We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Nearby Hotels
US$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$594
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$395
US$215
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
US$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$486
US$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$562
US$472
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$973
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$212
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
US$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,961)
Filter reviews
9,961 results
Traveller rating
7,628
1,563
459
172
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,628
1,563
459
172
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal servicemolethe grillsouth bargabi clubla palapa restaurantyhi spadinner reservationsalfredobutler serviceguest servicesswim up suitebali bedsour honeymoonpool partypersonal butlerall inclusive resort
Filter
Updating list...
6,767 - 6,772 of 9,961 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I travelled at the Paradisus from Jan. 18-25th, although I have already provided my review on the Esmeralda section, we were able to visit and eat on the Perla Side as the food throughout the resort was wonderful.

The only downside was the coupons we received for attending their presentation. We wanted to use the coupons for the spa which were US dollars but it was never applied as the front desk before leaving. The lady at the desk said she will apply it but it got too confusing since the hotel bill was in Pesos and we have very little time until our bus came to pick us up. When i got home and looked at my visa account there was a charge of the full amount for the spa (2 massages and 2 facials for almost $600 US) That is very over priced.

You can view a video review on Youtube under Bookit.com. I was interviewed by them and i can be seen at 4:34 and 5:22. Type in Paradisus La Esmeralda and La Perla

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRHuwnLjMZk&feature=player_embedded

Room Tip: Skip the Spa
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed at the resort in February 2012 and found it to be so beautiful that it was almost unreal. The whole resort even smelled wonderful. I would recommend the pork tenderloin at Fuego if you stay here. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that is on the top floor and faces east for views of the gulf.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajkq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your post on TripAdvisor and for selecting Paradisus Playa del Carmen to your holidays.

Is good to know that our efforts on provide sensorial experiences such aromatherapy, are identified and cherished by our guests.

Once more, we appreciate your comments and we hope you come back soon.

King regards,

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel opened in November, we were there in December so there was still work to be completed. It is a beautiful hotel, very South Beach , five star feel, modern, beautiful furniture, gorgeous pool (the water was quite cold)
, friendly staff. The food and a la carte restaurants were top notch, some of the best we have ever had at an all inclusive, also try the martini bar, the mixologist makes wonderful martinis, all kinds. You definetely get the five star treatment from the staff, very nice.
The breakfast buffet was amazing, lots of variety,first class ingredients.
Downside was that the room had not been properly cleaned and finished after construction, still dust and plaster in places and we heard the same from other people. The vegetation is brand new so you don't get the feel of a lush and tropical environment, gardens, etc. which i love. You cannot see the water anywhere from the restaurants or the pool, or anywhere from the property unless you are up. The beach is protected by mangrove so there are trees separating the hotel from the beach. The best part of the beach is on the family side of the resort, we were on the adult side (La Perla) and it was very rocky and dangerous with sharp rocks.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marchwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2012

For those of you interested in going but have'nt booked, BOOK! You will not be dissapointed. The resort was amazing, the decor modern, new, very chic. The food was outstanding..they have different types of cuisine to satify everyone. We stayed at the Perla and did the Royal Service, we loved it. It was very private which is what we were looking for. If you want the ocean view but don't want to pay the upgrade request room 1403...the tarrece is HUGE, there is only 3 with tarrece's that big, but only 1403 has the ocean view. I have nothing but great things to say about our room. Bed was so comfy, shower was HUGE, and the nescafe machine in the room was realy nice.

24 hour room service was great. Favourite was morning pot of coffee with warm chocolate cruissonts (spelling sorry).

Our experiance with the tempature of the pool water was just fine, not sure what everyone else is talking about....how flippin hot do you want water when your in 90 degree weather??? All the restaraunts were great. Downtown is serioulsy 35-40 minute walk on the beach...it's so nice!!!!

Only thing that could be better is the beach. We didn't swim much in front of our resort because it was rocky, but don't worry you have miles of beach front to select from.

Also, ALL the butlers are great. Don't go in there selecting one because of post's on here, we did that and realized that they are ALL fantastic. Tip them, tip the bartenders and the pool guys/girls bringing you food. I can't beleive how cheap some people are.

Seriously book, you won't be dissapointed.

I keep telling my girlfriend that trying to book a trip after this one is going to have to be just as nice of better :)

It really was amazing!

Enjoy.

Room Tip: 1403 if you want ocean view without paying ocean view price!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Age07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We just got back last night after a week stay at La Perla. We simply loved this resort. When we arrived, we were greeted right away by very friendly, helpful staff. We originally booked a junior swim up suite but they upgraded us to a one bedroom swim up suite with concierge at no extra charge. This was a nice surprise. The bellboy took us to our suite and when we walked in, it was gorgeous. Huge tub, large double rain shower stall, double sink vanity, marble floors, dining area with wet bar, fully stocked fridge, large sitting area, 2 plasma TV's, iPod dock system, jacuzzi on the patio etc. etc. Can't say enough about the suite...oh almost forgot, very comfortable kingside bed with comfy sheeting. The room was 5 star.

The restaurants, food and service were also 5 star. We ate at The Grill, The Market, Gabi Club, Mole, Sunset Grill and the buffet and every meal was delicious. The waiters were all so friendly and attentive.

The pool area was fantastic. Lots of chairs, bed huts, towels and great service. There were always waiters around to serve drinks and snacks. The music could have been a little more up beat but none than less I guess it was in theme of the resort...zen and relaxing. The pool water was warm not cold.

The beach area was okay. Like some of the previous reviews, it was small with lots of rocks but when we were there, we could see staff working on removing large rocks and in time they will have this fixed. There were however lots of chairs and waiters available to serve you drinks and food. We didn't spend time on the beach, as we preferred to be by the pool or at our swim
up patio laying in the pool beds.

Other positive notes we liked was the decor and design of the hotel. The furnishings, sculptures, lighting, music throughout all areas of the hotel, entertainment at night (especially the fire show), Gabi Club, guest bracelets, lounge areas with comfy beds everywhere, and very friendly staff always greeting you with a smile.

Our only complaint we would have was with the housekeeping. The first 2 nights our room was never done before 4pm and in fact the 3rd night, we had to call the front desk at 7pm because it still hadn't been done. They apologized and quickly came to clean our room but it should not
have happened. We found that the attention to detail such as not emptying garbage cans,refilling the Kleenex box, or washing the coffee cups was not 5 star and more training is needed. We let the front desk know and the service was much better the last 3 days.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again. We've stayed at many all-inclusives in Mexico and the Caribean including the Paradisus in Punta Cana and this by far was the best one we've stayed at. They're opening another Paradisus in Costa Rica in 2013 and if it's anything like La Perla, we'd like to go there as well.

Room Tip: If you want a swim up room with lots of sun, request rooms from 1000 to 1025 in buildings A or B....get the swim up suites, they are worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SouthwestRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews