We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the beach, spacious, clean and very quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Carmen Hotel
Ranked #58 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“On the beach, spacious, clean and very quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Alhambra very much. Superb location. Amazing view from rooftop terrace. Excellent restaurant, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pillows were too big, a bit uncomfortable for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YasminaOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra R, Director de Recepción at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
thank you for your coments. We will do something abaut the pillows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    73
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
39
135
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Alhambra and found the hotel to be perfect for us. It's a small family owned hotel with the best staff we have ever experienced in all our trips to Mexico. From Mario being there to welcome us, the owners along with both the restaurant staff and the beach waiters, it was all perfect. The rooms are on the small side and can be somewhat noisy at night, but that's to be expected in a town like PDC. We planned our trip back on our flight home and without a doubt, it will include a stay at Alhambra.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Right on the beach. If you are looking for a super duper plush hotel ... this isn't the spot for you. It is clean, very simple (no tv) and the staff is awesome. Bring your own toiletries - but big fluffy beach towels are there for you at the front desk. They also have yoga classes throughout the day for no extra cost. They have buses/tours they can arrange for you at the front desk. Ask about the Temazecal in Tulum. Such a great experience!!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great but if you don't like a lot of noise - ask for one that is not ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Alhambra hotel is conveniently situated in the heart of 5th Avenue. The place is clean and comfortable and the prices are reasonable. You can find bathrooms on the lobby so you dont have to go upstairs. The staff is very kind. Rooms are big and very clean. The food is excellent so you dont have to search for more. I would definetly return.
As a handicap person, the only inconvenience I found is that they dont have rooms on the first floor and they dont have elevator. They have a solarium where you can take as much sun as needed! It is worth for the price you pay.

Room Tip: They dont have a real pool, just a small one, but with that ocean infront you dont need a pool. I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xitlalli13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney traveller
Level Contributor
204 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

After 2 false starts we finally found a good, reasonably priced option in ever changing PLaya del Carmen. Location is what it's all about here- walk out from the bar and onto the beach, without the noise of some other beach hotels. Hotel is clean rooms are comfortable, only niggle being a low pressure shower. Also no TV a plus or minus.... great fast wifi. also a first in this town.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My wife and I had stayed here on two previous occasions and had a nice quiet time. Not this time. We arrived just as the hotel was filling up with a youthful Swiss soccer team in town for a few matches. They were drunk, noisy and generally obnoxious and literally trashed the place during our stay. The management did nothing to prevent this sordid behavior and we were kept up at night by the din. I cannot recommend this establishment and shall not be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mort S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

i satayed there foo a week n i get an amazing vacation.
Rooms are clean and nice. very well located in a nice beach with no rocks and very clean.
The food it`s great they have a restaurant ( zabor ) that is not only for the guess of the resort also for walkers and ppl who joins the beach. So you can be sure that you`ll have a great menu and variety. Many kinds of Ceviche and seafood.
The staff are friendly and warm to all. Waitters alwas can help and i just get relaxed and happy.

I really recomend this small hotel to get relaxed and taned.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cokingafair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 km away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#77 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 km away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#99 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.7 km away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#36 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#141 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#126 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carmen Hotel

Property: The Carmen Hotel
Address: 8 Calle Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Alhambra)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carmen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmen Hotel, an adults only Boutique Hotel located on the Beach in the center of Playa del Carmen, steps away for the World Famous 5th Avenue. The Carmen features Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5, a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 stories above the beach offering the best views on all of Playa del Carmen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your The Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Playa Del Carmen
The Carmen Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing