We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocos Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cocos Cabanas
Ranked #113 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

We found Coco's on the internet. A big Thank You to everyone on Trip Advisor! Thank you for the wonderful reviews, and thank you for answering all my questions. We LOVED it! We arrived in the evening after a very long 12 hour day of traveling. Sylvia greeted us like we were family. She helped us get settled, and then Helmut cooked us a fabulous dinner. Boy, he can cook! The food was beyond wonderful. The menu is so diverse, we never had the same thing twice (unless we chose to!). The pizza is fantastic..I'm orignally from Chicago, so I know my pizza, and Helmut's pizza totally hit the mark! The homemade dips that are served with tortilla chips had me asking Helmut for his recipes!

Cabanas: Lovely! Cozy, with air conditioning and a ceiling fan. Cute deck/patio in the front..great for morning coffee, or evening cocktails. There is no refrigerator, or water in the rooms. Stop on your way down, and pick up a cooler, ice, and a huge jug of water.

Beach: The beach is about 100 yds away...I was afraid we'd have to cross a busy road, or walk across scorching pavement to get to it. No way. A quick walk thru sand will get you to the beach. I didnt even wear shoes to get there. The beach is beautiful. White sand, and crystal clear blue water. Absolutely fabulous. Go to the left, and the small resort next door will let you use their chairs and palapas. Just buy a drink or lunch while you're there. We liked the little bar there so much, we would go there for our happy hour drinks before going back to our cabana for dinner.

Money: Coco's does not take credit cards. Be prepared to pay in cash for any charges to your room. Helmut will give you the best exchange rate available.

Rental Car: We booked our rental car on line with our tickets. $300 for ten days. Not bad. Until we got to the Dollar rental place. The insurance was outrageous. $50 a day for full coverage. That cost almost as much as our room! We took it, mostly cause we were so tired and hot. We just wanted to go. It did come in handy tho. We woke up our first morning to a flat tire. Helmut called Dollar for us (language barrier!), and Dollar came out with a replacement car, at no charge to us. Driving in Mexico is nuts! Be prepared for children, dogs, cars, people, jumping out in front of you. It was like a video game! We felt that we made a good choice by getting the car. Coco's is a bit out of the way, and we definately needed it.

We would definately go back! Helmut and Sylvia are a couple of the nicest people you will ever meet. Committed to providing a relaxing vacation experience, cleanliness, and service. We adored them. I actually cried when saying goodbye, something I've never done before.

Thank you Helmut and Sylvia! You're the very best!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    46
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
43
117
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

We couldn't pass up staying at CoCo's for one night on our trip to Cancun so we rented a car and took our friends along for a one night stay. They told us it was the highlight of their trip. I ordered pork chops in mushroom sauce and Helmut did an absolutely wonderful job preparing them. The sauce was marvelous. A nice relaxing evening. The road is being re done and will be fantastic when finished.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnRWestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

This was our 4th visit to Coco's and they delivered again! Coco's owners, Sylvia and Helmut, do it right! The service is top-notch and very personalized...the food and drink are superb, the cabana's are private and cozy, the hammocks in the garden are perfect for an afternoon siesta and the beach is a one minute walk. If you want a cool place to stay off the beaten path and want to avoid the all-inclusive mega-resort -- come hang out at coco's

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Coco's Cabanas was overall a very nice place to spend our vacation. The owners were very nice and helpful and the grounds were all very well kept and clean. The hammocks provided a great place to hang out and relax next to the pool. There was a lot of questions before our arrival about what to expect when we got there so I hope to clarify some of those here.

There are 5 bungalows all very nice and well kept, however, one hot water heater for all 5. You need to time your showers when you're here if you want hot water. You have the choice of A/C, all have fans. We honestly just used the fans most of the time since it was cool enough in their winter. There were no safes in the rooms, which isn't a big deal but would have been nice.

The location was nice and very close to the beach, but wasn't beachfront. You are tucked away behind another small hotel which is on the beach. You actually can't see the beach while inside the property. You to go out the entrance, turn right and there you will see the beach maybe 200' away. When arriving here, make sure you bring directions also because the cab drivers tend to not know where it is. It is off the highway a couple miles so be sure to arrive for the first time in the day so you can see all the signs pointing where to turn.

The food there was great! Tasty pizzas of all types. It was a little pricy everywhere on the beach and around the area, so unless you plan on going into Playa del Carmen, Coco's is probably the best place to eat. It's the best deal around, although keep in mind there are only a couple places within walking distance.

Overall, Coco's Cabanas was an amazing place to stay, especially when considering the cost, which also included breakfast!! I would definitely recommend staying here, maybe not for the honeymooners, but definitely for families who want to take over the whole place or anybody else just looking for a vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MINNESOTA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Once again I find myself here dreaming about another trip to Coco's - I have been there so many times I have lost count. Yep, I love it. I love absolutely everything about it. It is where my soul wants to go when it comes time to plan a vacation. Sometimes we even go twice in a year. There is nowhere else exactly like it. I have written many reviews and they are all true. There is a tug that I get whenever I think about the place, the family that owns it, the food, the wine, the laughter, the funny bird noises, the palms swaying, the tiny little pool shimmering in the sun, and so on.... There is too much to tell and words can't make up what you feel when you are there. All I can say is go.... and go with someone you love. You will come away loving them more than you did before your trip. Leave a seashell on your patio so I know you were there. 88 days and counting.....

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KARI3230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

My husband and I felt like we were staying at the beautiful home of good friends: friends who give you plenty of privacy, but also who give the very best of themselves to their guests. The couple who own and run this place are true gems! From the moment we arrived, they made us feel right at home in every way. The food they cook is excellent, as are their potent cocktails! The beach is a few steps away and is totally uncrowded, plus there is a good restaurant (not affiliated with Coco's) on the beach. It is a totally relaxing experience to stay here, with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in! It's a short ride to Playa Del Carmen, but away from all the crowds there. In a word: Paradise!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efrances801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria, bc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Cocos Cabanas is a very small (5 cabanas) resort-family sort of feel, rather than resort feel. They are in the process of rebuilding the road now, so I can't give directions-other than to say I hope they signpost it, because it was next to impossible to find! Coming from Cancun, you turn at the lights by the Coca Coal/Cristal plant and follow the signs. There is building going on all around, and the beach is no longer remote-it's full of development. But still way quieter than Playa.
The cabanas are nice-comfortable beds, great air conditioning (they don't all have a/c). There is no door between the room and the bathroom, though there are walls-not a lot of privacy, if that's a concern. The palapa roofs are nice, and tile floors are cool on the feet :) There is wi-fi, but only in the restaurant/bar area. Pool is nice to cool off in, and perfect for kids.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
6.1 km away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#95 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#98 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
5.9 km away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#63 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#112 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#122 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocos Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocos Cabanas

Property: Cocos Cabanas
Address: Xcalacoco, Lte. 2 ,Punta Bete, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#68 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocos Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush tropical gardens, Cocos Cabanas has 6 cozy Bungalows (3 Queen ,1 King and 2 Junior suites), an outdoor Swimming pool and is just 10 minutes walking or 3 by bike from the beach. All bungalows have A/C, Ceiling Fans and iPod docking stations. The Junior suites come with King Bed and a Futon , Kitchenette, Fridge, Micro, Coffee-maker and all Boutique amenities .The bungalows are built in a typical local style with thatched roofs made of dried and woven palm-tree leaves. They all have tiled flooring and private bathrooms with a shower or bath. Cocos Cabanas offers both Mexican and international cuisine, including pizzas made in Coco's wood-fired oven(Lobster-Pizza), grilled Shrimp, Lobster and Steaks and a range of Mexican appetizers and Main dishes such as Mole poblano, Guacamole,Mixiote, Ceviche or Quesadillas. Guests can relax in the sun loungers or hammocks by the pool, go snorkeling or explore some of the nearby Mayan ruins, including Tulum or Chichen Itza. Ferries to the island of Cozumel leave from Playa del Carmen, about a 20-minute drive from the resort.Just Relax we do the rest!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Cocos Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco`s Cabanas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Cocos Cabanas Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing