We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,254)
Filter reviews
1,254 results
Traveller rating
582
402
122
68
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
402
122
68
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishermen's villagetres riosactivities directormember servicestimeshare ownerswelcome partythrough rciwalk into townall inclusive plangated communitysecond homefull kitchenthe wait staffgreat beachwater aerobicsbedroom suitethird floor
Filter
Updating list...
861 - 866 of 1,254 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We look forward all year to two weeks at Fishermen's! It is like going home..from year to year, Marcial recognizes us and welcomes us by name. Luis is always waiting to welcome everyone and in my case, has the cribbage board ready. They are all like family. The hotel itself is wonderful, always clean and so close for walking to town to enjoy all the other wonderful things about Playa del Carmen. The food is not the best, but the jugo verde is by far the most delicious and nutritious I have had (and I try it everywhere). The small size of the facility is perfect for families with children as you always know where they are and even the staff helps keep track of them! I highly recommend it, but don't take my two weeks! Sra. Judy

Room Tip: the internet is available only in the lobby.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hunkydory25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you took to write your comments about your stay at Sunset Fishermen. We have shared your comments with our staff members. Regarding the food, we want you to know that we have a new Chef in charge and a new gastronomic offer is available, so by your next visit, you will see the improvements that have been made on the Food & Beverages field.

It is our pleasure to have you back every year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We rented two units, #340 and #341, from private owners which were listed on VRBO. We had two families with each family staying in one of the units. If you stay here, be aware that half the units in the complex are privately owned and half are owned by a timeshare company. Also, 2 of the 4 buildings are new (built several years ago after a hurricane came through) while the 2 middle buildings are original (about 25 years old). Because of this arrangement, most of the staff are paid by the timeshare company so if you are not staying in one of their units, it is very difficult to get help or service with anything. Essentially, the staff ignores you since they are not being paid to take care of you.

The privately owned units we stayed in were run-down and in need of a serious update, In #340, our bathroon had a leak in the ceiling (from the roof A/C unit) which ran down the wall causing our bathroom to be flooded everyday. In addition, the main bathroom and deck door were missing door knobs, the in-room safe did not work, and the room was filthy when we arrived (we had to wait 3 hours to get the cleaning crew to show up), The kitchen utensils were so beat-up we bought plastic utensils for our meals. In #341, the pull-out sofa bed was so old and disgusting we had to go to a Wal-mart and buy an air mattress for our son to sleep on. The hallway outside both our units looked like someone had vomitted which did not get cleaned up until the last day we were there.

On the good side, the pool and beach lounge chairs were very nice, along with the beach, and the close proximity to 5th Avenue made it very convenient to walk to town for meals and shopping. If you are going to rent from a private owner, make sure the unit is either in one of the new buildings or has been updated, and be prepared to be treated like a second-class citizen.

Room Tip: If you are renting from private owners, be sure to get several photos of the unit and ask the last time it was updated.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bscoots22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed in December of '11 and absolutely loved everything about this place. From the super-friendly and helpful staff to the immaculate grounds, incredible beach, comfortable rooms, the stories of the people you meet and even the food.
We opted to only do the meal plan for a couple of days b/c we really love to walk into Playa to some of the other restuarants, but the meal plan does allow you to not worry about a thing except if you have enough sunscreen on. What I love about this place is it's size and location. There's only like 40-some units so it's not too big. I know some resorts are so big it takes 5-10 minutes to get from your room to the beach. Here, I walked about my backdoor and stepped over a small wall and there I was. Not sure how you can beat that. Also b/c it's small you get to know other travellers and it becomes a friendly and family type athmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was our first trip to Mexico and we had not formed any preconceived expectations. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and great welcomes from the bell hop and entertainment organizers...thanks Marcial and Luis!! We enjoyed our time at this resort but had trouble with the meal plan. We found it very expensive and the food was very inconsistent. Breakfast buffets were reasonable but lunch and dinner were of poor quality. Drinks were prepared in styrofoam cups if you were not remaining at the bar and I had so hoped for authentic drinks not prepared with high sugar syrup additives. Those of us that took part in the meal plan all experienced some tummy troubles, compared to our extended family that chose to eat at the local restaurants in Playa del Carmen and did not have any issues. The kids loved the pool and we had great accessibilty to snorkel gear, kayaks, bikes (some in poor repair) etc. Our only other concern was the smell we frequently noticed when walking along the beach...We are not sure of the sanitation system protocols in the area but depending on the direction of the prevailing winds some smells of waste were offensive. Every morning the beaches were raked, walkways cleaned and swept and floors were constantly mopped throughout the day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear guest:

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience at Sunset Fishermen. Thank you for your comments on our staff and we are glad to hear your kids have a great time by the pool and the beach.
We want to share with you that Sunset Fishermen has a new Chef and a new gastronomic offer is being served and everything is carefully supervised by our Corporate Executive Chef.
Regarding the smell you frequently noticed when walking along the beach, it might have been the dimethyl sulfide ”DMS” which comes from a gas produced by seaweed and which is really helpful to environment since it is implicated in clould formation over the ocean helping temperature and also helps animals like seagulls find food. So that smell, that some identify like a great trip to the beach and others find it fishy and tangy, is really helping our environment in more ways that we can imagine.

We invite you to come back to Sunset Fishermen and give us the opportunity to pamper you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed for a week November 26th thru December 3rd, 2011 and had the best time. The rooms are spacious and fully equipped. Some renovating is in the future, so the beds will be replaced. It's only a 15 minute walk either on the beach or on the beautiful street into Playa del Carmen. The waves are crashing just outside your door, which I loved. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: They usually book up, so you'll just have to request when you book.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews