We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, location, and customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barrio Latino Hotel
Ranked #70 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 December 2017

My husband and I spent five days and we have no regrets. The Owner, Andrea, and the employees, especially Celestino, were very friendly and helpful.
Andrea and Celestino gave good tips about what to do and where to visit, as well as recommendations on restaurants, stores, places to buy less expensive souvenirs.
The location is very close to the main street where stores and restaurants are, as well as the beach.
At the beginning there was not hot water on the shower however, Andrea fixed it quickly.
We will definitively come back soon to finish up visiting the Yucatan Peninsula and the places we were unable to reach due to lack of time.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yasmine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

I only booked this hotel for a week, and could have stayed a month. Great location. Pleasant staff, Carlos, at the front desk, was especially helpful. Very clean and quiet room. Breakfast was good and great coffee. Did not have to go to Starbucks in the morning. And breakfast is included!!!
Cannot beat it for the price. Looking forward to my next visit!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank jbredius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

I spend the winter in Mexico and this time my flight came in with enough time for me to take a bus directly home. Unfortunately, mother nature had a different idea. Hurricane Nate was a potential threat to the region and so as a precaution no buses were running south of PDC, I was in a bit of a panic; With heavy luggage and no place to stay, I rapidly hoped I could book a room while on the bus from the airport to PDC. Barrio Latino proved to be my rescue. They had already relocated the upper level guests to lower rooms for safety. I was so at peace with their kindness. This is not a fancy hotel but honestly it has what you need and the most important is to see the familiar faces of kind people who really do care. No pool but the ocean is 2 blocks away. The beds are very comfortable. I feel secure here with the 24 hr locked gate. Try this place and like me, it will become your home away from home. Muchas Gracias Barrio latino

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Acmeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuyResidente, Guest Relations Manager at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Acmeflower, being you among the most frecuent customers, we thank you and we are very happy to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We found this hotel and thought it was pretty nice. It's clean and comfortable. But part of the reason we came to Playa del Carmen was visit family. It turns out that the hotel will not allow you to have any visitors. This was not explained to us until the visitors showed up. VERY embarrassing. It's not clear if there are going to be other rules we didn't know about.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuyResidente, Gerente at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hello, thanks for your review.
At the desk, in the back of the check in form you signed and received, and also in your room, few normal rules are properly written and print.
There was no language barrier because both of you speak spanish and we also speak english, It is pretty usual to limit access to not registered guests to private Hotel areas all over the world, and it is usually well seen : imagine otherwise a crowd of people going in and out without control .
But we respect your point of view. Thanks for the positive review about the location and maid service, despite the vote which doesn't match.
If you have any other doubt about rules, as you say, feel free to talk to us at the desk, as you know we are there 24/7 for you and all the other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We spent 7 nights here during February 2017 and cannot recommend enough. Positioned perfectly just back from 5th avenue, good comfortable rooms, aircon great, breakfast great, and friendly polite helpful staff. To top that you have international calls free.
Advise on a first floor room if possible, may get the odd lizard on the ground floor rooms, but not really a problem.
Great Italian restaurant across the road and also a German bar come restaurant just up the road.
More than competitive prices online.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SILVERSURFER18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

The hotel was simple clean and easy to feel relaxed in with excellent security . Furthermore all the staff I met were friendly and helpful and I was given excellent guidance and assistance when planning trips. The location was excellent too, just two blocks from the beach and also close to the ferry, coach station and collectivos (inexpensive shared taxis) making travel around easy. Opposite is an excellent falafel bar, cheap and delicious!

Room Tip: All rooms quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Clean, great location, security is excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice small breakfast in the morning.

Very quiet and peaceful area, yet close to lots of places t eat, visit.Enjoy that it is eco-friendly, everything reflects an eco-friendly attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlorosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.4 km away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#30 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
704 reviews
0.9 km away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#104 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
229 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#83 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#75 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
344 reviews
1 km away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#115 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
124 reviews
1.1 km away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#62 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrio Latino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrio Latino Hotel

Address: Calle 4 Between Av 15 & Av 10 | Colonia Centro Beach Area, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $48 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrio Latino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the perfect spot for independent travelers looking for location and services, together with great rates. Green Leaders Platinum, Certificate of Excellence 2015, Among Best Prices in Playa del Carmen, is also offering a light breakfast ( including coffee, cereals, fresh green juice, bakery bread, yoghurt, marmelade etc) . Wifi updated this year with new antenas and providers is fast and free, and a limited parking area is available to our clientes. Best rates and owner contact available via the official web page. The management is Italian and this great property is open since 1997. The area of the Hotel, known as Casco Viejo, is perfect to get to everywhere in a short walking distance, and go back and relax using your own hammock, while fridge in room safe and air conditioning will help to pumper you and spend as smart as possible your holiday budget . Restaurants of the area are local, and international, serving fresh food. You will also provide quality life to a web of local producers and workers, when staying at this small but unique official Hotel,and please follow our tips to lower the impact of tourism : no need to look for a vacation rental apartment at these unbeatable rates and with all this history running in Playa del Carmen, just try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barrio Latino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrio Latino Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing