We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$323
US$269
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$508
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$329
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$540
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$438
US$426
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$424
US$342
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$359
US$209
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
US$179
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
Book now, pay at stay
US$725
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,182
US$844
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
73
49
21
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
49
21
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared kitchenoutdoor kitchenlocation is amazingado stationbeach entrancedouble bedconvenient locationshort walkrooms are nicehostelfabianhammocksavesandstovepesosrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 164 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

OK...this place has very nice people working there, but the place itself is horrible. it looks like a slum and smells bad too. it is right on the beach, but that does not make it anymore appealing. the room has no windows and therefore has no ventilation. the bathroom, just bad, real bad. it needs a painting on the outside and inside. really i need not explain further, if you live in the states, you know what a slum is, and this is a slum. one good thing is the bed was super firm and comfortable, but that is all.

I stayed one night and then went across the street to Quinta Playa for the same price and a much better space.

Room Tip: if you do not care, stay here. if you do care, go across the street for the same price.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reachteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I was a little skeptical after reading reviews, but after being there I knew this was the best location! If you are looking for luxury forget it, but a hammock in the shade a 100' from the beach this is for you!

Room Tip: Close to the bathroom would be better!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecuadordean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed for 3 days in the dorm. It was great. Everybody gathers outside around dinner time so it is pretty social. About 10 people that party head out, the rest head to bed. I found it very quiet until about 3am when the party people came home, but the noise was short lived. While there, I found the dorms clean, had hot water, and the mattresses seemed new and were of the pillow top variety. The staff was friendly. And as for location - couldn't get any better! I rented a lounger on the beach (50 pesos) and sat all day and read. It is a quick 45 second walk back to the room for anything -bathroom, sunscreen, beer.....

Room Tip: If you are in the dorms, I don't think you have a choice. They are right off the main gathering area so you can expect to meet some new people and expect a little noise.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mum-luvs_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It was such great place. I loved the rooms and the good vibes. I got meet new great people. The worker took really good care of you. I'm going back in June. I can't wait!.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Yes, definitely great location. BUT: stained bed linen, holes in the towels, windows can’t be safely closed (shutters broken), wind blows sand into the cabana which covers just the whole room, most of the time only cold water, got a shower head only on the last night. Kitchen facilities are “open air” and pots/pans not very clean, washing up liquid non-existent. Breakfast (although actually a restaurant) includes, eggs, toast, coffee and cornflakes – so not more exciting than in any other hostel where you pay half the price. We know it is not a 5 star hotel, but we have been travelling now for 5 months and we feel it was the worst place concerning “value for money”.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stel338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews