We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$384
US$295
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$508
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$359
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$329
US$276
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$540
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$473/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$438
US$426
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$424
US$271
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$250
US$179
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
Book now, pay at stay
US$725
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,818
US$844
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
73
49
21
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
49
21
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared kitchenoutdoor kitchenlocation is amazingado stationbeach entrancedouble bedconvenient locationshort walkrooms are nicehostelfabianhammocksavesandstovepesosrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 164 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I was traveling alone and a little nervous when I got into Playa. I walked into B&B Popol Vuh and was immediately greeted by the manager Gama. He showed me around and introduced me the other guests. Over the four days I was there, all of the guests became close friends exchanging travel stories over beers and tequila. This place is HIGHLY recommended! Gama was not just someone who worked there but immediately a friend of ours, he made my entire trip extremely memorable. I will for sure be back!

Room Tip: Any room is great! Even the shared bathroom ones are awesome!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Was a brilliant stay. Was welcomed warmly by the manager who was really kind in showing us good bars and organising tours for us. Very friendly, not many people there but the ones that were were lovely. Excellent location, right on the beach. Runs parallel to the main strip of shops and restaurants. A bit touristy but the location is great and the beach is beautiful. Short walk from the main bus station. Very clean dorms. A/c made for a comfortable nights sleep. Good communal area and great bbq which we used almost every night. Windows are paper thin so hope for other quiet guests. Only negativity was a cool shower, I may have been turning the wrong tap though!! Breakfast is served across the path, simple breakfast but sufficient for anyone. On the pricier end of the hostel/B&B's but well worth it for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucysibbick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Booked 3 nights and after spending the first night had to leave because there were people loud people, including the manager, talking and laughing at 4.30 am and for a loooong time. This is unacceptable! I was reimbursed the other 2 nights but I think I should not have paid for a night o couldnt sleep.
This was the worst place i have stayed ever and the only one I had to leave earlier then supposed not only because of the noise but also due to the temperature in the room, like a sauna. I have stayed in several hostels and never had such problems. Sometimes people make noise because they have to leave or are just arriving but that was not the case. They were just partying with no respect for the ones sleeping.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ines2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We booked this accomodation based on its location and reviews read here on TA and we were NOT dissapointed. We had a wonderful 7 day stay and cant wait to return. As stated by another review, this is not a 5star resort....think more like rustic cabin living. Exactly the kind of vaction I needed. Clean, comfortable and a great value! The location is amazing. Steps to the beach (your feet NEVER have to leave the sand), right next door to Bad Boys (fabulous beach bar with awesome smoked ribs and live music on weekends), less than a block away from 5th Ave (were all the action is) yet it is surprisingly peaceful and ralxing :) We LOVED an afternoon siesta in the hammocks. The free breakfast was good, though everyday it was the same-ish; Self-serve, orange drink, coffee, cold cereals, fresh friut, toast, and a hot egg dish that varied form day to day and sometimes included meat (one day it was wieners w/scrambled eggs. lol) The server was very friendly and you can order off a menu (though we didnt) and those meals did look good. After day 5 we were ready to go elsewhere for breakfast though. The best part about our stay was the people. The only real complaint that we had about the place was relating to the bathroom in our room. It is in need of some serious repair, but is still clean and functioning. The best part about our stay was the people! The B&B is also a hostel and we had the pleasure of meeting great people from all over the world. Our fave was our host (and new friend) Gama. He is very nice and friendly and really goes out of his way to make sure that everyone is enjoying thier stay. He may even take you out for a night on the town :) We miss you Gama

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catkevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I was nervous about staying in a hostel - something I haven't done in a couple of decades! - but after the expense of Tulum we wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful and were quite prepared to 'put up with' something as long as the place was secure. We didn't have to 'put up with' anything! We chose a private room with a bathroom and it was absoluley perfect - the bed was very comfortable, there was sufficient room to put all your things away, the air con and fan were the best we found in Mexico (we stayed in four hotels), the staff were lovely and everything was really clean. The location is amazing as you walk down the side of the hostel and you are on the beach - right next to Bad Boys. On Saturday night it was a bit noisy as they were having a BBQ but quite frankly that's why most people go to a hostel - to meet and interact with other people. However, Playa is a very noisy place and apart from Saturday night we couldn't believe how quiet the hostel was. We were delighted we chose it. You are less than a minute from both the beach and 5th avenue, five minutes to the main bus station and a couple more to the ferry for Cozumel. The breakfast wasn't great but as were diving at 8am every day we only ate the breakfast once. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews