We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$307
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$426
US$324
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$379
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$483
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$581
US$244
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$271
US$258
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$382
US$300
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$213
US$174
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,416
US$797
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (8,576)
Filter reviews
8,576 results
Traveller rating
4,962
2,579
694
185
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,962
2,579
694
185
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports barmain restaurantthomson repsgreat holidaygolf buggyasian restaurantanimation teamplenty of sunbedsevery other daypool restaurantshort walk to the beachthemed nightspalm treesevening entertainmentcancun airportswimming with dolphinssister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4,148 - 4,153 of 8,576 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at ClubHotel Riu Tequila Jan 15th-22nd. There is only word for this place and it is AMAZING! Everything was just perfect for us and our friends that joined us.

Check in was smooth and we asked to be located close to the pools and main hotel area. Our friends were in the block of rooms right behind us, so that worked out well.

From the very first encounter with the staff we knew we were going to have a good week. Orlando from the entertainment staff was so animated and fun to joke with and watch. We participated in a few of the pool activites, a few on the beach, and enjoyed the evening show. They really put a lot of time and effort in to their shows. Some shows were a bit cheesy but we still enjoyed everyone.

Our wait staff at every meal was great. Ceaser in the main buffet made every meal so fun. He is such a little cutie. The last night he was so sad to see us leaving, he gave all the women in our group a kiss on the cheek. He is just so sweet.

Bar staff in the pool area was just so much fun. Juan and Ricardo tended to our every drinking need. They made frozen 7up drinks for our kids, shots for the adults, and remembered everything we were drinking. So much fun to just hang out there.

Beach was a short walk and if anyone complains about it they are just lazy. The shuttle goes every few minutes so if walking is tough for you they will help you out.


Food was great even picky eaters will find SOMETHING that they will eat, rooms a bit out dated (new comforters could change that up) but who wants to be in the room anyways. Just disregard any negitive comments here...HONESTLY I can not come up with a single bad thing. We plan to make Tequila our home at least for one week a year from now on! WE LOVE IT!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 507 and 508. Right across from the pool
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cancunnewbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at the Tequila from the 16th to the 22nd of February. I loved being able to use all of the Riu hotels. We spent a lot of time at the beach, which was so, so pretty. I loved the shady palm tree areas. My kids (7, 12) also had a great time but did not enjoy the kids club. They loved all of the animals on the gounds and there were a lot of other kids for them to play with at the pools. The food was very tasty and we ate at both the Steak House and the Japonese place in addition to the buffett. I did not get up early to make reservations. We never had trouble finding chairs by the pool or by the beach.

I loved being able to go for a run on the streets in Playacar every morning. It was a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m0minmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Enjoyed our holiday at the Riu Tequila,no complaints about anything. The staff were all great, clean rooms and excellent food. I must recomend the Bamboo(Asian) ala carte resaurant, it was fantasic. We stayed two weeks and the weather was excellent. Took a trip to Cozumel which was a nice get away also, higher end jewellery shops there which my wife enjoys.The walk to the beach was very short also, don't let that detract you from booking at the Tequila, it's just across the road about a five minute walk and you still get to use the bars and restaurants at the RIU Yucatan or Playacar resorts at the beach.The Tequila is very lush with trees and vegetation on the resort which makes it very nice to walk on the grounds also, I recommend this resort to everyone young or old !

Room Tip: We had a unit off of the main walkway it was very quiet and lots of privacy. I would recommend a second floor room since we like to have the patio door open at nights.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haroldl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Truly enjoyed our stay at the Riu in 2011 - abolutely nothing to complain about, clean, good service, excellent food, free to walk to local attractions - beaches, 5th avenue, took the ferry to Cozumel - had a great time - planning another trip to Playa del Carmen in 2012
.

Room Tip: Only tip - this is not an ocean front hotel, across the street, however, a very pleasant walk to the beach, you need after all the eating and drinking!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funinthesun182199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We got back from our holiday a couple of weeks ago and had a very nice holiday for the price we paid. We have been to alot of All Inclusives in this area and found this one to be okay but definity not the best we have been to.

We found the rooms to be smaller than most we have been to. The beds were not to hard which can often be a problem in Mexico.


The food and drinks very good. Always something good to eat and very fresh.

Staff was great. A couple of times my husband wanted more beer for the fridge and they were great about bringing it. Our hair dryer blew up and our toilet got plugged and they were there within 15 minutes to fix the problem. Great service.

We didn't mind the walk to the beach but did miss sitting in the evening and listening to the ocean.

The one problem I had with this resort was the cats running around in the dining room by the pool and on the outdoor area of the evening dining room. I am very nervous of cats so had a problem eating lunch each day and always had to sit inside for supper. I also thought there were to many of the other critters running around. I wasn't afraid of them but in the late afternoon they would all come out around the pool and there was just to many of them.

For this reason alone we would not go back to this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roadstarAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews