We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time, even better than first one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #54 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

It is not our rule to visit the same place, but since we had very good experience in Feb 2011, me and my husband decided to break a rule and go to the same place again. And we did correct decision, this time was even better. This hotel in a good place, very close to very nice beach, good food, very good management attitude to everything :) Just perfect place for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Braske77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,942 - 3,948 of 8,255 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at ClubHotel Riu Tequila Jan 15th-22nd. There is only word for this place and it is AMAZING! Everything was just perfect for us and our friends that joined us.

Check in was smooth and we asked to be located close to the pools and main hotel area. Our friends were in the block of rooms right behind us, so that worked out well.

From the very first encounter with the staff we knew we were going to have a good week. Orlando from the entertainment staff was so animated and fun to joke with and watch. We participated in a few of the pool activites, a few on the beach, and enjoyed the evening show. They really put a lot of time and effort in to their shows. Some shows were a bit cheesy but we still enjoyed everyone.

Our wait staff at every meal was great. Ceaser in the main buffet made every meal so fun. He is such a little cutie. The last night he was so sad to see us leaving, he gave all the women in our group a kiss on the cheek. He is just so sweet.

Bar staff in the pool area was just so much fun. Juan and Ricardo tended to our every drinking need. They made frozen 7up drinks for our kids, shots for the adults, and remembered everything we were drinking. So much fun to just hang out there.

Beach was a short walk and if anyone complains about it they are just lazy. The shuttle goes every few minutes so if walking is tough for you they will help you out.


Food was great even picky eaters will find SOMETHING that they will eat, rooms a bit out dated (new comforters could change that up) but who wants to be in the room anyways. Just disregard any negitive comments here...HONESTLY I can not come up with a single bad thing. We plan to make Tequila our home at least for one week a year from now on! WE LOVE IT!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 507 and 508. Right across from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cancunnewbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at the Tequila from the 16th to the 22nd of February. I loved being able to use all of the Riu hotels. We spent a lot of time at the beach, which was so, so pretty. I loved the shady palm tree areas. My kids (7, 12) also had a great time but did not enjoy the kids club. They loved all of the animals on the gounds and there were a lot of other kids for them to play with at the pools. The food was very tasty and we ate at both the Steak House and the Japonese place in addition to the buffett. I did not get up early to make reservations. We never had trouble finding chairs by the pool or by the beach.

I loved being able to go for a run on the streets in Playacar every morning. It was a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m0minmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Enjoyed our holiday at the Riu Tequila,no complaints about anything. The staff were all great, clean rooms and excellent food. I must recomend the Bamboo(Asian) ala carte resaurant, it was fantasic. We stayed two weeks and the weather was excellent. Took a trip to Cozumel which was a nice get away also, higher end jewellery shops there which my wife enjoys.The walk to the beach was very short also, don't let that detract you from booking at the Tequila, it's just across the road about a five minute walk and you still get to use the bars and restaurants at the RIU Yucatan or Playacar resorts at the beach.The Tequila is very lush with trees and vegetation on the resort which makes it very nice to walk on the grounds also, I recommend this resort to everyone young or old !

Room Tip: We had a unit off of the main walkway it was very quiet and lots of privacy. I would recommend a sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haroldl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Truly enjoyed our stay at the Riu in 2011 - abolutely nothing to complain about, clean, good service, excellent food, free to walk to local attractions - beaches, 5th avenue, took the ferry to Cozumel - had a great time - planning another trip to Playa del Carmen in 2012
.

Room Tip: Only tip - this is not an ocean front hotel, across the street, however, a very pleasant walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funinthesun182199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We got back from our holiday a couple of weeks ago and had a very nice holiday for the price we paid. We have been to alot of All Inclusives in this area and found this one to be okay but definity not the best we have been to.

We found the rooms to be smaller than most we have been to. The beds were not to hard which can often be a problem in Mexico.


The food and drinks very good. Always something good to eat and very fresh.

Staff was great. A couple of times my husband wanted more beer for the fridge and they were great about bringing it. Our hair dryer blew up and our toilet got plugged and they were there within 15 minutes to fix the problem. Great service.

We didn't mind the walk to the beach but did miss sitting in the evening and listening to the ocean.

The one problem I had with this resort was the cats running around in the dining room by the pool and on the outdoor area of the evening dining room. I am very nervous of cats so had a problem eating lunch each day and always had to sit inside for supper. I also thought there were to many of the other critters running around. I wasn't afraid of them but in the late afternoon they would all come out around the pool and there was just to many of them.

For this reason alone we would not go back to this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roadstarAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stopped in this hotel with my girlfriend in February and it was by far the best place we have stopped at yet and was well worth the money we paid. Would come back again!

It does my head in when people moan about the coatis as they don't even bother you & I found they just made the place more interesting. Or the fact they have to walk for 2 minutes to get to the beach. They even put a free shuttle service on for people who can't walk 200 yards!

I will not rant on through the rest but will just go through the main points and give some tips. Enjoy:-

ROOMS - 8/10

Very big but slightly out dated look and the beds were quite hard. Free beer & pop in the fridge unlike some all inclusives

FOOD

Breakfast
V.good and there was a large variety of choice. 9/10

Lunch 8/10 Free icecream all day wooooow

main buffet 8/10

other restaurants 7/10
The Mexican was very poor, we decided we can make better Mexican food ourselves!

Service 10/10
All staff were excellent and v.polite.

Pool 7/10

Sometimes hard to get a decent sun bed. I recommend the beach as you can use the Riu Yucatans facilities while your down there and there are more beds

Entertainment 8/10

Most shows were either good or at least watchable, and the entertainment team work very hard to keep every1 entertained. Theres also a disco that opens until 2

the Grounds 10/10

Always spotless and the rooms are set in small blocks in between trees and gardens which are always being maintained. The coatis are also entertaining to watch BUT DONT FEED THEM YOU WILL REGRET IT they are like Gremlins when fed

OVERALL - 9/10

Other tips:-

Go on the Jungle Maya & Jungle tour speedboat trip if you have time they were fantastic,
and be aware chicen Iza was ok but it is a 3 hour bus ride away most reps don't tell you this!

5th avenue shops is only about a 25mins walk away and there is a coco Bongo nightclub also in Playa del Carmen (about 5 mins / 4 pounds in a taxi)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kleberson26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#64 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
6,024 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,219 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#79 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#36 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,765 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#47 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,674 reviews
1 km away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#89 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $248 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing