We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lush, quiet, urban, cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Ranked #17 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lush, quiet, urban, cool”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

THis was such a lovely property. The design is fantastic, the rooms are immaculate and very nicely done, the staff is fantastic--flawless. We loved the rooftop pool, our room on the first floor, its proximity to bustling 5th Ave, the quiet hush within the courtyard - an oasis within the urban bustle.

I would consider buying a unit, it was that good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plannergirl34950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    103
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
252
188
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I almost never write a good or bad review on any website so Porto Playa Condos must have impressed me. We just returned from Playa del Carmen last week (3/24/12). We stayed in the two bedroom condo with penthouse unit. Everything was terrific. It is terrific at night if you want to open up the two large glass patio doors to the kitchen/living room area. You can have dinner at the large kitchen island or sit outside at the bistro table with 4 chairs or go to the rooftop patio for dinner. We also played cards in all the locations. The cleaning staff was terrific. Better than most hotels I have stayed at. The three separate AC units worked great. There is satellite TV and a radio system with an Ipod dock. Fully equipped kitchen too. Would suggest the 10 minute walk to the Mega Mart. Amazing bakery and cheap liquor. We bought steaks which we cooked on our rooftop grill. Great steaks by US standards too.
The front office staff could not be more helpful. If we needed ice for our room, they would hustle several bags to our room. There was FREE 5 gallon spring water coolers in the room which are replaced as needed. They would even change the bottles out if needed. My favorite thing was the pool. Small compared to resort standards but it is the perfect temperature, has three water falls going to the lower pool area and three sitting benches in the pool to read or take a siesta (which I did). We never had an issue finding a place to lay out. Only went to the beach a few times. The beach club was OK as it is connected to the public beach but it was fine. Service staff was great. Juan (bellhop and beach server) would hustle around getting umbrellas up when needed and would even clean our sunglasses (never had that done anywhere). The sheets in the rooms were like butter too, beds were comfortable too. The only disappointment was the wireless internet. It worked fine when we connected but was a little slow at times and would bounce us off if we were not working on something. For $50 for the week for wireless internet and included international/local calling, a good value. We would definately stay here again. These folks know how to run a hotel. We read the Tripadvisor reviews before we booked which was very helpful and took some of the guess out of staying. The gym was also terrific and better than the gym at my hometown (free too). I would also highly suggest a trip to the Al Cielo beach. It is free as long as you spend $25 per person at the beach. It is secluded and about 25 minutes away. It will cost about $22 USD each way via taxi to get there but we had such a memorable time there. The concierge arranged it for us. You will absolutely love it.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the two bedroom with the penthouse (rooftop patio). It has a great hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunderdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Recommend unit 221! You get all the amenities of a home rental - full kitchen, 3 bedroom/3 bath BUT daily maid service which was really nice with a group. Be aware that this hotel is not directly on the beach and only unit 221 has views of the water, both from the master bedroom and from the great roof deck. We used the both the hot tub and the grill on the roof - where even on the hottest day you get great ocean breezes. The concierge was helpful in answering any questions and we took advantage of the "VIP card" which gives you 10-15% off at some of the best restaurants in Playa. You never have to get in a taxi during your stay as everything in town is easily walkable, including the grocery. One point to note, which wasn't a problem with our 20-30's crowd, is the beds are VERY hard. They're mattresses on concrete which could be a problem if you have sleeping/back issues. They were just fine for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTravels000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Everything about the Porto Playa property was excellent. I booked a 5 day stay here for a quiet spring break and it was everything I could have hoped for. It's a very short walk to the beach and the shops, bars and restaurants of 5th Avenue, but is isolated enough that you don't hear the sounds of late night partying. The hotel staff is very helpful and speaks excellent English (if that's a concern for you). The condo itself came with every amenity we needed. The kitchen was fully stocked with appliances and cookware, and it was a five to ten minute walk to the nearest grocery store. Our 2 bedroom condo had the perfect layout for a group, with a large open living room and separate en suite bathrooms. The furniture was a little on the bland side and one of the beds did not appear all that comfortable, but was by no means poor quality. The pool was also wonderful for relaxing if the beach was too windy.

The beach club, like all beaches in Mexico, is open to the public, so you will have to deal with folks walking back and forth. However, the wait staff is good and the view superb. Overall, this was the perfect location.

Room Tip: The higher floors are slightly more isolated, if you prefer that. Additionally, the penthouses come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckerchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Porto Playa. The spaces are clean and beautiful, the location is terrific and very accessible, everything is walking distance. Breakfast at Club Indigo was super. The staff is excellent, very helpful. Sometimes language can be a barrier if you don't know Spanish but it all does work out in the end.

They do have laundry facilities but the maid has to do it- and that is kind of expensive. There are local drop off laundromats which work well for a quarter of the cost. Excellent chef services from Cocos Culinary school by the owner Coty.

We would definitely go back again. This place is also very good for families with your children.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samratami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohawkdjc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our 10th trip to Playa this winter, our 7th stay at Porto Playa Condos. We will never stay anywhere but a Perlman property while in Playa because they do it right!!
The service is beyond compare, the properties are exquisitely designed, decorated and maintained, and everything about the stay there is perfect! We had a few problems with our air conditioning and shower in the condo which were resolved within hours - on a weekend!
The beach club at El Taj, a sister property, is fabulous, as is the restaurant (Indigo) at the beach, for breakfast. The loungers are the most comfortable on all the beach in Playa, in our opinion....
A family member has already booked a November stay and we will be back next spring...pretty soon we'll rack up TEN stays at this great resort!!

Room Tip: Best condos are the penthouse with rooftop decks, palapas, hot tubs, outdoor kitchens. Great place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohawkdjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

i have rented condos and houses in playa for a number of years porto playa was the best value in fact it was nicer than more expensive accomodation I rented in the past. The staff at the condo were well trained and courteous to a fault. Will certainly return to porto again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 km away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,598 reviews
0.2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#8 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,670 reviews
0.5 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Property: Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Address: 1a. Avenida Norte, Mza. 26 #23, Calle 16, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point is a Sanctuary reminiscent of a tropical rain forest. There is even a "State of the Art" Gym and Fitness Center right on premises. Porto Playa features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses and condominiums. All the Penthouses have their own private rooftop terrace with BBQ outdoor kitchen, heated Jacuzzi some with spectacular partial ocean views. Centrally located in the heart of Playa, Porto Playa is only one short block from the beautiful Caribbean Playa del Carmen beaches and famous 5th Ave. Perfect for beach weddings, honeymoons in Playa del Carmen , families and business groups and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Playa Condo Hotel And Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing