We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Reef Playacar
Nearby Hotels
US$297
US$236
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$318
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$535
US$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$439
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$649
US$436
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
US$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$480
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$576
US$457
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$195
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,310)
Filter reviews
5,310 results
Traveller rating
1,632
2,068
896
425
289
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,632
2,068
896
425
289
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschula vistanico's barterraza grillitalian restaurantthe ice cream parlorpremium packageswim up barsmall resortjungle settinggated communitygreat beachnachosother resortsall inclusive resortplenty of chairsbuffet foodentertainment staff
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 5,310 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the Reef Playacar from Jan 1 – 5, by myself, for a relaxing 5 days at the beach, and absolutely loved it, although maybe I was simply in an overall very good mood, with a good book, and didn’t need much to stay happy…
Check-in: it was easy. I did have to wait until 3 pm, but it was expected. I arrived there around noon, got my bracelet, stored the luggage away and enjoyed the beach/lunch/drinks until 3 pm.
Room: I had specifically asked for a non-ground floor room. It was my only request. Guess which floor I got. Ground floor. But the guy said it was in an excellent building, close to the pool/beach and it was the only one available, so I just took it and in the end it was actually very handy to be so close to the beach. Room was spacious and clean. Bed was small but comfortable for 1.
Hotel grounds: this was a highlight for me. Loved how it’s nested in the forest. So much green!
Restaurants: I had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the same restaurant, the Chula Vista buffet. Super convenient, great view, and selection was varied enough for me. Can’t say anything about any of the other restaurants.
Beach: definitely the other highlight. Stunning. And I went snorkeling twice. It was $39 the 1st time, and $35 the second. Saw one turtle, several stingrays and plenty of fish. Happiness! You get on the boat right in front of the hotel. It takes about 15/20 minutes heading south to the reef, then close to an hour snorkeling, then back. Worth it! Bring your waterproof camera!
Night entertainment: I went to 2 shows, which were fun with several very talented folks! And one evening there was live music at the bar by the beach. All very enjoyable! If you’re looking for more excitement then you need to take a cab and head to town. Hotel was quiet. But another night entertainment almost no one was taking advantage of was the beach! So incredibly beautiful with the full moon!
Check-out: also easy and after giving the room key back by noon, I could hold on to the bracelet so could continue to enjoy food/drinks and also the towel until late afternoon, when was time to head to the airport.
Overall, I was very pleased and would go back if looking for a relaxed stay. Staff was also very nice.

I understand the different packages and prices available, but I think wi-fi should be included in the basic package. Nowadays wi-fi is pretty much a necessity and as such you cannot say it’s an ALL-inclusive without it. It’s then an ALMOST-all-inclusive… ;-)

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank BiaRedmond_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018

Very enjoyable stay. Weather was great and the beach is spectacular. The Reef Marina staff were great as were the buffet staff, Humberto,Felix and Luis in the bars and the maid service did a good job on a daily basis.
Great place to stay if you want to enjoy the surroundings and read a book or play in the water and use the watercraft provided for the guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank robertgT1278KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefResorts, Brand Executive at The Reef Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear robertgT1278KL,

Thank you for letting us know about your wonderful experience at our hotel. We must say we cannot express enough our satisfaction about the positive experience and sensational time you mention to have spent in our property.

We are very proud of our staff who works hard to ensure that our guests are feeling comfortable and have everything they may need for a memorable stay. When their efforts are acknowledged it makes all their work worthwhile and so we will be delighted to share your kind comments with them, especially with Humberto, Felix, Luis, the Marina Reef and the housekeepers.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Please send us an e-mail to adireccion@thereefresorts.com as we have a special rate and benefits for repeat guests.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2018

Stayed with the family over new year 2017/18.
New year Party was Medium as far as internation interests are concerned.

Overall I did not like to too seek with everything for extra charge.
Having paid 3000 USD I simply expect to have for eg wireless for free.

Kids club was medium. People overall friendly but not helpful or proactively

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank felse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2018

No free WIFI in public area's is not a good service for all inclusive. No free coffee at the lobby bar is not a good service for all inclusive. The beach bar is not available for superior. Allright but it was also impossible to order there even if there were no other guests and even if you were not planning to sit here (just order). Not enough bartenders. Long waiting time at the snackbar. Room was some kind of wet. Roof in gym was leaking. The car renting company ordered by the Reef did not show up on time.Staff at restaurant was very friendly and helpfull. Strange guests, one of them had a tattoo of a Swastica.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank finimi2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefResorts, Brand Executive at The Reef Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear finimi2018,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences. Our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay. Certainty, it appears we did not have the opportunity to fulfill this during your time with us and would like to express you our most sincere apologies on the behalf of the entire staff of The Reef Playacar.

Regarding your comment about the wi-fi we would like to mention that, as we have accesible rates, we thought it would be important to always give our guests different package options for them to choose from depending on what they consider it is better. We have three different packages: Standard package, Superior package and Premium package. Please note that the Premium package offers the most amenities and benefits such as the wi-fi. All the other Packages will have a surcharge for the wifi service and it will cost 7 USD per day by purchasing it for your entire stay.

Please allow us to inform you that since our resort is located in a zone surrounded by a tropical forest, alleviate the humidity condition is beyond our control as a consequence of our geographical location.

Please allow us to once again express our sincerest apologies to you and do hope that, as we continue to work towards enhancing our product, you may decide to give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018

We had a great stay at this nice hotel, where everything was taken care for. We loved the beach and there was plenty of variation in the food, also thete were nice afternoon snacks.
Only the bed could be better and the bathroom requires some maintenance.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thijs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReefResorts, Brand Executive at The Reef Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear Thijs D,

Thank you for letting us know about your wonderful experience at our hotel. We must say we cannot express enough our satisfaction about the positive experience and sensational time you mention to have spent in our property.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our delicious food. Indeed, we make every effort to provide a wide choice of dishes by offering an assortment of restaurants, a la Carte Italian and Mexican as well as the buffet.

We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of these upgrades to the property within the next couple of months and that five villas had already been remodeled. In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Please send us an e-mail to adireccion@thereefresorts.com as we have a special rate and benefits for repeat guests.

Kind regards,

Micaela Castilla
Brand Executive
socialmedia@thereefresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews