We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best all-inclusive I've ever been to!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #42 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Awesome place to stay!Hotel,beach,views and food amazing!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,499 - 2,505 of 5,564 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at this resort mid February. Had a wonderful time. After reading previous reviews, I am pleased to say I agree. The weather was beautiful, food was very good (which isn't always the case at an AI) and the staff was great!!! Special shout out to Saul, Pedro, Santos and Joe. You guys made our experience fun and welcoming.

The resort is beautiful and clean. Yes, the rooms had a little musty smell but I have experienced that almost everytime I went to the Carribean. It's nothing that will bother you!
We were in the least expensive room category and I was about to upgrade but don't bother. These rooms are fine!

Service was phenomenol! You didn't even put a drink down before another has arrived at your table during the shows. The people work really hard and should be appreciated. I joked most of them during the week to see if they ever went home. It's amazing!

The beach was awesome, ,,,very big and plenty of chairs. They have plenty of activities throughout the day to enjoy. I also received a massage on the beach from Sandra...Thank you Sandra, My back still feels great!

Walk to town was 15-20 mins. A must see...we had alot of fun and it's nice to know you can leave the resort every once in a while (took a cab back...had a few margarita's and got lazy:)

If you plan on going ...enjoy!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank milly1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Hotel is like a palace and you are treated like kings and queens. We were upgraded in our room choice and we loved it. Rooms 2017 & 2019 over look the courtyard and are very quiet. Important to stay away from end Rooms near the lobby or Chilies restaurant. You drink and eat all day if you want . They even bring drinks out on the beach or sometimes pizza! My husband loved the gymn and I loved snorkeling and shell hunting. I walked for miles! No problem getting lounge chairs on beach but around the pool is tougher. We didn't spend much time at the pool, it's hotter there unless you want to stay in the pool and sit on numerous places they have, even at the bar. The walk to 5th ave. Is easy either by sidewalk which takes you by some Mayan ruins and has paths that go on and on like a park or walking the beach there. Lots of iguana! 5th ave is fun for shopping and be hard nosed when people approach
you, just keep walking. This is located at the first pier where the ferries to Cozumel board or unload. We did take a ferry over and a jeep tour. Would not recommend the jeep tour! Wasn't really impressed with Cozumel. If you walk out the front door of the hotel, go left and you will find lots of shops and markets. Then when you leave there just go across the street to another riu and have a drink. You can go to any of the riu's and get the same free drinks, breakfast or lunch. I also love to bird watch but didn't take a lot of time doing it. Where the gymn is , there is also a spa which is extra. Then there is a cold and hot jucuzzi at your convenience. As for food we loved the buffet and the brazil Ian restaurants. Chilies was ok and really good for breakfast and lunch. Sometimes they would do burgers, ribs etc on the beach. We loved this vacation and will go back. We went thru Funjet and they are there two different times of the day to answer ?? Or help set you up with tours. You must make reservations for the evening dinners except the buffet. You can also not have a reservation and check any restaurant for no shows and you can get in. Bring your iPad and go to the lobby for WiFi.. My husband was there every day checking markets and keeping abreast of the world! The people here work really hard and you would be surprised at how much they do by labor vs. Machines. Although you don't have to tip, you may feel compelled to do so at times. If you are a shell hunter or bought heavy items, be sure you weigh your luggage before you get to the airport. They have a small scale at the lobby desk. If you are over the weight limit it is very expensive!!!! Can't say snuff good things about it, go,go,go. Forgot to add, the wine is not very good.

Room Tip: We had 2107 and 2109 courtyard view and away from the lobby and Chilies. Good bed and balcony a mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Have stayed at this Riu with the wife a few times. We like it. Great Beach, food is good, grounds well maintained and lots of Palm Trees for shade (if you want them) near the edge of the beach. All inclusive of course.
New for 2012 - they fixed the free WiFi in the Hotel's lobby. It now runs as it should. It's fast enough now to allow your Vonage application on your iPhone to make super-cheap phone calls from Mexico back to the U.S. ~2cents a minute.
Sailing is #1 for me and I stay here because they have the (all included) Hobie Cats you can sail right off the beach. When you stay at this Riu you also have privileges at the other 4 Riu Resorts just down the beach from the Riu Palace.

VIDEO! Condition of the Riu Palace Riviera Maya Beach 2012 vs. 2010.

In February 2010 the Mexican Government paid to rebuild the beach in Playa Del Carmen.
Here is the YouTube video I shot just after the 2010 beach re-construction....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dfN4s11gM1E

This February 2012 two years later I shot another YouTube video to see how much beach erosion had taken place. The good news is the beach is still in good shape!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=diix7qeXtKg&feature=youtu.be

Room Tip: Shop on line, on the Internet, you can find discount coupons (we did) online to help reduce your cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkierInAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have been traveling with the same group of people for 10 years now and haved stayed mostly at all inclusive resorts.this is definitely the best yet. We have stayed at many others including Riu Montego Bay. The place is just beautiful and food and drink were better than most . The real difference here was the people, they were friendly , outgoing and would do anything to make your stay better. The 8 of were truly impressed and are planning out next trip back already.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScotRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stupid title I know, but it’s something I’ve not read on any advice giving website before. The issue worked out ok, but folks planning to bring tennis rackets into Mexico (at least into Cancun) should know that two of the other couples with us easily and without issue brought rackets onto the country as carry-on items, but were prohibited from exiting the country in a similar fashion. They had to stuff them into checked luggage while at the American Airlines counter in one case and were rejected at security in the other. In both instances, the rackets went via checked luggage on the return fligh. Not a catastrophe, but surely an inconvenience following a very good vacation. Just be aware.

This is the second time for us with the Riu chain. It was a great place to relax, with no real drama anywhere. The place is kept immaculately clean and orderly. We’ve been to several all inclusives, and this ones food selection and in-room soda/liquor was superior. The staff was very attentative and unobtrusive. Check out and in was easy (we were Tuesday to Tuesday). We used Apple Vacations which provided the best price and a very convenient aircraft to hotel direct limo service (really a van). I recommend it.

All in all – a good value. The beach was large and most folks spent their time there, though we stayed at the one and only pool. There were diversions and excursions to be had, but we just chilled. Weather in early February beats the cold of the northeast US any day. We’ll go back to Riu.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have stayed at the Riu Palace in Puerto Vallerta previously and had a great time, the Riu Palace Mayan Riveria did not not disappoint! We were greeted with smiles and our room had just been freshly cleaned, complete with towel animal. The maid checked in just after we arrived to make sure we were happy with the room. She was excellent the whole week, including turndown service every night. Yes, there was a minor musty smell which we quickly got used to.

We did have a real king bed, not 2 doubles pushed together, as previous reviews have mentioned. The safe in the room worked well for us, we had nothing stolen and never felt unsafe at any time. Our beverages were refilled multiple times per day for us (we went through water like crazy)The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. I used the workout room one day and found it to be very nice, with multiple machines and weights. The treadmills were pretty run down, so I used an elliptical instead. The staff were friendly and smiling, always. Spa was definitely overpriced. Wifi in lobby worked fine.

The beach is honestly why we choice this property and it is gorgeous. Nice wide white sand beach, with many palm trees for shade, beautiful water and plenty of loungers to choose from. You can walk for a long time (probably miles) in either direction. Regular drink service too, with attentive service even if you didn't tip regularly (although we tried, when we remembered). The pool was nice enough, but we stayed away from this- full of rowdy people especially in the afternoon.

The food was probably the worst part of the resort. Breakfast was fine. Dinner was the worst for us- at Don Manolo, nothing really seemed to have any flavor. It is buffet style, so there were plenty of choices, but nothing was really stellar. I recall the Riu in PV having better food, but who knows. I was ready to eat, since we were on vacation, but didn't want to waste calories on fried food, overworked pasta, overcooked fish, tasteless desserts that had been sitting out forever. So we just walked to Playa Del Carmen every night for dinner- it is about 15 min walk, you can walk on the beach or on the sidewalk (there is a nice paved sidewalk within the Playacar gated community that is very safe). It was a nice change to the day, with much better food in town. Dinner there is just as much if not more expensive than in the US. All places take dollars, no need to change pesos at all.

We used cancun transfers, which charged $30 round trip from the airport and were on time, able to accommodate a last minute pick up change.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.3 km away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
685 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,646 reviews
18.6 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
28.3 km away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $319 - $772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located directly on the white, sandy beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Playacar, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels. The 400 spacious and elegant junior suites are set in the 3-storey main building, with its delightful architectural style and surrounded by extensive tropical gardens. * Next Village / Location Playa del Carmen 2.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 60.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International Airport (CUN) 55.0 km approx. * Main Building 3 floors 400 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, RIU Hotels and Resorts and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing