We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #78 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This normal sized hotel in a world of mega over-the-top resorts is a much needed reality check. Situated on the gorgeous Caribbean Sea could be enough but there is a bit of Catskills on the Caribbean going on with the meal plan and activities. We did not partake of the meal plan but did enjoy many of the activities. Luis and David, the social directors, were fun, helpful, and easy to engage with. The activities, which ranged from a mariachi sing-a-long to poker nights to water aerobics and yoga, are for all ages. There is so much to do in the area but if you want to stay at "home" there will be plenty for you to do and it's a good way to meet your fellow travelers.
Betsy, the delightful chef, gave numerous cooking classes which were informative and delicious.
The hotel runs fairly smoothly though there are a few things that could be better. It should not take an hour, several calls and a visit to the lobby to get your bags upon arrival. There should be flashlights or candles for guests in a power outage. The information should be reliable and consistent from the desk staff for queries such as reserving a ride to the airport. Most of the staff were sympathetic and friendly, a few were distant and well, frankly, cold.
The outdoor towels and bicycles available to guests, should be easier to obtain at any time. The room kitchens could be better stocked, a colander perhaps, and some sharp knives.
Saying all this the place was comfortable and almost everything you could need was available. We didn't have time to take advantage of all that was available.

Room Tip: Some rooms have jacuzzis on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyefern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback from guests and it is this type of feedback that we value the most. We are happy to hear you did enjoy your stay and have taken all of your comments into consideration.
We do hope you will have the opportunity of coming back to Playa del Carmen and choose Fishermen’s Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Troy and Eva Moore 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Fisherman. Its a beautiful resort right on the ocean. The oceanview rooms are breathtaking. We had became owners in 2008 and hadn't had a chance to stay at the resort until this year (June 2012). We will definately stay there again in the future!!!! All of the staff were wonderful including bartenders Ricardo and Jose and the waiters including Victor. The front desk was very friendly including Adriana and Cori. Thank you all for making our vacation wonderful!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Guest::

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Sunset Fishermen. We appreciate your nice comments about our staff which we are proud of and thank you on their behalf. We are glad to read you were able to come for the first time since you became a member and enjoyed the property.
It will be our pleasure to have you back and we hope to see you soon. Remember that your home away from home awaits for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We go back to Fisherman's Village year after year because we are greeted like friends by the staff. Astrid and Omar were especially helpful with our every day needs. Luis and David kept our grandchildren smiling from morning to night, and along with the chefs whose names I did not get, kept us entertained with food and drink tastings. We always hate to leave, and return whenever we can.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IdahoTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This was our 4th time here and we love it for a bunch of reasons. First and foremost is the location. It is in a gated, exclusive community with security. It is very close to 5th avenue where you can walk nightly to shops, restaurants, and entertainment. The beach is the best in Mexico not just Playa. The staff do a great job cleaning the seaweed when it accumulates and the amenities on the beach are fantastic. The best part of this resort is Luis. He works there and seems to do everything but his most likely title is activities director and he is fabulous. David is new this year and he is also very good. The rest of the staff is also very good and helpful. However, there is one person that is ruining the great family feel at Fisherman's and his name is Pablo. He deals with member services and he is very smug, condescending and just a flat out liar. We might skip next year if he is still there. Avoid him at all costs but the rest of the staff is great. Another commendation for el gran Luis!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Milutinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at the Fisherman. We loved the staff they were helpful and friendly. We had a wonderful family vacation. We already booked for next year. We met alot of other co-owners which we made friends with. I would definetly recommend the Fisherman to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackyRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sunset Fishermen, we are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and have already made plans and reservations to be with us next year.
It will be our pleasure to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was our 2nd visit to FV, the 1st being in 2006 a year after we purchased. The girls were 6 and 10 on our first visit and 12 and 16 on this visit, so they really got to enjoy and appreciate the experience. They even made us vow to make this an annual trip. The atmosphere is very family friendly and we meet several couples and families who we really connected with. Many co-owners. We even vowed to schedule our return next year to match the dates of others we met. The atmosphere is very relaxed and you really do feel like you're at home, only with an unobscured view of the Carribean Sea and Cozumel. Yes you can actually see the island of Cozumel from the beach and your very own private patio. The service was good, but the best part of the trip was the front desk manager - Marco Cordero. Marco remembered our names from day one and did everything to make sure our trip was as enjoyable as could be! He even arranged to have our room switched so we could have a better view of the beach and Cozumel. I would 100% recommend FV to anyone who wants to enjoy a nice, relaxing, hassell free vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montyb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to read you were able to visit Sunset Fishermen for the second time and we are really looking forward to your next year's visit. It will be our pleasure to be your host again. Thank you for your vey nice words about our staff which inspire us to continue offering a great service with a great smile.

Remember your home away from home is waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our experience at Fishermen's. It had a very relaxing atmosphere, the beaches were stunning, and the staff was exceptionally friendly. The bartenders had a great sense of humor and at dinner time restaurant manager Viridiana's bright attitude and beautiful smile was appreciated by everyone in my family. The only thing that I would change is the pillows ! (they were hard as rocks) But we all had a truly great time and I would certainly recommend Sunset Fishermen to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyAnn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to learn you had such a great time and enjoyed our property so much. We have shared your comment with our housekeeping department so they can look into it.

We really look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#11 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
541 reviews
2.1 km away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#55 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
473 reviews
3 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#43 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,427 reviews
0.5 km away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#124 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
651 reviews
2.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $229 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing