We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location and view - subpar maintenance and management” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and view - subpar maintenance and management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed at the Grand Penthouse in May. Great location, walking distance to ferry. Huge patio with great view. Nice complex with OK pool. Recent beach reconstruction which turned out well – now lots of sand in front of the complex (water used to come up right to the edge of the complex). Found the unit furnishings to be old but adequate, with a few exceptions (see below).

Our main problems centered on maintenance and management. On arrival, 2 of the 4 AC units were out (I would think these would be checked before arrival). Called the owner, one unit was replaced the next day, but the workers said the owner would not authorize the other to be replaced (main bedroom). In May with a breeze this wasn’t too bad, but could be later in the year. The unit also advertises free internet and phone service – when we arrived these did not work. The owner also was notified, local workers made a few half-hearted attempts to fix but were not successful. We overheard one worker say he thought the bill hadn’t been paid. The patio has furniture that is old and weathered - one chair collapsed on one of our party when he sat down. We also received a phone call from the local property manager chastising us for keeping the front door open (which we did due to AC problems) and indicating the people staying below us had complained about excessive “chair noise” – not sure what this was about, as we had met some of the people staying below us who heard nothing.

After arriving back, I contacted the owner who stated our deposit would be mailed back to us soon. Two months later we have not received our deposit, and the owner will not answer E-mails or phone calls.

The unit still has the largest patio and best view in the complex, and could be a jewel if the above problems were corrected. As noted above, maintenance is subpar and you should assume you won’t get your deposit back when you stay there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuba56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnInPlaya, Owner at Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
So sorry to see this review... we always check our property prior to guests arrival, power surges and electrical issues are common in Mexico (we provide free power surge proctors for our guests for their electrical "toys" ... we had a complex wide power failure with the transformer in the area and lost 2 AC units and it destroyed the DSL modem... which controls wifi and phone service.

BOTH AC units were replaced within 2 days of issue, one on the weekend on Sunday (guest arrived on Saturday) the other on Monday since we could not buy a Central AC system on Sunday since contractor supply company's are closed on Sunday. Unit was installed first thing Monday morning.

RE Deposit... Deposit was paid via Paypal with a credit card... guest was refunded deposit via paypal but did not receive deposit since they reported card as "lost or stolen" while on trip and never responded to Paypal email, once they notified us of the issue, we contacted paypal and had credit applied to the new card number.

We hope to have them back again since they enjoyed the majority of their trip, We are from the USA and make every attempt to respond in the time frame one would expect in the USA. Even with the best of intentions, if we can't BUY the proper AC system, we can't install it until we can buy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We had not stayed in the Playa area before and this is is the absolute perfect spot. Close to everything. Excellent views, wonderful property, really nice people. Loved everything about it. Would absolutely go there again!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkcroval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

Last year my husband and I took a cruise and one of the stops was Cozumel. Since we had been there before, we took the short ferry ride to Playa Del Carmen. We walked the area and the beach and discovered Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse 7209. Absolutely gorgeous location!

This year we stayed in the Grand Penthouse in Xaman Ha. It was perfect. The views from the top floor are even more spectacular than from the beach. Regarding the beach, it was nice when we saw it last year, but now it is being refurbished and is unbelievably wide! It was nearly finished when we left. The distance to the water is three times larger than it was, just beautiful.

Sadly, I am not a swimmer but I really enjoyed the two pools. We got a little raft and I sunned and floated around, back and forth, (the pools are joined with a little water way under a cute little bridge)...very friendly people there too.

The condo is bright and large. We used the washer and dryer, that was really a plus not often found in a condo. The maid came regularly and cleaned everything, I really enjoyed that.
The accommodations are great, but what makes it fun...the decor is really Mexican, so even though you have all the conveniences, it does not look like 'home'.

The kitchen is well equipped, we did some cooking but ate out also. We especially enjoyed eating from the little street carts down by the park. You can get really good, local inexpensive food and sit by the water to eat it. And the water....I have never seen such beautiful, blue water. We live not too far from the Gulf of Mexico and the water never looks like that!

We really found Paradise! Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse 7209

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie6Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

Friends of ours booked the Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse 7209. They e-mailed the utube video to us and we were all pretty excited to go to this luxury condo. Well turns out the utube video is pretty old, and the penthouse is pretty shabby now. You can cook in the kitchen, but be prepared to wash dishes by hand. The dishwasher is gone. If you don't keep up with the dishes, the cockroaches and ants will come out. Well actually the ants were there all the time, we saw the roaches when it was dark and the lights were flipped on.

Did you notice that nice telescope in the living room? It's not there now. I was thinking it would be cool to look at the cruise ships and towards Cozumel on it. Bring your binoculars folks. There is also no computer for your use. They provided internet access, so bring your own laptop if you need to use a computer.

The baclony furniture is pretty old and ratty. The two lounge chairs are split down the middle, so don't let any heavy people sit on them, your likely to finish the job and end up on the floor. Every single plant on the balcony is dead or should be put out of it's misery. Why have them, if you won't hire a gardener to take care of them? There is also a lot of junk on the balcony. On one end behind the dead plants is a broken ladder. At the far end of the balcony, they have some makeshift boards that seperate you from the neighbors balcony. That end also has 3 or 4 garbage bags full of something or other partially hidden behind some more dead plants.

They have some area rugs scattered about the condo. The rug in the living area is nasty and dirty with lots of stains. The living room furniture is cheap rattan, and very uncomfortable. The end tables and coffee table are cheap and have marker or crayola marks on them. I personally didn't find the decorating scheme charming at all. Tacky is the word that comes to my mind.

Don't know who the bathroom artist was, but the fish drawings on the wall and all that fish motif is real tacky.

All in all the whole place is pretty run down and needs some new paint and a good cleaning. The location is great, and other condos are taken care of by their owners. Stay away from 7209 and you should be pretty happy.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny-n-sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

We stayed in the front "house" right on the beach and it was great! He had a very large group of adults and everyone enjoyed the vacation! It was so nice to have our own patio in front of the house overlooking the blue water! My fiance and I actually stayed in one of the basement rooms. It was a little small, but who cares when you are only sleeping there. It was so nice to walk up the stairs every morning to see beautiful skies and pretty water right outside the window. The local feel is great! We loved taking breaks from the beach and walking in town! Food was great and we really enjoyed the option of making our own dinner at the house on a couple of occasions. I would love to go back soon!!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lyttler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

My recent stay at the XamanHa Penthouse was fantastic! The condo is extremely spacious and was equipped with everything necessary to make my trip complete. And the view was unlike any I've seen before. Whether sitting on the large balcony or relaxing by the pool or seaside, the location was outstanding. Additionally, the condo's proximity to shopping, restaurants, etc. was ideal.
I definitely would recommend your condo to others who may be interested. Not to mention, I hope that I'll be returning again in the near future! Muchas gracias!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — that I had to return home
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keyweeIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

I booked the week with 6 other mom's! We left behind 15 kids! From the moment we stepped into the Grand Penthouse, we were in heaven! The view is spectacular!!! The grounds are clean, the pool area is perfect, especially being so close to the tropical, blue water! Seeing the cruise ships and Cozemel in the distance is an added view! Having someone come in daily to freshen up the place was wonderful, since all of us are used to doing this at home! THANK YOU!! For a whole week we all felt like Queens. The location could not have been more perfect....wonderful restaurants, shopping, and for the coffee lovers, to have a Starbucks within a few blocks was just perfect! We all felt very safe and comfortable on the grounds! The Mom's from Chicago will be back!!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jaygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#130 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 km away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#17 of 183 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 km away
Playa Inn Xaman Ha
Playa Inn Xaman Ha
#69 of 169 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Buen Dia Playa Bed and Breakfast
Buen Dia Playa Bed and Breakfast
#47 of 169 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Che B&B
Casa Che B&B
#20 of 169 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 km away
Luna Encantada Vacation Condos
Luna Encantada Vacation Condos
#21 of 183 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse

Property: Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse
Address: Playa del Carmen 77710 | Fracc Playacar Fase1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 183 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xaman Ha is on the beach just a short walk (aprox. 300 meters) south of the ferry dock to Cozumel in Playa del Carmen (just south of the Continental Plaza Hotel). All the units in this deluxe building have AC, a view of the Caribbean and comfortable furnishings. The condos range in size from one to three bedrooms, ceiling fans, equipped kitchenette or the penthouse offers a chef's kitchen and an open dining and living room area. Each condo has TV with either cable or satellite reception. A balcony or porch off the living room offers a spectacular view to the Caribbean and a chance to enjoy the tropical breeze. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xaman Ha Grand Penthouse Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing