We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort except for the bacterial infection in pool”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #47 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
SMITHVILLE
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Resort except for the bacterial infection in pool”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed for the last week of March at this resort. Resort was very well kept, rooms situated in nice kept areas with beauty, shrubs and 2nd floor balconies. The food was ok, however was repetitive in the buffet area. As we had such difficulty as below we did not have the chance to enjoy any of the restaurants that were available. I enjoyed my stay however we believe there was a problem with the resorts pools. My daughter when she first woke up started to have what we first thought was a bite our 2nd day at the resort. By mid afternoon the marks had spread over her legs. By the 4th day at the resort, my daughter now had these sores broken out from her neck down to and including the bottoms of her feet, and everywhere in between. By day 4 these sores were full of blood, and in tears I went down to the front desk to contact the travel agent's emergency number, I wanted to get her home. I was told she had to see the hotel doctor to get clearance as she may not be able to fly. It cost $160. and she was told it was an allergic reaction to either a plant or something in the ocean. She had never been in the ocean and by the time we were leaving on Sunday she had gotten about a total of 12 hours sleep in 5 days because of the itch and burning it was causing. The house doctor commented to my daughter that she was the 2nd person in to see her with the same sores and symptoms in the last couple of days. When returning to Canada and a visit to the emergency we were advised by the doctor in Canada that the doctor put her on the wrong medication and cream in Mexico and in fact was helping to make the symtoms much worse. If you are going to go to this resort, be sure you do not have a weak immune system as you may end up with the same bacterial infection. I had no problems but I have a much stronger immune system than my daughter. I have contacted everyone concerned and hope that the area will get fixed up as this resort is wonderful and I would not have a problem in returning, however my daughter feels otherwise.

Room Tip: Any location in this resort is great, spaced out with short distance to everything. I only put poor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noarc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We thank you also for the good comments made about the property, however we would like to make some comments regarding what you have mentioned on your review. We have all the necesary cualified staff to look after the pools daily, but also we have external companies that come according to a monthly program to take samples of the pool water to check if all the chemical levels are according to the regulations asked by the law. We have never had a bacterial problem with our pools, not even when you were here. We had over 600 hundred guests in house when you were here and not a single case like your daugther¨s. We are really sorry about what your daugther went through but we assist you in all you needed while you were here and we really hope that you daugther is now feeling good.

We hope that you keep choosing Riviera Maya as your holiday destination.

kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,409
    2,029
    642
    255
    158
See reviews for
578
4,072
55
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-Lac, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

It was perfect for my first trip ! The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The 3 restaurants are very good and the rooms are very confortable and clean. The best part is the entertainment staff who did an amazing job. They organize lots of activities and they are always very friendly friendly. You always have the choice to have fun or simply to relax. Nothing negative to say.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Châteauguay, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Besides the beach that was not that nice, (lots of seaweeds). The Hotel was very very nice and always clean, terrific big pools, the food was great, the animations and night shows totally AWESOME and the activities were very amusing.

The staff was wonderful !! Thanks to Fabio, Amanda, Amy, Ronie and ofcourse Omar. Thanks guys and gals for making me have a wonderful week !!

A few minute walk and the beaches get much better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutherland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first fortnight in march. We could not fault it. The service was excellent, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There are 4 restaurants,Italian,Mexican,Japanese and a buffet that changes themes every night. All were very good,so you were never bored with the selection. The place was spotless and the cleaning staff were always on the go. The bar service at night wad excellent,thanks again Imelda. When we go back to Mexico we will stay at the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and i were in the hotel from the 10th to 24th of March and found the hotel and grounds very well kept. For us the food was not fantastic service of water and breakfast tea/coffee very slow to the point of going myself and doing it
.Our main complaint was the number of birds in the El Charro lunchtime brunch eating from the fruit and garbage and returning to the other food this needs to be addressed.
We never had a problem with a sunbed as we are early risers we did note towels on beds for hours and no persons using.
The pool whilst very cold was cleaned daily. There is as reported only a small beach and you have to be careful entering the sea as there are tree roots everywhere.
The weather was mixed some cloudy days but the sun is strong enough to burn you even on cloudy days.
All in a pleasant stay and we met some really nice people the hotel has with there being no Kids a very relaxing feel.
We would not return not because of anything wrong with the hotel just the long flight for the same sun we could get with only 5.5hr flight.

Room Tip: WE were in Block 8 close to the beach very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qatarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My two friends and I enjoyed a week at the Ocean Maya in March 2012! It is a beautiful resort with friendly staff, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, it was a great week!
We did spend the money to upgrade to the privileged package which was well worth it! We had Alberto serving us at breakfast every morning - greatest server who had the sweetest smile! He was a bonus to eating in the privileged area at the buffet. Another perk to the privileged package is the unlimited dinner reservations for the a la carte menus. The other great feature to Ocean Maya is the entertainment staff - especially Fernie (Fernanda)! She is so friendly and helpful and made our trip extra special! They put on excellent shows as well the resort has different entertainment come to the resort - we saw a Madonna concert which was great too! Ultimately, we had an amazing time at the Ocean Maya and would love to go back someday in the future!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton england
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was a great hotel every one was freindly and helpful. The resaurants were great the italian was the best so get there early or you have a long wait. beaches were lovely pools were very big the only thing it could do with a bar at the other end of beach as a long walk. Rooms were very comfotable and cleaned every day. The thomson rep Lorean was fantastic my wife had a bad time before we went on holiday and Lorean was so helpful and understanding. We went on the Chichen Itza and Coba Mayan trips very good but a long day. We also went to Coco Bongo nightclub and show it is a must for all ages must pay for VIP a bit more money but you get your own table and waiter to get all your drinks all night, watch out for shots he gives you now and then tastes nice but very strong dont have to many. The front desk will only change cash they wont take credit cards for money . There is a cash machine in hotel where you can get dollars then change to mexican money. They do take mexican or dollas in most places. If you want to go into town there is a free bus or you can pay 200pasos there and back like we did very safe no trouble you can then come and go when you want . Adults only hotel so no children running around screaming.

Room Tip: The higher number rooms are nearer the beach the lower numbers are nearer the front desk so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveBrightonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
9.9 km away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
3.4 km away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,388 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.4 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#3 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,253 reviews
12.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,449 reviews
8.9 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing