We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$323
US$269
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$508
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$617
US$491
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$359
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$329
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$438
US$426
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$424
US$342
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$178
US$161
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$250
US$222
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,818
US$844
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,352)
Filter reviews
5,352 results
Traveller rating
1,639
2,079
904
435
295
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,639
2,079
904
435
295
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnico's barterraza grillitalian restaurantthe ice cream parlorpremium packageswim up barsmall resortjungle settinggated communitygreat beachnachosother resortsall inclusive resortplenty of chairsbuffet foodentertainment staffgrounds are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 5,352 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2018

Stayed with the family over new year 2017/18.
New year Party was Medium as far as internation interests are concerned.

Overall I did not like to too seek with everything for extra charge.
Having paid 3000 USD I simply expect to have for eg wireless for free.

Kids club was medium. People overall friendly but not helpful or proactively

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank felse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2018

No free WIFI in public area's is not a good service for all inclusive. No free coffee at the lobby bar is not a good service for all inclusive. The beach bar is not available for superior. Allright but it was also impossible to order there even if there were no other guests and even if you were not planning to sit here (just order). Not enough bartenders. Long waiting time at the snackbar. Room was some kind of wet. Roof in gym was leaking. The car renting company ordered by the Reef did not show up on time.Staff at restaurant was very friendly and helpfull. Strange guests, one of them had a tattoo of a Swastica.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank finimi2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefResorts, Brand Executive at The Reef Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear finimi2018,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences. Our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay. Certainty, it appears we did not have the opportunity to fulfill this during your time with us and would like to express you our most sincere apologies on the behalf of the entire staff of The Reef Playacar.

Regarding your comment about the wi-fi we would like to mention that, as we have accesible rates, we thought it would be important to always give our guests different package options for them to choose from depending on what they consider it is better. We have three different packages: Standard package, Superior package and Premium package. Please note that the Premium package offers the most amenities and benefits such as the wi-fi. All the other Packages will have a surcharge for the wifi service and it will cost 7 USD per day by purchasing it for your entire stay.

Please allow us to inform you that since our resort is located in a zone surrounded by a tropical forest, alleviate the humidity condition is beyond our control as a consequence of our geographical location.

Please allow us to once again express our sincerest apologies to you and do hope that, as we continue to work towards enhancing our product, you may decide to give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018

We had a great stay at this nice hotel, where everything was taken care for. We loved the beach and there was plenty of variation in the food, also thete were nice afternoon snacks.
Only the bed could be better and the bathroom requires some maintenance.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thijs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefResorts, Brand Executive at The Reef Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear Thijs D,

Thank you for letting us know about your wonderful experience at our hotel. We must say we cannot express enough our satisfaction about the positive experience and sensational time you mention to have spent in our property.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our delicious food. Indeed, we make every effort to provide a wide choice of dishes by offering an assortment of restaurants, a la Carte Italian and Mexican as well as the buffet.

We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of these upgrades to the property within the next couple of months and that five villas had already been remodeled. In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Please send us an e-mail to adireccion@thereefresorts.com as we have a special rate and benefits for repeat guests.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018

My husband & I stayed first at the Reef Coco Beach from Dec. 19, - Dec. 29,2018 followed by a further stay at the Reef Playacar. Dec. 29 - Jan 09,2018. So the entire stay was for 3 weeks.
Both resorts offered the same excellent services from good rooms (premium), wonderful beaches, nightly entertainment and reasonable food. This was our 4th stay at the Reef Playacar and I believe the smelly gas fumes from the garden area has been somewhat eliminated. We feel at home at these resorts having stayed before. The staff is always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lindadeexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefResorts, Brand Executive at The Reef Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear Lindadeexxx,

Thank you for the trust you gave us for choosing our hotel once again as your holiday destination. We were very happy to welcome you here again and to provide you the courteous service you deserve.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in one of our clean and comfortable rooms.

We are glad to read that you were provided with our courteous, outstanding service. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service and to provide unique experiences.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotels.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

I must admit the place is pretty neat, with low rise buildings, nice vegetation and excellent clean private beach. Pretty expensive though for the extras included in the package. And wifi not even included! Cost $7 USD a day. Hard to understand in 2018.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Matthieu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefResorts, Brand Executive at The Reef Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Dear Matthieu D,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to welcome you the past days.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our lush gardens! The nature surrounding the property is a favorite of ours as well.

Regarding your comment about the wi-fi we would like to mention that, as we have accesible rates, we thought it would be important to always give our guests different package options for them to choose from depending on what they consider it is better. We have three different packages: Standard package, Superior package and Premium package. Please note that the Premium package offers the most amenities and benefits such as the wi-fi. All the other Packages will have a surcharge for the wifi service and it will cost 7 USD per day by purchasing it for your entire stay.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews