We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #26 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I am watching the sun come up over the ocean on the roof of Hotel Cielo as I write this. Amazing! I booked this place because of the location, price, etc but more because of the awesome reviews. I have not encountered anything wrong with this place. Yes, the plumbing is "spotty" but I'm in mexico on 5th Avenue! Who cares. There is a toilet up here on the roof so if you really badly need to go and are worried about it getting your room toilet plugged up sneak on up here in the wee hrs of the morning. Its so close to 5th Ave. Their blocks are much smaller than what I'm used to so its one block from 5th Ave.... About 40 steps away. Very convenient! I called the hotel before I came and requested a room as close to the street side as possible and if I can see the ocean that's great! I have the best room! Room 12! King size bed, beautiful floors, etc. Yes, its on the street side but it doesn't bother me personally. I was asleep by 10 and slept through everything. I only woke when it was cold. The AC works fine. I had to turn it completely off I was so cold. Every good review on here is accurate. The staff is beyond friendly! I'm coming back here as soon as I can. I love it here!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank your Rebecca R for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & you had a great vacation experience. Thank you for the kind words , but there is a little blunder with your review, you were in room 11 Rebecca, 12 is an interior room with queen bed. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    182
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
126
348
110
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary. We had emailed about our special day and at arrival date we were upgraded:-) :-) :-) The staff was excellent,our beds were so comfortable,the beautiful beaches were right down the block.walking distance to everything. The restaurant downstairs was our favorite, 50% breakfasts (even our bloody Mary every morning. We would stay here again, loved it

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gmc5pac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Cozy spanish style hotel located perfectly in Playa del Carmen to access shopping, the beach, food. Highly recommended - upgrade to a partial beach view with street view balcony room is worth the additional expense!

Room Tip: See above - upgrade to balcony room facing pedestrian only street and partial ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tavee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you Tavee2 for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & that you had a great vacation experience. Thank you for mentioning the style of the hotel, probably important for future travelers & we are staying true to the Mexican Boutique Hacienda style..... I mean , after all , it is Mexico. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Although I had to cancel 2 out of my 3 pre-scheduled nights in this hotel, I still could enjoy my peacful room at the 2nd flour, which was authenticaly decorated and have a decent relax after the long jurney.

sitting near the main promenade, the Quinta avenue, keeps you right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle Playa has to offer and yet, it gives you the quite place to spend when a nap is needed.

Just 3 minutes walk from Playa's main bus station - opposite to the ferry pier to Cozomel - makes it ideal for those who come and go by bus. Cross the Quinta down and walk to the closest sea shore, or, If you're a diver, get to know the Bull Sharks Diving Shop operations, just few footsteps away.

Thank you very much Mr. Miguel for the short time hospitality and kindness.

Room Tip: The room for two I got, might be somewhat small for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkOnRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you Shark On Rush for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a great vacation experience even though you had to leave us early, Maybe next time you can stay longer. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo. We hope to see you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here over Spring Break and had a wonderful time. The hotel is one block from the main street, so walking to everything is easy. The rooms upstairs are light and airy and the hotel is charming and clean. Our room was a cool sanctuary in the hot afternoons and the beds are super comfortable. Both Miguel and Abraham at the front desk are so friendly and helpful, and they put out refrigerated filtered water for the guests. The restaurant downstairs has wonderful breakfasts, and the hotel has a relationships with Wicky's on the beach, where you only need to order $20 worth of food/drinks and you can stay as long as you like. You will really enjoy this special little hotel. It doesn't feel like Disneyland, it feels like classy, relaxed Mexico.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you Theresa M for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with Hotel Cielo & appreciate that you decided to share your experience with future travelers. Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are really important part of the Cielo family & we appreciate them going out of their way to help create great a vacation experience. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here in mid January this year for two weeks. If you don't want to do the all inclusive thing, ( which we didnt - boring !) then this Hotel is for you. Perfect location : 2 mins walk to the beach and the same to fifth avenue where all the action is (yet just far enough away not to be noisy). Hotel spotlessly clean and rooms very comfortable with the restaurant attached being one of the best in Playa , charging very reasonable prices..We loved our time in Playa del Carmen and Hotel Cielo definitely contributed to that. We would 100% recommend this hotel to others and hope to return ourselves very soon. PS.The staff here deserve a special mention.. Miguel, xSimone and the others were very helpful and always had a smile on their faces with nothing ever being too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you ChrisC for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the "Superb Hotel" title & thank you for mentioning the staff, they have been working diligently so all or guests can have a great vacation experience & it is one of the reasons we are becoming so desirable. We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to your return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Hotel Cielo had helpful and friendly service, fine rooms, and was really close to both the beach and ferry pier. Our room was a little noisy at night, due to the restaurant downstairs, but we enjoyed the half-price breakfast there in the morning with a view of the beach down the street. The price was reasonable, especially in expensive Playa, and we'd recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Matt883 for taking the time to write your review. Some times we experience a snafu here & there, I had looked in to this & found out the restaurant had forgot to close adjoining door which is done at 10:00 pm every night. so please accept our apologies. We are delighted that you enjoyed your the rest of you vacation, appreciate the kind words & thank you for the recommendation. We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to your return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#83 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
1.0 km away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 km away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#76 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Property: Hotel Cielo
Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $69 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $109. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing