We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cielo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Olive Hotel & Boutique(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Hotel All Riviera(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Peter Pan(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mimi del Mar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Vista Caribe(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Popol Vuh(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Casa Tucan(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveller rating
637
198
39
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
198
39
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant downstairsrestaurant carboncitoschose hotelthe hotel's restaurantquaint hotelbalcony roomado bus stationmexican charmstreet noiserooftop barhot waterrestaurants and shopsbeach towelslocation was perfectfifth avenueceiling fanminute walk to the beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
423 - 428 of 899 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary. We had emailed about our special day and at arrival date we were upgraded:-) :-) :-) The staff was excellent,our beds were so comfortable,the beautiful beaches were right down the block.walking distance to everything. The restaurant downstairs was our favorite, 50% breakfasts (even our bloody Mary every morning. We would stay here again, loved it

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank gmc5pac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Cozy spanish style hotel located perfectly in Playa del Carmen to access shopping, the beach, food. Highly recommended - upgrade to a partial beach view with street view balcony room is worth the additional expense!

Room Tip: See above - upgrade to balcony room facing pedestrian only street and partial ocean view!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tavee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you Tavee2 for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & that you had a great vacation experience. Thank you for mentioning the style of the hotel, probably important for future travelers & we are staying true to the Mexican Boutique Hacienda style..... I mean , after all , it is Mexico. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Although I had to cancel 2 out of my 3 pre-scheduled nights in this hotel, I still could enjoy my peacful room at the 2nd flour, which was authenticaly decorated and have a decent relax after the long jurney.

sitting near the main promenade, the Quinta avenue, keeps you right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle Playa has to offer and yet, it gives you the quite place to spend when a nap is needed.

Just 3 minutes walk from Playa's main bus station - opposite to the ferry pier to Cozomel - makes it ideal for those who come and go by bus. Cross the Quinta down and walk to the closest sea shore, or, If you're a diver, get to know the Bull Sharks Diving Shop operations, just few footsteps away.

Thank you very much Mr. Miguel for the short time hospitality and kindness.

Room Tip: The room for two I got, might be somewhat small for a couple.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharkOnRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you Shark On Rush for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a great vacation experience even though you had to leave us early, Maybe next time you can stay longer. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo. We hope to see you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here over Spring Break and had a wonderful time. The hotel is one block from the main street, so walking to everything is easy. The rooms upstairs are light and airy and the hotel is charming and clean. Our room was a cool sanctuary in the hot afternoons and the beds are super comfortable. Both Miguel and Abraham at the front desk are so friendly and helpful, and they put out refrigerated filtered water for the guests. The restaurant downstairs has wonderful breakfasts, and the hotel has a relationships with Wicky's on the beach, where you only need to order $20 worth of food/drinks and you can stay as long as you like. You will really enjoy this special little hotel. It doesn't feel like Disneyland, it feels like classy, relaxed Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you Theresa M for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with Hotel Cielo & appreciate that you decided to share your experience with future travelers. Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are really important part of the Cielo family & we appreciate them going out of their way to help create great a vacation experience. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here in mid January this year for two weeks. If you don't want to do the all inclusive thing, ( which we didnt - boring !) then this Hotel is for you. Perfect location : 2 mins walk to the beach and the same to fifth avenue where all the action is (yet just far enough away not to be noisy). Hotel spotlessly clean and rooms very comfortable with the restaurant attached being one of the best in Playa , charging very reasonable prices..We loved our time in Playa del Carmen and Hotel Cielo definitely contributed to that. We would 100% recommend this hotel to others and hope to return ourselves very soon. PS.The staff here deserve a special mention.. Miguel, xSimone and the others were very helpful and always had a smile on their faces with nothing ever being too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you ChrisC for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the "Superb Hotel" title & thank you for mentioning the staff, they have been working diligently so all or guests can have a great vacation experience & it is one of the reasons we are becoming so desirable. We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to your return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews