated conforming the procedures.



We regret to not have been able to meet your expectations.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just got back from a week at the Wyndham Azteca in Playa del Carmen and had a fabulous time! This is our second year in a row staying there and they didn't disappoint. We (2 couples) had ocean front rooms and it was just beautiful. The staff is amazing, especially Elisa at the front desk. She remembered us from last year! Plan to go back again next year; definitely our favorite place to stay.

Room Tip: I've stayed in two different rooms and never had a problem. This is not a 5 star hotel but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littletonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you for a second time at Viva Wyndham Azteca.



It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities.
Furthermore we are happy to read that we fulfilled your expectations during your stay as our customer's satisfaction is our constant and most important goal.

We look forward to your next visit at our resort and thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor.



Kind regards,
General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is our second time to the Rivera Maya and first time at this resort. We stayed for one week from March 24 to 31, 2012. My wife is a very picky eater and she loved that the buffet always had a low salt and fat selection for every meal. Overall the buffet had excellent food that is not drenched in oil with delicious taste and lot of variety. Every night was a different theme at the buffet. In addition to the buffet, there are 3 restaurants to choose at this resort plus other restaurants at the sister resort, the Viva Maya which is a 8 minute walk. The food at these restaurants was delicious and presentation was superb. There is a 3 ala cart maximum for a 7 night stay. The poolside bar makes delicious thin crust pizzas and burgers in addition to other buffet items.

The entertainment staff works hard to engage the guests and they do a great job at making your stay as active as you want it to be. We just wanted to relax on the powdery white beach and walk the beach every morning. The walk to Play Del Carmen along the beach takes only 20 mins. each direction. You can walk for miles along the beach southward. We like properties that offer distant walks on the beach. Also, I enjoyed sailing the catamaran every day. They have kayaks too. The resort is located inside the quiet and beautiful Playacar community. We borrowed bicycles with a lock from the hotel to cycle around the golf course and saw the beautiful villas. A 10 min bike ride brings you to downtown Play Del Carmen for shopping bazaars and other restaurants. We felt safe and relaxed on the resort and off. On Thursday evening crafts merchants set up at the courtyard and offer beautiful jewelry at very reasonable prices. There are other stores and conveniences at the resort. The gym looks well equipped. The free internet is available at certain hot spots but it is really slow. You can buy high speed access at the internet cafe.

If you like a quiet, smaller resort with a great beach and delicious food this place is for you. The sister property offers additional options if you wish.

We would return to the Viva Azteca. We had a great relaxed vacation.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in building C as you will hear the theater from 930pm to midnight. Asking to change room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amechia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at the Axteca from March 23-30. Overall, the trip was "fine". The hotel rooms are fair. The hotel is not new and it is evident. It needs some updates desperately. The beds are hard and the pillows are not much better. I would suggest you bring your own. The rooms are lacking conditioner for your hair and body lotion. One day we ran out of soap and shampoo and for some reason it was not refilled. The place is kept up very well, however. The grounds are very nice and clean. The pool is nice and the beach is outstanding. The ocean is perfect for swimming and boogie boarding!! The staff is also extremely nice. The food is just ok, but usually you could find something. The Mexican night is the best. The desserts were pretty horrible. The one thing we found out is that the most of the guests are from out of the country, mainly Italy. While this is fine and everyone is nice and fun, most people do not speak English and a many people on the staff speak Italian. There are also a LOT of smokers which becomes annoying while you are eating and hanging on the beach.

Room Tip: Our room was in the 2000 series and the location was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LAK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My family and I (2 children in early teens) stayed at the Azteca from March 21st - March 28th. Overall we enjoyed the resort and would recommend it. I believe when you rate this resort based on the price, you will be very happy. The resort is very clean, the staff very friendly and the food was good. We liked the location of the resort; it was close to the Playacar shopping district, Starbucks, and the other Wyndham Resort the Maya. The Azteca is a smaller resort which we liked and all of us had a lot of fun. We walked backed and forth from the Azteca to the Maya for food, the pool, and entertainment (you can use both resorts). The buffet at both the Azteca and Maya were good, and the resturants at both resorts were very good. We enjoyed the Maya too, this resort was a little bit larger and more crowded/busy though. The Azteca was more relaxed and laid back. Our room which was in the 1000 series of the resort was updated and nice. We liked the pool at the Maya better, but the beach at the Azteca better. The beds were not rock hard and were decent. We stayed at the Riu Playacar 2 years ago and we enjoyed the Wyndham Resorts much better. The food at both the Maya and Azteca was better then the Riu Playacar, and the room at the Azteca was much better then the Riu Playacar. My wife and I are already talking about going back to the Azteca next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petros M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear customer,

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your vacation at the Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Our staff is very motivated to provide you with a happy and worriless vacation. Customer satisfaction is our most important goal and therefore we are glad to hear that we have achieved this.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

And again, thank you for choosing to stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Viva Azteca , March 8-15, 2012. The resort is great for the value, food is good, the beach is awesome. One of the fantastic features we enjoyed is that we were only 10 minutes walking to 5th Ave. 5thAve is a fantastic place, with great restaurants, entertainment, and lots of shops. We would definitely stay at Viva Azteca, as it is a very clean resort, even though the room walls are paper thin, but overall it is a very good deal for the price.

Room Tip: if you are not happy with your room, just ask management, they are quite accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGOMES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for publishing your opinion about the Viva Wyndham Azteca on TripAdvisor.

We work every day with the commitment to provide a quality service to all of our guests. It is very gratifying to hear that we achieved our constant goal in your recent visit to our property.

Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Azteca.



Best regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.4 km away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
685 reviews
0.5 km away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#87 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,739 reviews
22.3 km away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,029 reviews
0.2 km away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#80 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,173 reviews
36.2 km away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Azteca

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote Holetero No. 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#62 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $200 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Azteca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be close to everything. White sand beaches. Mayan ruins. Lush jungles. A championship golf course. And exciting nightlife. The Wyndham Azteca All-Inclusive Resort, a stunning resort on the breathtaking Mayan Riviera on the east coast of the Yucatan, has it all. And it's just 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport in Mexico. Explore captivating Mayan ruins. Find your own private seaside cove, or experience the fun in the sun and nightlife of Playa Del Carmen, just two miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Viva Wyndham Azteca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Azteca Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Azteca
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Viva Azteca
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Azteca Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing