We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$419
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$276
US$211
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$371
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$294
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$380/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$271
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$410
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$403
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,899
US$797
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
373
282
62
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
282
62
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastgreat wifiair conbus stationstayed here for nightsla quintagreen juicesmall hotelceiling fanyogurthot waterclean roomsbring earplugslocation is greatminute walk to the beachlight sleeperbooked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 754 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

I only booked this hotel for a week, and could have stayed a month. Great location. Pleasant staff, Carlos, at the front desk, was especially helpful. Very clean and quiet room. Breakfast was good and great coffee. Did not have to go to Starbucks in the morning. And breakfast is included!!!
Cannot beat it for the price. Looking forward to my next visit!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank jbredius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

I spend the winter in Mexico and this time my flight came in with enough time for me to take a bus directly home. Unfortunately, mother nature had a different idea. Hurricane Nate was a potential threat to the region and so as a precaution no buses were running south of PDC, I was in a bit of a panic; With heavy luggage and no place to stay, I rapidly hoped I could book a room while on the bus from the airport to PDC. Barrio Latino proved to be my rescue. They had already relocated the upper level guests to lower rooms for safety. I was so at peace with their kindness. This is not a fancy hotel but honestly it has what you need and the most important is to see the familiar faces of kind people who really do care. No pool but the ocean is 2 blocks away. The beds are very comfortable. I feel secure here with the 24 hr locked gate. Try this place and like me, it will become your home away from home. Muchas Gracias Barrio latino

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Acmeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuyResidente, Guest Relations Manager at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Dear Acmeflower, being you among the most frecuent customers, we thank you and we are very happy to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We found this hotel and thought it was pretty nice. It's clean and comfortable. But part of the reason we came to Playa del Carmen was visit family. It turns out that the hotel will not allow you to have any visitors. This was not explained to us until the visitors showed up. VERY embarrassing. It's not clear if there are going to be other rules we didn't know about.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuyResidente, Gerente at Barrio Latino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Hello, thanks for your review.
At the desk, in the back of the check in form you signed and received, and also in your room, few normal rules are properly written and print.
There was no language barrier because both of you speak spanish and we also speak english, It is pretty usual to limit access to not registered guests to private Hotel areas all over the world, and it is usually well seen : imagine otherwise a crowd of people going in and out without control .
But we respect your point of view. Thanks for the positive review about the location and maid service, despite the vote which doesn't match.
If you have any other doubt about rules, as you say, feel free to talk to us at the desk, as you know we are there 24/7 for you and all the other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

We spent 7 nights here during February 2017 and cannot recommend enough. Positioned perfectly just back from 5th avenue, good comfortable rooms, aircon great, breakfast great, and friendly polite helpful staff. To top that you have international calls free.
Advise on a first floor room if possible, may get the odd lizard on the ground floor rooms, but not really a problem.
Great Italian restaurant across the road and also a German bar come restaurant just up the road.
More than competitive prices online.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SILVERSURFER18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

The hotel was simple clean and easy to feel relaxed in with excellent security . Furthermore all the staff I met were friendly and helpful and I was given excellent guidance and assistance when planning trips. The location was excellent too, just two blocks from the beach and also close to the ferry, coach station and collectivos (inexpensive shared taxis) making travel around easy. Opposite is an excellent falafel bar, cheap and delicious!

Room Tip: All rooms quiet
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews