We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIU Tequila, nice place, no nightlife....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #53 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2004

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the RIU Tequila last week (January 3rd-10th). It was so disappointing to come back to cold Michigan! The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are nice and clean. The food is good, especially at the steak house. The thing that surprised us about the Tequila was the number of families with children, and elderly persons vacationing there. We are both twenty-five, and didn't find anyone our age, or in our stage of life at the resort. There is also no night life there that twenty-somethings would find entertaining without a lot of alcohol! So, if you're looking for a great place to relax with clean rooms, good food, and great service, go to the Tequila. If you're looking to party, don't go to the Tequila. If we go to Mexico again, I think we'll search for a place that has a "happy medium" of the two. But, for the meantime, we have memories of a great vacation.

4  Thank HilarydMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,854 - 5,860 of 8,347 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2004

This hotel was awesome. The people that worked at the hotel were great.
The food was good but a little repetitive. My kids 10 & 8 liked the fact that there were hamburgers, hot dogs, fries and ice cream cones.
The beach was not a far walk or you can ride the golf cart over. Just remember the cart driver takes a break in the afternoon - check for times. The shows at night were very entertaining. If you are a family of four the 2 double beds may not be enough room so ask for a cot (portable bed). If you can go to Xcaret it was wonderful but take a taxi for $10usd one way rather than a tour bus. Then just pay the entrance fees. Also I highly recommend a snorkling tour by Emillio. It was an Aquatic Adventure when booked thru Suntrips but if you didn't book your trip thru Suntrips ask for it by the name of the tour owner named "Emillio". We were picked up at the hotel at 8:30 am then spent the day snorkling at 3 different locations. One spot was a lagoon by Akumel where we swam with sea turtles. Then we went to 2 different cenotes and got to jump off 20 foot cliffs. They provided lunch and all the alcohol you wanted. My kids loved it and had no problem doing all the activities. This was priced at $75usd adults and $38usd kids which also included the snorkle equipment. Hope this was helpful.....HAVE FUN!!!

8  Thank Coloradochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brantford Ont Canada
13
Reviewed 10 January 2004

Just wanted to let everyone know that this has being the best holiday , that we have been on and will be going back again next year for two weeks hopefully. Everything you read about in the books is true , nicer then the DR and Cuba , at least were we stayed at these places , Cant go wrong with the Rui Resorts no complaints just one word about the trip GREAT sorry to come back home. no one can complain about this time of year for weather (first week in Jan)

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2004

I spent 2 weeks at the Riu Tequila in May 2003 and had a fantastic time. It's the first all inclusive holiday I have taken and was VERY impressed. The hotel is lovely,VERY VERY clean, nice lush, very well kept gardens, and the staff are very friendly, and helpful and work very hard. the food was amzing, I have never had mash potato with so much flavour in ! And what a great excuse to sample all those cocktails that would usually be quite expensive ! The bedrooms were a nice size, large bathroom area and good storage space.......and mini bar and optics....what can I say ! The only slight grumble I may have is that there are not enough beds around the pool, or what tends to happen is that people get up early, put towels on sunbeds and go off to the beach etc and come back to the beds later in the afternoon, come on people be considerate ! My suggestion would be some kind of sunbed patrol ! So a tip.......if you can't get a bed round the Tequila pools take the short walk to the sister hotel across the street, to the left of the Riu Palace (can't remember the name) as you can eat lunch here as well. The entertianment team were very good and always seems to be working, day and night. Franklyn in the Michael Jackosn show was brilliant. I did the tour of the Hotel kitchen, very interesting and very well kept and run, and very clean, impressive for the amount of meals there prepare each day. Also did the tour (free) to the Riu Palace across the street, which is supposed to be a higher grade hotel to the Tequila, but thought the Tequila much nicer. A great holiday at a great price (UK readers try Thomson Tropical brochure, I checked all brouchues for Mexico and they were the best price !) Would not hesitate to recomend.......if anyone has any questions, am happy to help.

6  Thank 67Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ortonville, Michigan
11
Reviewed 6 January 2004

When I went to stay at the Riu Tuila it s beautiful and I want to go back. The guys and girls on the animacion team are wonderful and I became great friends with them all. If you can tell James that I say hello my name is Amanda Quintero from Michigan. I want to go back again this year bcause I had such a great time. The food was great and the barswere awesome. I hope me and my family go again this year and next. Keep up the good work and hopefully I will see you all next year.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2004

Nine of us just returned (January 2, 2004) from a week at the Tequila.
Many thanks to those of you who recommended tips like asking for extra blankets to pad the beds and insulated cups to take to the beach. We loved the resort, found the food to be okay to good..not great. We ate at the steak house and the Med and enjoyed both. We took the Alltournative trip to Pac-Chen and Coba. It was fun but not nearly the challenging adventure we expected. Anyone in any physical shape would be able to do all of the activities...zip lining, repelling into the cenote (absolutely the highlite..incredible), walking through the jungle, and canoeing around a small lake. The Mayan meal was good, the trip to Coba interesting. Skip the canned lecture and take off on your own at Coba or you will not have enough time to enjoy the walk to the largest pyramid, let alone climb it and still get back to your tour bus on time. The disco at the resort was fun, also PDC was worth going to see, had drinks at Senor Frogs and the Blue Parrott. Walk to your right upon hitting the beach at the Yucatan, away from the hotels, and you will find some beautiful stretches of beach, rocks, and little coves, some small trails through the "jungle". Have a great time:)

2  Thank caseyhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
17
Reviewed 31 December 2003

My husband and I honeymooned at the RIU Tequila from September 28th - October 12th, 2003. We had an unforgettable experience. Upon arrival, you feel as though you have entered a royal palace; it is beautifully decorated and very clean throughout. The front desk service is prompt and courteous, the housekeeping staff are ever-present and numerous (you can always spot someone either mopping, dusting, or grounds-keeping).

The room was very well kept and we did not experience a musty odour as described in previous reviews. The beds however weren't the top of the line in terms of comfort, they were hard and the pillows were flat.
Excellent water pressure for the shower - no "low-flow" here! The mini bar was restacked almost daily, and we never had any insect sightings in our room.

In terms of security, we felt very safe walking on the grounds of the Tequila. Your ID bracelet is required when only driving up to the reception off the street!

**FOOD** Being Greek, this aspect was very important to me. :0)

The food was abundant, fresh, displaying a lot of variety and available at nearly every waking hour of the day. You can literally find something to eat from the crack of dawn (6 am) to past midnight. We loved the Jalisco restaurant (the main buffet) the snack bars were ok but became redundant after 2 weeks (more of a selection or rotation would have been better). And the specialty steakhouse (which doubles as the poolside snack bar by day) was fantastic. Reservations were sometimes difficult however, so plan ahead and book early in the am. We also had a chance to dine at the "El Mediterraneo" restaurant over at the RIU Yucatan. It was delightful. Room service would have been a nice bonus.

The alcohol flows freely at the RIU Tequila. The drinks are consistant and never watered down. The bartenders are friendly and entertaining.

The beach was magnificent, and the resort's proximity to Playa del Carmen is ideal (a $5 USD cab ride to town!). There were always lounge chairs available and on Fridays there was a party on the beach with live entertainment and dance contests.

What else can we say about the Tequila? We will definitely return on our anniversary visits and strongly recommend this resort to all families, couples and groups of friends. It was truly an unforgettable experience.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,307 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#65 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,101 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#36 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,809 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#46 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,719 reviews
1 km away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#91 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $251 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive ClubHotel Riu Tequila, is located approx. 800 m from the long, beautiful Playa del Carmen beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Hotel Riu Palace Mexico, Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Hotel Riu Yucatan and Hotel Riu Playacar hotels. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Playa del Carmen (3km) and Cancún International Airport (CUN) is approx. 55 km away. The hotel has 584 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities, set in 48,000 sq.m. of lush gardens. A luxurious golf resort is located nearby. There is a complimentary hotel shuttle to the beach. 2 outdoor pools, 1 children’s pool. For the youngest guests, there is the RiuLand Kids Club (for children from 4 to 7 years & 8 to 12 years old) and for adults, day and evening entertainment, discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet as well as Asian, Mexican cuisine, Steakhouse, 4 bars situated in various areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing