We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BROKEN OUR GOLDEN RULE AND RETURNED TO SAME HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #54 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Having visited the Riu Tequila for a week in November 2011 and enjoyed so much we decided that it would be a must to revisit. We have just returned after a two week stay for what can only be described as brilliant! The staff once again were wonderful and the food superb. Even the most picky of eaters would find it difficult not to find something to their liking. I set myself a chanlleng of not eating the same evening meal twice and completed this with no problem at all. The weather was superb and the beach is one of the best we have ever been to. We had a room in another location from last time, which was identical. The maid/cleaning service was excellent. The hotel was alot busier than November with many Canadian and US quests but this did not detract from our stay. We did several trips. I can recommend a day at Explor and also the half day Speed Boat Safari. For the cutural side the long day to Chichen Itza must be one of the highlights of this area and is a must (alot better than the trip to Cobra). We did a visit to Cozomel Island which we booked our selves , walking into Playa del Carmen (a steady 30 minutes) and getting the ferry to Cosomel. Ferry trip takes about 45 minutes. Top tip have a look at the sea before you go, any white tops to the waves go another day unless you have strong sea legs!! The island is geared to the cruise ships with plenty of shopping opportunities for those like that sort of thing. I would not go again should I visit the area.
Most day trips seem expensive but the ones mentioned above provided excellent value for money.
I would without hesitation recommend this hotel for couples/families young and old who want a wonderful holiday, good food with plenty of places to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,991 - 3,997 of 8,338 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

After booking a week here with thomson, and reading reviews I was very excited! The hotel and grounds are lovely - they are big but spread out and low rise buildings and all amongst palm trees so doesn't feel too touristy. This was my first time all inclusive and I was pleasantly surprised. It caters for every taste and you won't get bored! Would definitely recommend a night at the steak house - perfect end to our week! The drinks in your fridge and room are all complimentary and get refilled daily. Our rep matt was a delight and very helpful. Would recommend a trip to playa del carmen - plenty shops and bars with good food! it's a short taxi ride from the hotel or a beautiful walk along the beach. You are also allowed to use the facilities of the other Riu hotels- handy when you are at the beach. I would 100% recommend a trip to Tulum- it is STUNNING! My only negative was that 7 days is too short, and if you get the chance either upgrade flights with Thomson or fly with another airline as I didn't enjoy the flight with them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sandaig24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

It is not our rule to visit the same place, but since we had very good experience in Feb 2011, me and my husband decided to break a rule and go to the same place again. And we did correct decision, this time was even better. This hotel in a good place, very close to very nice beach, good food, very good management attitude to everything :) Just perfect place for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Braske77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at ClubHotel Riu Tequila Jan 15th-22nd. There is only word for this place and it is AMAZING! Everything was just perfect for us and our friends that joined us.

Check in was smooth and we asked to be located close to the pools and main hotel area. Our friends were in the block of rooms right behind us, so that worked out well.

From the very first encounter with the staff we knew we were going to have a good week. Orlando from the entertainment staff was so animated and fun to joke with and watch. We participated in a few of the pool activites, a few on the beach, and enjoyed the evening show. They really put a lot of time and effort in to their shows. Some shows were a bit cheesy but we still enjoyed everyone.

Our wait staff at every meal was great. Ceaser in the main buffet made every meal so fun. He is such a little cutie. The last night he was so sad to see us leaving, he gave all the women in our group a kiss on the cheek. He is just so sweet.

Bar staff in the pool area was just so much fun. Juan and Ricardo tended to our every drinking need. They made frozen 7up drinks for our kids, shots for the adults, and remembered everything we were drinking. So much fun to just hang out there.

Beach was a short walk and if anyone complains about it they are just lazy. The shuttle goes every few minutes so if walking is tough for you they will help you out.


Food was great even picky eaters will find SOMETHING that they will eat, rooms a bit out dated (new comforters could change that up) but who wants to be in the room anyways. Just disregard any negitive comments here...HONESTLY I can not come up with a single bad thing. We plan to make Tequila our home at least for one week a year from now on! WE LOVE IT!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 507 and 508. Right across from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cancunnewbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at the Tequila from the 16th to the 22nd of February. I loved being able to use all of the Riu hotels. We spent a lot of time at the beach, which was so, so pretty. I loved the shady palm tree areas. My kids (7, 12) also had a great time but did not enjoy the kids club. They loved all of the animals on the gounds and there were a lot of other kids for them to play with at the pools. The food was very tasty and we ate at both the Steak House and the Japonese place in addition to the buffett. I did not get up early to make reservations. We never had trouble finding chairs by the pool or by the beach.

I loved being able to go for a run on the streets in Playacar every morning. It was a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m0minmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Enjoyed our holiday at the Riu Tequila,no complaints about anything. The staff were all great, clean rooms and excellent food. I must recomend the Bamboo(Asian) ala carte resaurant, it was fantasic. We stayed two weeks and the weather was excellent. Took a trip to Cozumel which was a nice get away also, higher end jewellery shops there which my wife enjoys.The walk to the beach was very short also, don't let that detract you from booking at the Tequila, it's just across the road about a five minute walk and you still get to use the bars and restaurants at the RIU Yucatan or Playacar resorts at the beach.The Tequila is very lush with trees and vegetation on the resort which makes it very nice to walk on the grounds also, I recommend this resort to everyone young or old !

Room Tip: We had a unit off of the main walkway it was very quiet and lots of privacy. I would recommend a sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haroldl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Truly enjoyed our stay at the Riu in 2011 - abolutely nothing to complain about, clean, good service, excellent food, free to walk to local attractions - beaches, 5th avenue, took the ferry to Cozumel - had a great time - planning another trip to Playa del Carmen in 2012
.

Room Tip: Only tip - this is not an ocean front hotel, across the street, however, a very pleasant walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funinthesun182199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#66 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,092 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#49 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,296 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#35 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,802 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,714 reviews
1 km away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#91 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: C$251 - C$469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive ClubHotel Riu Tequila, is located approx. 800 m from the long, beautiful Playa del Carmen beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Hotel Riu Palace Mexico, Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Hotel Riu Yucatan and Hotel Riu Playacar hotels. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Playa del Carmen (3km) and Cancún International Airport (CUN) is approx. 55 km away. The hotel has 584 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities, set in 48,000 sq.m. of lush gardens. A luxurious golf resort is located nearby. There is a complimentary hotel shuttle to the beach. 2 outdoor pools, 1 children’s pool. For the youngest guests, there is the RiuLand Kids Club (for children from 4 to 7 years & 8 to 12 years old) and for adults, day and evening entertainment, discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet as well as Asian, Mexican cuisine, Steakhouse, 4 bars situated in various areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing