We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great but not exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #11 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
fortmcmurray
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great but not exceptional”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The slogan for this resort is "Expect the Exceptional" It's pretty much written on everything. So we did. They didn't come through as exceptional for me, but definitely a great resort in a wonderful area.

Checkin - once we got through the timeshare hounds at the airport, there was a Best Day and Westjet representative waiting for us outside who directed us to the proper bus to take to the resort. We were the only guests going to the Royal and there wasn't a welcome drink or anything waiting for us at check-in. A little strange for a 5 star resort, but not a big deal, the bar was our next stop. I reserved a room online in advance and was told we had to wait an hour for our room to be ready. Off to the bar. Came back after a drink or two and was told the room I reserved wasn't available so they gave us another in the same area but closer to the ocean.

Room - beautiful. Great oceanview. Would have liked an oceanfront but all these rooms had one king bed and we were two ladies traveling together so opted for a double oceanview. Loved the hammock on the balcony and the bose stereo system. Only used the jacuzzi once just to say we did, but the rainshower head in the shower was absolutely amazing. Lots of room for two ladies to get ready and lay all our stuff out.

The butler that brought our bags to the suite took all our information about what time we liked our rooms cleaned, aromatherapy scents for our turndown service and what times we'd like our evening turndown. This was another area they fell a bit down on. Only got our room cleaned at our chosen time 2 days and the only saw the turndown 3 evenings. Once again, not a reason to give a bad review, but I "expected the exceptional". Never heard from the butler again during the week.

Room service - was fast, hot food, could ask for things that weren't on the menu and it was no problem. Great service here. We ordered ice a few times because the ice machines in our block of rooms weren't working most days.

Restaurants - mostly great.

Asiana - our favourite. Excellent service, nice quiet setting. Outside patio as well as inside. Amazing food.

Pelicanos - open air on the beach. Great for lunch and dinner. Excellent evening atmosphere.

Marie Marie's - amazing food and service. TBone steak was great. Desserts were awesome. A little noisy due to the high ceilings. Was really busy one night so they gave us a beeper and we had a drink at the bar while waiting for our table. Nice touch not to have to make reservations.

Spice - good buffet food, good service, same as most all-inclusives.

Mediterano - smaller buffet but really good for a quick lunch.

Coffee Bar - yummy yummy. Coffee made to order, including Baileys and lovely desserts.

One of the nicest services of this resort was the waitress serving drinks on the beach and around the pools.

Bars - most drinks were awesome and if you didn't like something, they would remake it for you. Spent all week looking for the advertised martini bar - still didn't find it, think they made martinis at the lobby bar and it wasn't actually it's own bar??

24 hr VIP room - never used much but was nice to have it there when we wanted a bottle of water or even a cookie during the day. Not alot of choices in the way of munchies and drinks and the water wasn't kept in a cooler. Weird.

Shows - every night there was live music and dancing before the show. We missed this because we went next door to the Gran Porto Real (sister property) to watch the shows as they were earlier and had a much better stage and sound system. The Elements show is a must see.

Spa - didn't use. Way too expensive, crazy resort prices.

The proximity to 5th avenue was a plus and a major reason we chose this resort, the shopping was fun and we took a ferry to Cozumel for an afternoon. Was great being able to walk everywhere and not have to take a taxi.

Pools and beach - not a chance to get a chair by the pool unless you get up at 4am to put your towels out. Crazy towel games going on. And most chairs weren't even being used, just sitting there with a towel for most of the day. The quiet pool usually had a chair or two come available at lunchtime. As well, there was no shade or umbrellas at the pools or beach. The beach had small shade areas all stuck together which was kinda strange. A few umbrellas would really be a nice touch.

Overall a great trip and a great resort, but definitely not exceptional. I've been to 4 star resorts in other areas that have been just as good and cost much less money. It's an absolute beautiful place and could easily be exceptional with a little work.

We did manage to stay away from the "timeshare" guys, though they don't call themselves that, we knew going in to avoid them.

One thing that was exceptional, all the workers around the garden areas, they were constantly fixing and pruning to keep the place beautiful. Bravo to them.

Room Tip: get a room in the quiet area. Around the main pool seems would be way too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mcmurraygirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nestor O, General Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your feedback and suggestions as they are very valuable to us. Regarding your kind comments about the lounges at the pool and beach; we are kindly informing you that have taken the necessary actions in order to guarantee our guests satisfaction and comfort.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort and will continue to work on your improvement comments.
We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12,591
    2,223
    682
    306
    225
See reviews for
1,863
9,648
203
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I were very pleased with our stay at The Royal. We really could not have asked for a better honeymoon. The room was wonderful, service was excellent, and we loved the food! We went the end January so the water was a little chilly. We spent most of the evenings in the hotel lobby/bar. The entertainment was fun, but nothing spectacular. We sat in Selene's section every night- she was absoltely wonderful, so go find her!
The only thing we didn't like about our stay was that people were always trying to sell us something more. When we first got there they tried to sell us a dinner on the beach, and then they asked us every day if we wanted to buy excursions. There were people in the lobby trying to sell us a Gold Club pass. When we went to dinner a few times, we had people come up a few times to see if we wanted to see the wine list. The wine on that list is not included in the "all inclusive". If you want wine, you need to ask for the house wine. Then at a few of the places, our servers told us about the "specials". Well, the specials were a surf and turf with lobster, and lobster is not included either. My husband and I paid a good amount of money for our trip, and it was worth it; however, I was annoyed that every time we turned around we were asked to buy even more.
Also, we both did get sick once we got home, so not matter what they tell you, please be careful about what you are eating and the water you are drinking.
I would tell any of my family and friends to stay there. It was absolutely beautiful and within walking distance from 5th Ave. If we decide to go to Playa del Carmen again, we will certainly stay at The Royal!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nestor O, General Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your feedback and suggestions as they are very valuable to us.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort and are looking forward welcoming you back in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We booked through Delta and although i called the hotel directly a month prior to our arrival, and the agent called 2 days prior, we were promised (by the hotel & Delta) 2 beds in a room. Upon arrival, we learned that the 2 bed configuration was not an option - only if we downgraded.

After countless exchanges w/ our agent & the front desk - we were not offered an apology or consideration at all.

The People working at the resort are awesome.

I have no recommendations for travelers regarding room configurations - other than good luck! This hotel does not appear to offer 2 doubles beachfront and if they assure you they do - you have been warned!

Room Tip: Look at the website to choose rooms. We have a roll away stuffed in our room, comfy, but not at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank creedAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nestor O, General Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are deeply sorry to read that you had inconveniences during your stay at our resort. We sincerely hope to have the privilege of hosting you back in a future, so we can improve the expressed impressions and provide you with our exceptional service and characteristic hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This year, April 2012 will be our third consecutive year at the Royal Playa del Carmen! We are treated so well at this resort. Everyone is so nice. Food is absolutely wonderful and the all inclusive holiday is certainly worth every penny! We visited another location in February and found it didn't even come close in comparison of this resort.

Room Tip: We always ask for oceanview from the main poolside of the complex..it is an excellent location and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amethystgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nestor O, General Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort and are looking forward welcoming you back in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I was Royally taken in by the subtle sales pitch of the Real Gold Club sales team. I was badgered after 5 hours of tag teaming to sign a contract that had few of the verbal promises made to me. When I went in to cancel the next day I was told it would cost me 5 times my original cost to get out of the contract. It ruined my dream vacation.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nestor O, General Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are kindly informing you that your membership was cancelled per your request since March 02nd and your Refund will proceed through VISA. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further comments or if any assistance is required.

Thank you for your visit and we hope to have the privilege of serving you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was our 2nd time at the Royal, we loved it even more than the first time. We did the 48hour online check in and picked the ocean view room #349. GREAT room, AMAZING view. This particular room had a hammock on the balcony. I believe most of the oceanview rooms do, but some I saw did not have one.
Food was great most of the time. Only complaint was the sushi at Asiana, we are big sushi eaters and this was a downer. Best places for dinner were Maria Marie and the italian restaurant next door. Sitting at the tapas/ pelicanos for lunch was great for the view and the food was good also. Maria Marie has a long wait most of the time, if you go in and talk to the hostess you can make a reservation for the next night without a wait.
The beach was great, drink waitresses were always asking you if you need anything to drink.
Now we were there for the week when they added the 20+ chairs. Before they added them I was getting up at 4:30 AM to put towels out on chairs. I would have to say it got a little better when they added the chairs but you still have to get. up at 6ish to save one. Part of the issue here is some people want the best of both, so they will put towels out at the pool but head down to the beach for a couple of hours before heading back to the pool. I saw a couple of fights over chairs..hopefully the increase in chairs will help this issue.
Spa was also great. I had a deep tissue massage that was well worth the money!
Finally, I would like to say the staff made this trip great! I've never met more people willing to do whatever it takes to make your experience amazing. A special thanks to CHAN at Tapas he was very nice and always had us laughing!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrLo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nestor O, General Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your feedback and suggestions as they are very valuable to us. Regarding your kind comments about the lounges at the pool and beach; we are kindly informing you that have taken the necessary actions in order to guarantee our guests satisfaction and comfort.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort and are looking forward welcoming you back in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in May 2011. This hotel is truly amazing the rooms are beautiful and so relaxing and romantic, the staff go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable and the cleanliness of the entire place was exceptional. Every meal we ate in each restaurant was cooked well and tasted delicious, we especially enjoyed eating our lunch watching the sea rolling in at Pelicanos. My husband and i also loved spending time on 5th avenue which was a stones throw away, there are plenty of late night places to drink which we found on many ocassions. The hotel and the surrounding area really was the best holiday ever which is why we are returning in May for our 1 year anniversary, can't wait!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nestor O, General Manager at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort and are looking forward welcoming you back in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
7.7 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,975 reviews
0.6 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
2,727 reviews
2.4 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#22 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
8,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,189 reviews
3.2 km away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4,206 reviews
17.9 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Property: The Royal Playa del Carmen
Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing