We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$594
US$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$395
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
US$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$486
US$339
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$676
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$205
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
539
117
23
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
117
23
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindigo beach clubhot tubel tajmaster bedroomrooftop terraceperfect locationthe penthouseimprevist restaurantthree bedroomshopping and restaurantsfull kitchenprivate jacuzzigreat gymbreakfast includedliving areasister propertyfifth avenue
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 687 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I almost never write a good or bad review on any website so Porto Playa Condos must have impressed me. We just returned from Playa del Carmen last week (3/24/12). We stayed in the two bedroom condo with penthouse unit. Everything was terrific. It is terrific at night if you want to open up the two large glass patio doors to the kitchen/living room area. You can have dinner at the large kitchen island or sit outside at the bistro table with 4 chairs or go to the rooftop patio for dinner. We also played cards in all the locations. The cleaning staff was terrific. Better than most hotels I have stayed at. The three separate AC units worked great. There is satellite TV and a radio system with an Ipod dock. Fully equipped kitchen too. Would suggest the 10 minute walk to the Mega Mart. Amazing bakery and cheap liquor. We bought steaks which we cooked on our rooftop grill. Great steaks by US standards too.
The front office staff could not be more helpful. If we needed ice for our room, they would hustle several bags to our room. There was FREE 5 gallon spring water coolers in the room which are replaced as needed. They would even change the bottles out if needed. My favorite thing was the pool. Small compared to resort standards but it is the perfect temperature, has three water falls going to the lower pool area and three sitting benches in the pool to read or take a siesta (which I did). We never had an issue finding a place to lay out. Only went to the beach a few times. The beach club was OK as it is connected to the public beach but it was fine. Service staff was great. Juan (bellhop and beach server) would hustle around getting umbrellas up when needed and would even clean our sunglasses (never had that done anywhere). The sheets in the rooms were like butter too, beds were comfortable too. The only disappointment was the wireless internet. It worked fine when we connected but was a little slow at times and would bounce us off if we were not working on something. For $50 for the week for wireless internet and included international/local calling, a good value. We would definately stay here again. These folks know how to run a hotel. We read the Tripadvisor reviews before we booked which was very helpful and took some of the guess out of staying. The gym was also terrific and better than the gym at my hometown (free too). I would also highly suggest a trip to the Al Cielo beach. It is free as long as you spend $25 per person at the beach. It is secluded and about 25 minutes away. It will cost about $22 USD each way via taxi to get there but we had such a memorable time there. The concierge arranged it for us. You will absolutely love it.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the two bedroom with the penthouse (rooftop patio). It has a great hot tub, gas grill, and two seating areas. You can see the ocean from the roof too.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunderdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Recommend unit 221! You get all the amenities of a home rental - full kitchen, 3 bedroom/3 bath BUT daily maid service which was really nice with a group. Be aware that this hotel is not directly on the beach and only unit 221 has views of the water, both from the master bedroom and from the great roof deck. We used the both the hot tub and the grill on the roof - where even on the hottest day you get great ocean breezes. The concierge was helpful in answering any questions and we took advantage of the "VIP card" which gives you 10-15% off at some of the best restaurants in Playa. You never have to get in a taxi during your stay as everything in town is easily walkable, including the grocery. One point to note, which wasn't a problem with our 20-30's crowd, is the beds are VERY hard. They're mattresses on concrete which could be a problem if you have sleeping/back issues. They were just fine for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTravels000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Everything about the Porto Playa property was excellent. I booked a 5 day stay here for a quiet spring break and it was everything I could have hoped for. It's a very short walk to the beach and the shops, bars and restaurants of 5th Avenue, but is isolated enough that you don't hear the sounds of late night partying. The hotel staff is very helpful and speaks excellent English (if that's a concern for you). The condo itself came with every amenity we needed. The kitchen was fully stocked with appliances and cookware, and it was a five to ten minute walk to the nearest grocery store. Our 2 bedroom condo had the perfect layout for a group, with a large open living room and separate en suite bathrooms. The furniture was a little on the bland side and one of the beds did not appear all that comfortable, but was by no means poor quality. The pool was also wonderful for relaxing if the beach was too windy.

The beach club, like all beaches in Mexico, is open to the public, so you will have to deal with folks walking back and forth. However, the wait staff is good and the view superb. Overall, this was the perfect location.

Room Tip: The higher floors are slightly more isolated, if you prefer that. Additionally, the penthouses come with their own private grills and jacuzzis.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuckerchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Porto Playa. The spaces are clean and beautiful, the location is terrific and very accessible, everything is walking distance. Breakfast at Club Indigo was super. The staff is excellent, very helpful. Sometimes language can be a barrier if you don't know Spanish but it all does work out in the end.

They do have laundry facilities but the maid has to do it- and that is kind of expensive. There are local drop off laundromats which work well for a quarter of the cost. Excellent chef services from Cocos Culinary school by the owner Coty.

We would definitely go back again. This place is also very good for families with your children.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samratami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our 10th trip to Playa this winter, our 7th stay at Porto Playa Condos. We will never stay anywhere but a Perlman property while in Playa because they do it right!!
The service is beyond compare, the properties are exquisitely designed, decorated and maintained, and everything about the stay there is perfect! We had a few problems with our air conditioning and shower in the condo which were resolved within hours - on a weekend!
The beach club at El Taj, a sister property, is fabulous, as is the restaurant (Indigo) at the beach, for breakfast. The loungers are the most comfortable on all the beach in Playa, in our opinion....
A family member has already booked a November stay and we will be back next spring...pretty soon we'll rack up TEN stays at this great resort!!

Room Tip: Best condos are the penthouse with rooftop decks, palapas, hot tubs, outdoor kitchens. Great place for relaxing between beach time and dinner.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohawkdjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews